I live in a tian dao family only i converted to buddhism recently on vesak day i seeked refuge in triple gems.
My parents do ask me read some of their books on Tian ji . ( heavenly secrets )
I pretened to read but declined later on.
How should I coexist with them .
Some buddhism thing they teach nt so correct.
They have their Real maitreya sutra etc Jigong sutra ..... ....
they composed their own budai fo mileji
every fifteen and first of lunar month they gt celebration and sometimes they teach incorrect things.
zzz
abit hard leh , every 2 to 3 day will ask me read tian dao thing see them pray. teavh me their teachings ..... ....
they told me they repented 500 to 1000 times a day.
that time i christian they din brainwash so much me now buddhism kept on brainwashing .... ....
is it because buddhism more linked to tian dao ?
i din take part in their religion much only very young that time .
I hardly take part one. i do help them clean the altar to reduce their workload lah. thats all
then i became free thinker athiest , christian buddhist.
but i young that time i was made to seek the tao like infant baptism and infact triple gems but i din consider myself as tian dao.
they gt make me memorise the date i seek the dao . the ppl who helped me seek etc etc .....
they made me memorise the meaning of their triple gems .
they lastime make me memorise the 5 word secret mantra
they made mebow 3 times before entering and leaving the house.
their altar has some wierd symbols their creator of universe can i bow 3 times ? wuji lao mu.
other then that ok only buddha statues.
i was asked to clean their altar wipe buddha statues etc ... ... clean the wood clean the lamp etc
Ok to clean ?
recently asked me go saturday lessons , join their youth group.
gave me many books to read on .
they
told me some of them died the body soft happy expression kept in repeating every day .
they body wont rot , told me Venerable xing yu go their temple told me he seeked the tao .........
I just kept quiet is that correct , cos they are my family afterall.
recently asked me go saturday lessons , join their youth group.
they kept
Well, my advice is, study more on buddhism sutra, and when you have substaintial wisdom and knowledge, share the knowledge with your parents.
There is nothing to be in tian dao, personally i feel that there teaching do not coexist with buddha teaching, but they do teach morally good things to their faith holders.
You should go read up more on their stuffs, you can find online, then after reading, you go back to buddhist sutra, find the differences, and share it with your parents.
I know that they have this Mitreya Sutra, Mi le Zheng Jing, first of all, you go find the sutra in the buddhist cannon, there are a few sutra on Mitreya, read it, try to understand it, and share with your parents.
Everyone has different condition to be intact with buddhism,dharma, in order you to be a dharma protector, first of all you need to understand the conceptual and dharma teaching by buddha, then you can have to wisdom to spread to people who is outside in the dharma circle. I have read a long articles on a person who left Tian Dao and took refuge in the triple gem, he is knowledgable in Tian Dao, and he also verse in Dharma teaching, he has spotted the differences, and reacted to their teaching.
So work hard on the dharma.
my mum kept on telling me doomsday is near u think maitraya buddha come after a long period ?
u think human lifespan will 84 thousand years .
wad human lifespan 10 years .....
now white period era.
gt green gt red period .... ....
how ?
she everytime comment sutra and ask me which u believe more now global warming already .... ....
i told her i believe buddhism one .
she
my mum kept on telling me doomsday is near u think maitraya buddha come after a long period ?
now white period era.
how ?
she everytime comment sutra and ask me which u believe more now global warming already .... ....
she nt happy say more everyday kept on finding faults in sutras .
gt an arhat live very long one until maitreya descends she go comment .
u believe ppl gt so long lifespan ????
that time i christian she also skeptic on bible shown me skeptic annotated bible .
she comment bible also .
are tian dao ppl so extreme and self centered ?
Originally posted by xXIron_fistXx:recently asked me go saturday lessons , join their youth group.
they
told me some of them died the body soft happy expression kept in repeating every day .
they body wont rot , told me Venerable xing yu go their temple told me he seeked the tao .........
I just kept quiet is that correct , cos they are my family afterall.
I saw a website that in Taiwan, Venerable Xing Yun does visited their cultivation premises, but that does not mean Venerable Xing Yun seek the Tao from them. I strongly believe that for Ven Xing Yun whom is a highly knowledgable and cultivated monk, will not take refuge in Yi guan Dao, the purpose of visiting, is a shown of compassion,that being a Sangha, he do not differences religious group, compassion has expressed in such event.
my mum said u see how many buddhist eat vegetarian meal i told her buddhist can eat 5 clean meat .
she buay song.
she said see tian dao many vegetarians.
zzz
i was forced to be vegetarian in their house also but i am willing now to be one .
lastime not so willing .
My mum relatioship turned nt so gd .
I think she wants convert me.
that time i seek refuge in buddhist triple gems she also nt very happy. gt many objections.
Originally posted by Bodhi hut:
I saw a website that in Taiwan, Venerable Xing Yun does visited their cultivation premises, but that does not mean Venerable Xing Yun seek the Tao from them. I strongly believe that for Ven Xing Yun whom is a highly knowledgable and cultivated monk, will not take refuge in Yi guan Dao, the purpose of visiting, is a shown of compassion,that being a Sangha, he do not differences religious group, compassion has expressed in such event.
precisely they kept on showing me the pic at my house the xing yun fashi in their temple most likely interreligion activity .
I dun believe in them .
when i read bible that time she told me christians 500 hundred years drop back to earth zzzz.
wad nonsense is that .
i dun believe in tian ji.
(heavenly secrets)
How ?
can i bow to their altar ?
help them clean altar ?
Originally posted by xXIron_fistXx:my mum kept on telling me doomsday is near u think maitraya buddha come after a long period ?
now white period era.
how ?
she nt
You should ask you mum these questions.
Where is Mitreya now?
In the buddhist sutra, Mitreya should come in 5.6billions years later.
Next the time of measurement is a big differences, Shakayumuni buddha left this world 2550++years, in our world 2500++years is equal maybe just a fracture of seconds in buddha pureland. So how to define the Era of green,red and white.
Next,in the sutra, Mitreya heaven is not the highest in the 法界,there are higher heaven above it. So if Tian Dao people are to be going to Mitreya pureland, why not you go further.
Tian Dao cultivation, going to the Mitreya pureland, which level of cultivation will they become?
There is no so called what tian dao said Wu Ji lao Mu, in buddha teaching, main core teaching is 缘起性空。 Do they know what is emptiness?
Next, by kneeling and bowing for 1000 times, this is we call 表法, do they understand what is call æ— ç›¸, read the diamond sutra.
Do they believe in buddha, or believe in some historical people from the past and said mi le zhen jing is spoken by buddha. Sutra that spoken by buddha, you will have the start verse to be 如是我闻, then the place of the discouse is spoken, the people that is attending the discourse. I came to know that mi le zhen jing has the starting verse of 如是我闻...as such, this is a mispresentation of buddha, the sin is very heavy, can go to hell.
I can write alot more, becoz the article i read is very comprehensive, with buddhist cannon sutra counteract with their teaching. The above are just some of my views that you can share with your parents.
yawns
sorry i stirred up a commotion.
sorry .
You should ask you mum these questions.Where is Mitreya now?
In the buddhist sutra, Mitreya should come in 5.6billions years later.
Next the time of measurement is a big differences, Shakayumuni buddha left this world 2550++years, in our world 2500++years is equal maybe just a fracture of seconds in buddha pureland. So how to define the Era of green,red and white.
Next,in the sutra, Mitreya heaven is not the highest in the 法界,there are higher heaven above it. So if Tian Dao people are to be going to Mitreya pureland, why not you go further.
Tian Dao cultivation, going to the Mitreya pureland, which level of cultivation will they become?
There is no so called what tian dao said Wu Ji lao Mu, in buddha teaching, main core teaching is 缘起性空。 Do they know what is emptiness?
Next, by kneeling and bowing for 1000 times, this is we call 表法, do they understand what is call æ— ç›¸, read the diamond sutra.
Do they believe in buddha, or believe in some historical people from the past and said mi le zhen jing is spoken by buddha. Sutra that spoken by buddha, you will have the start verse to be 如是我闻, then the place of the discouse is spoken, the people that is attending the discourse. I came to know that mi le zhen jing has the starting verse of 如是我闻...as such, this is a mispresentation of buddha, the sin is very heavy, can go to hell.
I can write alot more, becoz the article i read is very comprehensive, with buddhist cannon sutra counteract with their teaching. The above are just some of my views that you can share with your parents.
OK.
yah maitreya sutra they do chant sometimes , jigong one also.
they nt happy i dun chant .
I told them i dowan bow , because gt wierd symbols.
I also dowan clean altar .... ....
Originally posted by xXIron_fistXx:
precisely they kept on showing me the pic at my house the xing yun fashi in their temple most likely interreligion activity .I dun believe in them .
when i read bible that time she told me christians 500 hundred years drop back to earth zzzz.
wad nonsense is that .
i dun believe in tian ji.
Ask your mum, becoming a vegetarian can become enlighten?
What is the quanlities for becoming enlighten?
Buddha was not a vegetarian tat time in his time.
Next, showing the Ven Xing Yun picture, what is it going to prove? Can that picture enhance their cultivation, and if by showing off, that is already proudness, so isnt buddha teaching teaches us to break from all these.
I only can say, they are just doing those 表法...things that externally express to faith, they do not really understand the dharma teaching is universal, not about races, not about religions, so long you have the correct method, the practise of eightfold path, anyone can be enlighten.
Its not like you go for prayer group, bow 1000 times, eat vegee, or so ritual you will be enlighten. If like this, many people already enlighten.
Its okie you read their sutra, tell your mum to read the buddhist cannon mitreya sutra in return.
Its okie you clean the altar, do not bear the differences that this altar is tian dao or buddhist, you respect the buddha in any form displayed in front of you, even you see a buddha statue in a taosit temple..buddha is formless, so cleaning the altar, just clean with a purity mind.
My mum forced me to clean do go gongde.
bow also zzz
but they take the opportunity to talk to me when i clean .
they tell erm the history the 18 groups .
now left 3 fayi xingyi bao guang group everything ..... ....
how they soread from china ask me memorsie sutra maitreya sutra .... ....
the altar master ask me memorise also.
they also ask me pray at the altar but i declined.
i listened 2 hours lor every cleaning.
I have to clean for them .
i told them can dun tell me all these they still say.
they know i have to eat so after their celebration they take the opportunity to spread 4 ppl spreading it to me .
after one hour then ended they go home.
my mum said u eat my food u should pray wad.........
wah !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I cannot pray leh
Its okie you read their sutra, tell your mum to read the buddhist cannon mitreya sutra in return.
Its okie you clean the altar, do not bear the differences that this altar is tian dao or buddhist, you respect the buddha in any form displayed in front of you, even you see a buddha statue in a taosit temple..buddha is formless, so cleaning the altar, just clean with a purity mind.
it';s better my mum dont touch buddhism scriptures she likes to comment .
she said since india so many buddha and enlightened ppl y so poor now .
zzz
i said japan is rich ah .
and rich poor determined by many factors and conditions..............
she said maybe the scriptures recorder write wrongly now maitreya period le.
how can so long maitreya come ? maybe their counting mistake zzz
my mum that time dowan me be christian read bible to discredit it.
she go find flaws in genesis exodus ..........
crazy mum religion fanatic.
human error mah zzzzz
You should enhance your buddhism foundation....
They ask you clean, just clean, you do it as a respect.
They ask you bow, take it as a repentence.
They talk to you, you listen, and ask them questions( you need to have knowledge in buddhism, so that you can in return share with them)
Nevermind about the chores at the tian dao. Importantly you must know how to cultivate yourself, not shaken by all these external factors.
SImply to day, Their founder is not buddha, and buddha has go thought nirvana, he need not some manifestation to come tell you another side of the teaching. Tian Dao history is pretty long, it all started with one Dyansty Queen whom dream about a sutra, then all the things linkage started to have this 3 era periods.
If you want to discuss more, drop me a messenge with your msn.
Amitabha
Ask your mum, becoming a vegetarian can become enlighten?
What is the quanlities for becoming enlighten?
Buddha was not a vegetarian tat time in his time.
Next, showing the Ven Xing Yun picture, what is it going to prove? Can that picture enhance their cultivation, and if by showing off, that is already proudness, so isnt buddha teaching teaches us to break from all these.
I only can say, they are just doing those 表法...things that externally express to faith, they do not really understand the dharma teaching is universal, not about races, not about religions, so long you have the correct method, the practise of eightfold path, anyone can be enlighten.
Its not like you go for prayer group, bow 1000 times, eat vegee, or so ritual you will be enlighten. If like this, many people already enlighten.
they told me to learn their prayer.
they said ur foundation nt there dun read buddhism books read confuscious zzzz
they said how can universe be no beggining no end zzz.
scold me.
sure gt ppl make ... ...
my mum like to scold tibetian monks she said they eat meat . thailand monks also.
zzz
she said no compassion .... ....
Sorry end of discussion .
thanks for help from bodhihut.
thanks
For me, if I were to land in such a situation, I would just listen.
Treat it like maths class, or history class, or whatever class you would attend in school.
Treat it like a religious study class.
Even if you don't agree it's ok -- just learn more for knowledge.
But of course you must be clear what is authentic dharma and what is not.
OK I understood .