Originally posted by Beyond Religion:Yeah it is depressing... Maybe that is precisely why we are headed for the dharma ending age.
é™¤äº†æ²¡æœ‰å–„æ ¹ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ²¡æœ‰æ…§æ ¹... Let's all of us who has the good opportunity to hear the Buddhadharma be diligent in our practice so as to be able to liberate ourselves as well as other sentient beings even if we would to be reborn in dharma ending times.
Originally posted by cycle:
Looks like they really hate the Buddhists so much...Quite over the top. How come? A bit abnormal. I mean why they behaved as if they came from the communist era of the past?
I think such intolerant behaviour arises from wrong teachings from the more fundamental branches of Christianity. There are liberal Christians who do not think and act this way. Unfortunately, it is the fundamentalists who are more aggressive in propogating their version of Christianity and have been quite successful - so you see such wrong teachings entering mainstream Christianity. Very sad lah.
You know in the bible's book of Revelation that talk about end times, there is mention that there will be false prophets that will teach the wrong things and lead people to the wrong paths. Fundamental Christian preachers always use this quote to scare people, to ask Christians to guard themselves against false prophets and false teachings. Actually, for me hor, I sometimes think that the false prophets are the fundamental Christian leaders themselves! (Ahhh...now sure kena shot by conservative Christians. LOL.)
Originally posted by cycle:
Looks like they really hate the Buddhists so much...Quite over the top. How come? A bit abnormal. I mean why they behaved as if they came from the communist era of the past?
error - double post.
Originally posted by cycle:Just to share with u guys a incident that happened to my mom on her Korea trip many years ago.
She and the other tourists were on a tour bus going to some destination, then when their bus stopped for traffic lights or something, a group of ppl suddendly appeared from nowhere and started waving their bibles and shouting ( i think they r just trying to get the tourists attention) at the bus. Some even banged the bus with their hands. Everyone on the bus were shocked. The tour guide said those were christains trying to share their bible knowlegde with the tourists. Of cos the driver didn't open the door to let them in but zoomed away as fast as possible.
So weird, these bible banging Christians. Another example of religious fanatism. So sad, yeah. I think many of the ordinary folks mean well, they genuinely believe they are doing God's work. But they been ill-advised in their approach by extremist leaders. Some ordinary folks are just so simple they will accept what the leaders say, while others choose not to question and do the honest soul searching work needed to ask if what their leaders say and teach makes sense.