Originally posted by An Eternal Now:This one not necessarily need to seek Buddhism, some mediums etc are also able to do this.
However it would be advisible to seek the advise from a wise Buddhist venerable on this if you suspect anything.
If you practice the dharma well, it's unlikely you will have spirit interference.
do you think Buddhist venerables are free for such consultation?
Someone actually recommends to seek help from thai buddhism. But I am not sure if thai buddhism can help to tell about the existence and getting rid of the unclean spirits disturbing human beings.
if there are unclean spirits causing problems, it is because of your karma. knowing whether there are unclean spirits does not help to solve the problem.even if you learn to avoid them this life, you will still be facing them in your next life.
also, a master had said " dont think of the past, dont think of the future, think for the present."
Originally posted by Fantagf:do you think Buddhist venerables are free for such consultation?
Someone actually recommends to seek help from thai buddhism. But I am not sure if thai buddhism can help to tell about the existence and getting rid of the unclean spirits disturbing human beings.
I am not familiar with Thai Buddhism. Anyway you may want to ask Zacken, he's into Thai Buddhism and he might be able to help you.
http://cultivation.sgforums.com
Regarding Buddhist venerables, yes if you meet the right one. Some are too busy to be consulted.
Originally posted by deteq:if there are unclean spirits causing problems, it is because of your karma. knowing whether there are unclean spirits does not help to solve the problem.even if you learn to avoid them this life, you will still be facing them in your next life.
also, a master had said " dont think of the past, dont think of the future, think for the present."
Spirits interfering may be due to few reasons. It is often due to karmic associations. Sometimes it could be that they want to take revenge.
It is recommendable to dedicate merits (of offerings to sangha, going for pujas etc) to those spirits. It will lighten their karma and they will be able to take rebirth sooner.
Zacken posted an interesting post in his blog recently.
http://zacken99.wordpress.com/2009/01/14/ghost-busters/
14 01 2009
well…..thses 2 months….dun noe due to wat reasons..i gt lots of assignments on ghost busting….hahaha….like wat jeff and Eugin said..maybe i can start setting up a company of ghost busting…kakaka
total of 11 cases..jus in dec and jan alone…
however out of 11 only a few is geniune cases…some r not the house 有鬼 BUT IS THE PERSON 心里有鬼….
most layman…still dun accept the truth of 生,è€�,ç—…æ» & 怨亲债主…..whenever..they feel something not right…they suspect ghost hunting!!!!!
most ppl know nuts abt ghost n thus they became afraid of them…it never occur to them that.this so call world is not meant for human n animals only
when a human or animal…lost their physical body..they also become ghost…thus…wats there to be scared of ghost…as everywhere..no matter day or not night..there r ghost around us…there might be 1 or 2 jus next to u while u r reading this post…its pretty normal…
always remember…they hv the right to be around…
imagine 1 day u die..n for sure 1 day u will definitely die…and u became a ghost…u care for ur family…u still wish to protect or monitor ur kids…but becos ur kids is sensertive to low freq energy n sense ur present…n gt scared and start to look for so call ghost busters to rid u off…walao…sad rite…isnt it heart breaking???hahaha………
well…true enough…there r cases where by ppl r badly torment by ghost…
but please remember…法界also gt law 1 lor…they wun n dare not suka suka…disturb human de…
a ghost will disturb a human when
1> 有仇报仇!
you kill, hurt the person badly and causes him/her to discontinue living in the physical body
2> 欺鬼太甚!
for no ryhm and reason u disturb or hurt the ghost..
eg..they were living in a house…u brought the house..u din help them to “resettlement” thus u r like an intruder to them…
3> �世怨债!
in this life u might hv not offend the ghost..but in previous lives u did…
many time..ppl thought when u engage a service of ghost busting..is to eliminate them..and many sooooooooo call ghost busters also hv a silly mindset of busting them off…this r wrong! wrong! wrong!!!
such actions will only..cos more neg karmic debts……….n nobody! hv the rights to eliminate any ç�µé‚…….
what we should do is 超度them………
ways of 超度
1> chant 往生咒 x 108 n dedicate to them…
2> chant 佛顶尊圣咒 and blow on sand and threw the sand on them
3> chant 地�王��佛�and dedicate to them
the ghost become ghost becos they hv lots n lots of 我执,thus its not easy to 度 them…so b4 chanting any of the above…we can actually do some 烟供 to ease their 我执…
also..hv and maintian a 慈悲mindset…while doing the above…
remember…鬼有鬼通…………they can read your mind easily…if u hv that kind of “to get rid of you” type of mindset…u will never never be able to 超度them….no matter how many millions time of chant u chant or 烟供 you do………….
soooo my dear friends and reader…pls be compassions to all those formless peers around us…becos 1 of this day most of us ..will be 1 of them…!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CHEERS!!!!!
AEN:
Want to add on, it's not that everyone who dies becomes ghost. There will be a period of 49 days after death, or UP TO 49 days, where one becomes an Anatarabhava (zhong ying sheng) or in the Bardo state. In this state the person takes up a ghostly form that normal eyes cannot see, but those who can see describes it as being of a child's height.
The person will await for his conditions for rebirth within 49 days, where does he reborn to? There are 6 realms - Three lower: hell, ghost, animal. Three higher: Human, Asura, Deva (heaven/celestial beings). A person is reborn according to his karma.
Unless that person is someone enlightened and liberated from the wheel of samsara (Arhat, Pratyekabuddha, Bodhisattva, Buddha) -- he will undergo uncontrolled rebirth according to his karma.
If the person is too attached, he will not take birth during the 49 days and after the window of opportunity has passed he will become a ghost and it's v difficult then for him to take birth. It will take a longer time and dedication of merits will help.
Originally posted by deteq:if there are unclean spirits causing problems, it is because of your karma. knowing whether there are unclean spirits does not help to solve the problem.even if you learn to avoid them this life, you will still be facing them in your next life.
sounds so negative, no way out! ha ha ha. I just take this as a pinch of salt.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:AEN:
Want to add on, it's not that everyone who dies becomes ghost. There will be a period of 49 days after death, or UP TO 49 days, where one becomes an Anatarabhava (zhong ying sheng) or in the Bardo state. In this state the person takes up a ghostly form that normal eyes cannot see, but those who can see describes it as being of a child's height.
The person will await for his conditions for rebirth within 49 days, where does he reborn to? There are 6 realms - Three lower: hell, ghost, animal. Three higher: Human, Asura, Deva (heaven/celestial beings). A person is reborn according to his karma.
If the person is too attached, after 49 days he will become a ghost and it's v difficult then for him to take birth. It will take a longer time and dedication of merits will help.
is there any way for us to know what is the state the dead is now, rebirth or become a ghost? I worry for my late mum.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I am not familiar with Thai Buddhism. Anyway you may want to ask Zacken, he's into Thai Buddhism and he might be able to help you.
http://cultivation.sgforums.com
Regarding Buddhist venerables, yes if you meet the right one. Some are too busy to be consulted.
Thanks. Is Zacken regular in sgforums? Could I pm him or her?
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Just to add to the topic since I have seen so many redundant replies:
Any ex-human here?
i MIGHT be :D reincarnation mah
Originally posted by Fantagf:is there any way for us to know what is the state the dead is now, rebirth or become a ghost? I worry for my late mum.
Only certain people know. My Taiwanese dharma teacher is able to know by entering into samadhi and observe. But he is in Taiwan and not easy to find him. I think there are some other people with such abilities.
Regardless of where your mom have went to, you can help her. Even if she is in the celestial realms it will still be of benefits. And if she is in the lower realm, she will be able to be relieved of her sufferings earlier.
For what you can do, see: Ullambana Dharma - Not Festival Of Hungry Ghosts
You can attend Pujas at dharma centers on the 7th month.
Yes, you can pm him.
Originally posted by alwaysbemybaby:
I think should delete this .
Originally posted by Isis:
Hi , i would like to add something to the initiation part. As regulars in this forum know , i always post info about going for initiations. some time ago , I have realised that going for inititations , means acknowledging the initiation master as your lifelong guru. He will be your guru forever , any criticizes or etc will create hindrances for one's dharma cultivation.
So , do a little research about the initiation master before going for any initiation.
Initiation or Empowerment (Tibetan: dbang) is the transmission of esoteric wisdom and realization from a qualified vajra master to the mind of the disciple. To the beginners, it is no more than a ceremony similar to the registration at school of learning; to the adept practitioners, the Initiation ceremony also marks the empowerment of the meditative techniques for inner transformation, which is the esoteric path towards the accomplishment of the union of bliss and emptiness and therefore it is the progress towards the awakening of the inherent wisdom and enlightened qualities.
Since what is being transmitted is not mundane knowledge of any sort, but the enlightened wisdom that goes beyond our worldly knowledge and language, therefore the vajra master has to be a qualified guru who himself has first-hand experience in the ocean of wisdom of the reality described in the Buddhist scriptures. It is not any ordinary scholar who can fulfill the task in a qualified way, no matter how well-versed this scholar is in the scriptures of Buddhism.
The relationship between a master and his disciple is very much like that in a father and child. It is not a one-way relationship through which the disciple expects to receive “blessings” from the master. After the initiation, the master compassionately shares his attained wisdom through his skilful teachings (on both doctrines and meditative techniques) and knowledge of the unique traditions of a particular lineage, while, on the other hand, the disciple should have faith in the master and the teachings received, the confidence in the primordial wisdom always present in its obscured form, and the diligence to practice the teachings so that the realization of the innate wisdom is possible. Go To Top
Frequently Asked Questions
1) How can I tell I am ready for initiation/empowerment?
When you are ready to receive further training in the esoteric teachings and when your teacher feels that you are ready to do so. By going through a formal initiation, you are granted the permission to study, hear and practise the Nyingma teachings that has been transmitted from the lineage of gurus.
2) I am of a different religious belief. After I am initiated, do I have to give up my belief?
No, you do not have to give up your value system or religious belief. Buddhism is a philosophical teaching that shows the path to improve health by balancing the mind and body and balancing the body with nature/environment.
3) How is the meditation teaching after initiation/empowerment going to be different from what I am currently doing?
The current meditation teachings that are offered to the general public are simplified and adapted to the Western society. After initiation, the esoteric teachings will involve meditations using visualizations of dakinis, deities, mandala and recitation of verses and mantras. Bear in mind that this is not a worship proceeding but it’s merely a meditation to practise the deity symbolic meaning and live accordingly. Before Buddha passed away, he asked his disciples not to erect any statues in his memory but to remember his dharma instead. However after several centuries, the students have a difficult time visualizing the guru during their meditation practice and thus his statues were built for that purpose and not for worship.
4) What are my roles and responsibilities as a disciple?
Hi Knightlll,
Thanks for the clarification. Learn something new here.
Guess he/she can attend the Puja found in the same link.
/\
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Only certain people know. My Taiwanese dharma teacher is able to know by entering into samadhi and observe. But he is in Taiwan and not easy to find him. I think there are some other people with such abilities.
Regardless of where your mom have went to, you can help her. Even if she is in the celestial realms it will still be of benefits. And if she is in the lower realm, she will be able to be relieved of her sufferings earlier.
For what you can do, see: Ullambana Dharma - Not Festival Of Hungry Ghosts
You can attend Pujas at dharma centers on the 7th month.
Yes, you can pm him.
I cao tu for her 4 to 5 times, don't know if it is of any help
Cao do depends on your practice also. An arhat (an awakened, liberated saint) can cao du 7 lifetimes of his parents, for normal people it is very difficult. But we still can dedicate merits to them.
You can read this:
http://www.dizang.org/dzfm/cd/
超度常识
|
(临终关怀·ä½›æ•™è¶…度) 这个超度,到底有没有效?是ä¸�是超度一定需è¦�出家人æ�¥å�šï¼Ÿè¿™æ˜¯ä¸€ä¸ªç¤¾ä¼šé—®é¢˜ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ˜¯ä½›æ³•里é�¢ï¼Œå¿…é¡»è¦�清楚解ç”的一个问题,æ‰�ä¸�至于导致大众的迷信。 佛门里é�¢æœ‰è¶…度的ç�†è®ºä¸Žæ–¹æ³•,é�žå¸¸å�ˆæƒ…ã€�å�ˆç�†ã€�å�ˆæ³•。但是这ç§�大规模å�šè¶…度,在原始佛教里é�¢ï¼Œæ˜¯ä¸�常è§�的。在ä¸å›½ç¿»è¯‘的大乘ç»�典当ä¸ï¼Œè®°è½½è¿™æ¡© 事情,最详实的是《地è—�è�©è�¨æœ¬æ„¿ç»�》;这里é�¢å°±å°†è¿™äº›ç�†è®ºã€�方法,交待得很清楚。我们在这个ç»�里é�¢çœ‹åˆ°ï¼Œå©†ç½—门女ã€�光目女,这都是é�žå¸¸å�顺的年轻人。她们 的父æ¯�由于缺ä¹�çŸ¥è¯†ï¼Œé€ ä½œè®¸è®¸å¤šå¤šçš„ç½ªä¸šï¼Œä½›åœ¨ç»�ä¸Šè¯´ï¼Œé€ è¿™äº›ä¸¥é‡�罪业的å�Žæžœï¼Œå¿…å®šæ˜¯å •è�½åœ¨ä¸‰æ�¶é�“。 ä½ è¦�æƒ³è¶…åº¦ä½ çš„å®¶äº²çœ·å±žï¼Œä½ è‡ªå·±ä¸€å®šè¦�è®¤çœŸä¿®è¡Œï¼Œç§¯åŠŸç´¯å¾·ã€‚ä½ çœŸæœ‰å¿ƒè¶…åº¦ï¼Œä½ å°±è¦�çœŸå¿ƒåŽ»ä¿®è¡Œï¼›ä½ ä¿®è¡Œæœ‰æˆ�就,他æ‰�èƒ½å¾—åº¦ã€‚ä½ æ²¡æœ‰åŠŸå¤«ï¼Œä½ å‡ä»€ä¹ˆ 超度别人?他这个功夫就是“八载寒窗读《楞严》”ï¼�人家有这个功夫,有这个é�“åŠ›ï¼Œå°±èƒ½è¶…åº¦å®¶äº²çœ·å±žï¼Œèƒ½è¶…åº¦è¿™äº›æœ‰ç¼˜äººï¼Œä½ è¦�没有这个功夫,ä¸�行ï¼�那么,这 里所指的“真功夫”应该从那里修起呢?我们应该妓婆罗门女”é‚£æ ·ï¼Œè¦�å�‘自内心深处的å�心ã€�诚心ã€�悲心,如果真的å�šåˆ°äº†ï¼Œå�³ä½¿ä½ ä¸�æ˜¯å‡ºå®¶äººï¼Œä¹Ÿä¸€æ ·æœ‰æ„Ÿ 应ã€�有æˆ�效。(摘录于净空法师《超度的ç�†è®ºä¸Žäº‹å®žã€‹ã€‚) |
· 什么是超度? (如本法师佛å¦é—®ç”)
· 化解冤亲债主的方法
· 超度的ç�†è®ºä¸Žäº‹å®ž (净空法师)
· 如何超度自己的家亲眷属 (净空法师)
· 净空法师有关超度开示法è¯ç®€é€‰
· 地è—�ç»�讲记·è¶…度开示精选 (净空法师)
· 《å¦ä½›é‡Šç–‘》超度问ç”简选 (净空法师)
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Cao do depends on your practice also. An arhat (an awakened, liberated saint) can cao du 7 lifetimes of his parents, for normal people it is very difficult. But we still can dedicate merits to them.
You can read this:
http://www.dizang.org/dzfm/cd/
超度常识
(临终关怀·ä½›æ•™è¶…度)
这个超度,到底有没有效?是ä¸�是超度一定需è¦�出家人æ�¥å�šï¼Ÿè¿™æ˜¯ä¸€ä¸ªç¤¾ä¼šé—®é¢˜ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ˜¯ä½›æ³•里é�¢ï¼Œå¿…é¡»è¦�清楚解ç”的一个问题,æ‰�ä¸�至于导致大众的迷信。
佛门里é�¢æœ‰è¶…度的ç�†è®ºä¸Žæ–¹æ³•,é�žå¸¸å�ˆæƒ…ã€�å�ˆç�†ã€�å�ˆæ³•。但是这ç§�大规模å�šè¶…度,在原始佛教里é�¢ï¼Œæ˜¯ä¸�常è§�的。在ä¸å›½ç¿»è¯‘的大乘ç»�典当ä¸ï¼Œè®°è½½è¿™æ¡©äº‹æƒ…,最详实的是《地è—�è�©è�¨æœ¬æ„¿ç»�》;这里é�¢å°±å°†è¿™äº›ç�†è®ºã€�方法,交待得很清楚。我们在这个ç»�里é�¢çœ‹åˆ°ï¼Œå©†ç½—门女ã€�光目女,这都是é�žå¸¸å�顺的年轻人。她们的父æ¯�由于缺ä¹�çŸ¥è¯†ï¼Œé€ ä½œè®¸è®¸å¤šå¤šçš„ç½ªä¸šï¼Œä½›åœ¨ç»�ä¸Šè¯´ï¼Œé€ è¿™äº›ä¸¥é‡�罪业的å�Žæžœï¼Œå¿…å®šæ˜¯å •è�½åœ¨ä¸‰æ�¶é�“。
ä½ è¦�æƒ³è¶…åº¦ä½ çš„å®¶äº²çœ·å±žï¼Œä½ è‡ªå·±ä¸€å®šè¦�è®¤çœŸä¿®è¡Œï¼Œç§¯åŠŸç´¯å¾·ã€‚ä½ çœŸæœ‰å¿ƒè¶…åº¦ï¼Œä½ å°±è¦�çœŸå¿ƒåŽ»ä¿®è¡Œï¼›ä½ ä¿®è¡Œæœ‰æˆ�就,他æ‰�èƒ½å¾—åº¦ã€‚ä½ æ²¡æœ‰åŠŸå¤«ï¼Œä½ å‡ä»€ä¹ˆè¶…度别人?他这个功夫就是“八载寒窗读《楞严》”ï¼�人家有这个功夫,有这个é�“åŠ›ï¼Œå°±èƒ½è¶…åº¦å®¶äº²çœ·å±žï¼Œèƒ½è¶…åº¦è¿™äº›æœ‰ç¼˜äººï¼Œä½ è¦�没有这个功夫,ä¸�行ï¼�那么,这里所指的“真功夫”应该从那里修起呢?我们应该妓婆罗门女”é‚£æ ·ï¼Œè¦�å�‘自内心深处的å�心ã€�诚心ã€�悲心,如果真的å�šåˆ°äº†ï¼Œå�³ä½¿ä½ ä¸�æ˜¯å‡ºå®¶äººï¼Œä¹Ÿä¸€æ ·æœ‰æ„Ÿåº”ã€�有æˆ�效。(摘录于净空法师《超度的ç�†è®ºä¸Žäº‹å®žã€‹ã€‚)
· 什么是超度? (如本法师佛å¦é—®ç”)
· 化解冤亲债主的方法
· 超度的ç�†è®ºä¸Žäº‹å®ž (净空法师)
· 如何超度自己的家亲眷属 (净空法师)
· 净空法师有关超度开示法è¯ç®€é€‰
· 地è—�ç»�讲记·è¶…度开示精选 (净空法师)
· 《å¦ä½›é‡Šç–‘》超度问ç”简选 (净空法师)
any where I can read the English version? Thanks.
Not too sure... hope other forummers got some links?
Originally posted by knightlll:I think should delete this .
Deleted.
Off topic, I found this thread in Chit Chat and had a good laugh... it is just so funny...
![]() |
Satanic Coven last | S.gal83 | 205 | 2,916 | 19 Jan `09, 10:24PM by |
Hi Fantagf , my knowledge is still half-past six. I can only provide u the contacts and provide u with some info. Do contact the sangha for help or advice. Sangha( monk community) takes a few hundred precepts , thus the amount of merit we can generate compared to them is a lot lesser.
Some of the below practises have to be learnt first , thus adopt what u can do.
http://www.fpmt.org/teachers/zopa/advice/death.asp
Practices To Benefit the Dead
According to Lama Zopa Rinpoche, the most essential practices are these:
• Perform Medicine Buddha puja and Medicine Buddha practice.
• Recite the eight prayers that are normally done in monasteries when someone passes away
In addition, if one is able, the following prayers and practices can be done:
• Perform Vajrasattva tsog puja (
available in Essential Buddhist Prayers Vol. 2, published by
).
(following the extensive light offering practice
available in Essential Buddhist Prayers Vol. 2,
)
or other extensive offerings (water bowls,
(or all of
• Meditate on tong-len together with recitations of
OM MANI PADME HUM
and dedicate for
(This can be done for half a day or one session.)
• Recite the
King of Prayers many times.
(This can be done for one full day, or for a weekend.)
• Recite the
Vajra Cutter Sutra
Heart Sutra
(This can be done for one session
• Perform Dorje Khadro fire puja as a group, dedicating for person who died.
•
Make stupas or tsa-tsas.
(The most important thing is to dedicate and say the name of the
• Make Mitrugpa tsa-tsas.
• Make thangkas or statues and dedicate for the person’s good rebirth.
(Of course, it doesn’t
• Publish Dharma books or sponsor their publication on behalf of the person who died.
If the person who died practiced tantra, then one can do the following:
• Perform self-initiation and tsog offering of the person’s main deity.
• Do a weekend retreat on the person’s main deity.
One can also make offerings on the person’s behalf, as follows:
• It is very powerful to make offerings to the Sangha on that person’s behalf, as well as to
make offering to lay students who have the same Guru as the person who died. This
collects an inconceivable amount of merits that you can then dedicate for the person who
died.
• Also, one can make offerings to the person’s gurus, or you can make offering to your own
Guru on that person’s behalf.
• You can make charity or offerings to the center on the person’s behalf, as the center is a
place where people can meditate on the path (lam-rim), where they can learn Dharma,
and where they come to purify their minds and collect merit.
• You can make charity on that person’s behalf to sick people, homeless people, to solve
other people’s difficulties, to various charities, or to poor people.
• You can also make charity on that person’s behalf to animals.
These are the things that the center can organize as group events, or that people can
individually do to whatever extent they are able.
Colophon:
This advice was given by Kyabje Zopa Rinpoche to the director of one center when one student of the
center died and left a lot of money to the center. Rinpoche also said this is general advice on what to do to
benefit when someone has died. Rinpoche said that this is when people must do something for the person
who has died; this is the most crucial time for the person.
Scribed by Ven. Holly Ansett, Kachoe Dechen Ling, Aptos, California, October 2002. Lightly edited for
distribution by Ven. Constance Miller, February 2003. Lightly revised by Ven. Gyalten Mindrol in light of
clarifications from Ven. Holly Ansett, October 2007.
Just wondering how did you do the cao du 4 or 5 times? You invited monks over?
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Just wondering how did you do the cao du 4 or 5 times? You invited monks over?
Went to register at the temples for this service.
Originally posted by jesslyn1992:i MIGHT be :D reincarnation mah
So presently, you are not human?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Went to register at the temples for this service.
I see.. which temple?