alas there are so many cults and fake monks masquerading as the real deal. those people with no real knowledge of Buddhism, tend to regard that as Buddhism, sigh.
no website...
the temple doesnt have monks. only Master (Shifu)
They chant sutras and teach abt buddhism. But Im skeptical about the involuntary hand movements during the xue fa.
Or is it some other form of buddhism? They have give out flowers for "cleansing" baths too.
Everyone can say they 'teach Buddhism', but what exactly do they teach? How long have your family been frequenting the temple, how did they know about it? What is the Master's lineage? i.e. Who is the master's master? What tradition do they follow?
From your first description, I am very doubtful about their teachings. Many who emphasize on supernatural powers are in fact cults at worst, non-Buddhist teachings at best. But again I am not so sure about the emphasis of their teachings.
removed
let me find out more from my husband regarding the teachings as I dont go there.
His mom and brother have been attending it for 5-6yrs already.
TS,
Frankly, whoever this person is being dishonest. Yes, I am being judgemental but one has to call a spade a spade!
If he was indeed a 'master' or whatever 'badge' that he is putting on - i doubt u would be here posting and seeking opinions/advice. Intuitively, u do feel that something is amiss.
Originally posted by prodigizz:let me find out more from my husband regarding the teachings as I dont go there.
His mom and brother have been attending it for 5-6yrs already.
I see, ok.
His family heard abt the temple from words of mouth. One of their relatives attended it some time back.
He didnt ask about the Master's lineage or background. During each session, they will chant sutras and mantras first, followed by "xue fa" (the meditation with the involuntary hand movements)
They have a big urn outside the temple for Tee Gong and Four Faced Buddha. Inside the temple, there's Shakyamuni, Ji Gong, Medicine Buddha, GuanYin, Laughing Buddha, a small idol of Kwan Yu and also the Monkey God.
He was told that there are 99 buddhas' birthday in a calendar year. And the temple celebrate ALL.
Originally posted by prodigizz:Hi
My husband and his family has been regularly attending this temple in Geylang. It is a Buddhist temple and they practice "meditation" which they call pinyin xue2 fa3. I suppose its meditation since Im not sure how to rightly translate xue fa into english.
The thing is, during this meditation, their hands will move subconsciously. The shifu does not teach them how to meditate, he said that all students will have a personal Buddha teacher, coming down from "heaven" to teach them.
They also have mantra water and stuff like that.
My question is, is it an orthodox kind of meditation? They believe this "fa" has powers to create an invisible "shield" to protect them from evil. And also, if you learn long enough, you are able to heal others.
Anyone heard of this?
This is a Chi practice, with one exception, when the mind is singularly focused, the chi flows all over, and initially , one is not aware of one,s movement, rather like spiritual kung fu or "shen ta". The movement are rhythmical and circular in motion. Usually upon practice, the body develop "wei chi" which is like and energy aura protecting the against the weather. This has a very Taoist element in theory and explanation.
Comment on the Sifu's lineage is important as suggested by the moderator, also whether is this a preliminary practice, which eventually leads to more indepth Buddhist principles and practice proper, is also important!
Without these two considerations in mind, one cannot place judgement!
A little on their rituals:
During the birthday celebrations, Master will start off with addressing disciples and ask all to sit in the Lotus position with palms cupped together.
He will start to chant something to guide the disciples to "Heaven" to present the offerings (offerings include plate of fruits, flowers, peach buns) to the birthday Buddha.
After which Master will ask the seniors sitted in front if they have arrived in Heaven and the replies were always a Yes.
The Master will give the disciples blessings from the Buddha.
The thing is, are these typical Buddhist rituals, folk religion or a mixture of both?
Another important thing to note is that the Master will "communicate" with the Buddha to answer disciples' questions. Something like what a medium does.
Originally posted by noahnoah:actually pretty funny
thing also
some buddhist claim they
are very well versed in buddhist knowledge
when i asked them wat was the miracle that he
had done in order to convince the people
that he was the One, on his way to enlightment, \
yet cant answer at all
There is always something learn, and it also depends on whether one comes across the specific knowledge. Anyway, if they have something which you can learn from them, gain from it!
For you information, the Buddha did perform miracles, but he never wanted to convert anyone due to his miracles. that's why the miracles !he performed are very low key!
The main emphasis are the Dharma, the teachings
Originally posted by noahnoah:actually pretty funny
thing also
some buddhist claim they
are very well versed in buddhist knowledge
when i asked them wat was the miracle that he
had done in order to convince the people
that he was the One, on his way to enlightment, \
yet cant answer at all
noah, at least Buddha did not promise stuff he cannot deliver unlike the god we once worshipped.
Originally posted by prodigizz:A little on their rituals:
During the birthday celebrations, Master will start off with addressing disciples and ask all to sit in the Lotus position with palms cupped together.
He will start to chant something to guide the disciples to "Heaven" to present the offerings (offerings include plate of fruits, flowers, peach buns) to the birthday Buddha.
After which Master will ask the seniors sitted in front if they have arrived in Heaven and the replies were always a Yes.
The Master will give the disciples blessings from the Buddha.
The thing is, are these typical Buddhist rituals, folk religion or a mixture of both?
Another important thing to note is that the Master will "communicate" with the Buddha to answer disciples' questions. Something like what a medium does.
Sounds very like Taoist in practice, essentially practice immortalityhood or"chen hsien" .
But this branch does'nt practice mediumship, the "shenist school" or folk religon does that! if one sees the "black command banner or flag", it practices mediumship. It uses the flag to summons spirits!
As mentioned, 70% of the session is concentrated on Xue Fa. Only a little is taught about the sutras and mantras.
The Master will need to sort of "kai guang" you before you can xuefa. But it is not the same as taking the Three Refuge. After "kai guang", you are suppose to have a specific Buddha to guide you through Xue Fa.
The Master doesnt teach.
btw, he also does fortune telling.
Originally posted by prodigizz:As mentioned, 70% of the session is concentrated on Xue Fa. Only a little is taught about the sutras and mantras.
The Master will need to sort of "kai guang" you before you can xuefa. But it is not the same as taking the Three Refuge. After "kai guang", you are suppose to have a specific Buddha to guide you through Xue Fa.
The Master doesnt teach.
btw, he also does fortune telling.
"Tien Tao"Heavenly Way or" Ya Tan Jiao" Duck Egg Religon/Cult, "kai guang" initiates by pointing to the "third eye" , between the eye brows, and a mudra, with an oath never to reveal "Heaven's'secrets.
Called the "Duck" religion, because believers can eat chicken eggs but not duck eggs.
It is an inclusive religion, an amalgamation of all religions in practice, originates from Taiwan, rather the Cao Daism of Vietnam.
Probably should request their literature for further reading!
Originally posted by Fantagf:noah, at least Buddha did not promise stuff he cannot deliver unlike the god we once worshipped.
LOL...you want an instant miracle.Go and get practice instant noobles.If you want everything in an instant of what you pray for, I assume you just need yourself because you are the instant God.
Oh so is Yi Kuan Dao is it?
http://www.buddhismaustralia.org/cults.htm
I Kuan Tao (Tian Tao) - Yi Guan Dao
The followers of I Kuan Tao claimed that it
is a distinguished lineage back over 2000 years when it begins from the ancient
Chinese astrolgers, emperors, Confucius, and so forth. From 18th Ancient Patriarch
Mencius, the lineage travels to the west, the lineage began from Shakyamuni
Buddha, Mahakashyapa to 28th Indian Patriarch Bodhidharma. But the modern practice
of Tian Tao, as we know it today, was established about 70 years ago. In the
1930, Shi Zueng Zhang Tian Ran and Shi Mu Sun Hui Ming, became the 18th Patriarch
and started theirpractice I Kuan Tao in Chi Nan City, Shang Dong Province of
China. Their work spread by word of mouth, andby 1946 I Kuan Tao became prevalent
among 36 provinces of China. At the end of the Civil War in 1949, many followers
in China found their beliefs incompatible with Communist doctrines. This and
other reasons compelled large numbers of them to emigrate to Taiwan, Hong Kong,
Korea,Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines. Tian Tao quickly
took root in these new lands, spreading with its teachings Chinese culture and
traditional family values. By increasing the number of I Kuan Tao temples, they
believed that they are bringing the Buddhist "Western Paradise" to
earth and creating a world of brotherhood and universal love as envisioned by
Confucian
teachings.

Presently, they claimed that the founder, 17th Patriarch Lu Zhong Yi, was an incarnation of Maitreya. He has major influence and impact on the present form of I Kuan Tao. The central teaching of Tian Tao, is based on the initiation ceremony - a new formula on the Triple Gem, namely:
1. Opening of Heavenly Eye (Dian Xuan Dao),
2. Oral Transmission of the Maitreya prayer
(Chuan Ko Jue),
and
3. Hand Gestures (Jie He Tong).
They believe that the recipient has obtained
the Tao and that his name has been reserved in the heaven and erased from the
lists in hell. Upon death, the recipient will ascend straight to heaven without
having to endure the cycles of rebirth.
Graeme Lyall (Australia), 1999, wrote:
"The group is known
as Ee Kwang Tao (Yi Guan Dao). I was invited to attend the opening of one of their 'Holy Houses'.
It was one of the strangest rituals that I have ever witnessed. Following the
ritual we were invited to go before the 'Master' to receive initiation. I declined
on the grounds that I had been invited to attend the opening but not to join
anything. After a while they approached me again and they said that the 'Master'
was waiting for me and I MUST go before the 'Master'. I replied that I must not do anything of the sort as I am atraditional Buddhist and had no wish to
join their organisation. I thanked them for their hospitality and said that
I was leaving. As each person arrived they took their name. As I left they asked
me for my name as they said that the names were being sent to heaven and, as
I refused initiation, my name would have to be struck off the list. I consulted
a Chinese friend about my experience and he
immediately identified it as the Ee Kwang Tao cult which, as was said, is proliferating
in Australia. The initiates are sworn to secrecy with the threat of harm to
themselves and their family if the secrets are revealed. This dangerous cult
bears no relation to Buddhism so beware of them."
no its not the I kwan Tao.
They said its Buddhism. Except their rituals are like a combination of Folk religion plus buddhism.
Real buddhism does not have monkey god and kwan gong right?
And they definitely dont believe in fortune telling right?
But this shifu does fortune telling leh. Like ppl will go and ask the shifu questions and the shifu will "communicate" with Buddha to answer their questions.
AEN
Can I ask if the rituals I posted are buddhist rituals?
As I said before:
All religions ,be it cultic or not, are dangerous to mankind.
Buddhism needs a person to accept a paradigm shift in thinking.(i.e up is not up)
Originally posted by prodigizz:AEN
Can I ask if the rituals I posted are buddhist rituals?
They are cultic rituals.
Can anyone here well versed in buddhism help me check out this temple?
im really curious to know what exactly is their "belief"
Billion Light Buddha Buddhist Society (Yi Wan Guang Fo)
29 Geylang Lor 24
They are open Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Sundays.
From 6pm Shifu does fortune telling
Around 8-9pm, the Xue Fa will begin for disciples.
Originally posted by prodigizz:Can anyone here well versed in buddhism help me check out this temple?
im really curious to know what exactly is their "belief"
Billion Light Buddha Buddhist Society (Yi Wan Guang Fo)
29 Geylang Lor 24
They are open Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Sundays.
From 6pm Shifu does fortune telling
Around 8-9pm, the Xue Fa will begin for disciples.
Have you been there personally?
Hope you find what you need to know soon. Such matter is really disturbing.
No.
My husband does. He asked me to help him find out coz he's not very internet savvy. heh