Originally posted by sinweiy:
yes, you read it right. nobody is mixing (non not mixing) anything. it just depend on the angle one's perspective.like the analogy of some blinds people touching an elephant. the one touching the truck would differ from the one touching the ear etc. but actually there's one elephant.
wisdomeye, u may need to read carefully where i stated, that Reincarnation does not exist.
'merged' as in mixed together, but u said don't mix? :)
no la, that's what i meant when one sever the 谜 , you get the accurate realisation.
/\
ok sinweiy, then we must agree to disagree... thanks... about Tsongkhapa's statement, i'm quite sure i did not mistake. But for actual experience, i must wait for realisation but i think may be quite far off ... hee hee...
I think there is misunderstanding.
I don't think sinweiy is saying no reincarnation, but no soul exists to reincarnate. What reborns is a non-substantial stream of consciousness.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I think there is misunderstanding.
I don't think sinweiy is saying no reincarnation, but no soul exists to reincarnate. What reborns is a non-substantial stream of consciousness.
saying the same thing.
haha, funny people.There's many things worth doing .There's no karma or rebirth, just relax and have fun.
Originally posted by wisdomeye:ok sinweiy, then we must agree to disagree... thanks...
erm ...i don't get what u are making on disagreeing. u disagree but i agree.
i didn't say i disagree to Tsongkhapa's statement. u may have run off with assumptions liao.
/\
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:haha, funny people.There's many things worth doing .There's no karma or rebirth, just relax and have fun.
hi pepper,
haha... you know, actually i can't speak for the rest of us... but i think i'm having lots of fun with the dharma.
Originally posted by sinweiy:
erm ...i don't get what u are making on disagreeing. u disagree but i agree.i didn't say i disagree to Tsongkhapa's statement. u may have run off with assumptions liao.
/\
ok, sinweiy, i understand what you are saying--- just dun cling on to one view, right?
Originally posted by wisdomeye:ok, sinweiy, i understand what you are saying--- just dun cling on to one view, right?
Correct! haha. :) Sorry about that.
/\
Originally posted by wisdomeye:
hi pepper,haha... you know, actually i can't speak for the rest of us... but i think i'm having lots of fun with the dharma.
Yes. Buddhism have some elements we can apply them in our daily lives. But I really don't believe in rebirth. I watched alot of shows on rebirth on TV yet i don't believe in it.
Hi Pepper,
Some people say without belief in karma and rebirth, it is impossible to practice dharma.
I dun think so.
I think dharma has a lot of common sense in it. For instance, if you are kind and constantly help others, naturally people will like you and you will not end up lonely and ignored at the end of your life, as i see some people are.
I find that when i help others, i become more and more happy. That's why i say i'm having lots of fun with dharma. When i just enjoy myself and indulge, i get more and more stale and dried up and feel depressed, bored, life is sickening, die faster better... u know that kind of negative mindsets.
Just live a meaningful life, not just about your own wishes and enjoyment. Consider others too... there is alot of dharma in that.
Originally posted by wisdomeye:Hi Pepper,
Some people say without belief in karma and rebirth, it is impossible to practice dharma.
I dun think so.
I think dharma has a lot of common sense in it. For instance, if you are kind and constantly help others, naturally people will like you and you will not end up lonely and ignored at the end of your life, as i see some people are.
I find that when i help others, i become more and more happy. That's why i say i'm having lots of fun with dharma. When i just enjoy myself and indulge, i get more and more stale and dried up and feel depressed, bored, life is sickening, die faster better... u know that kind of negative mindsets.
Just live a meaningful life, not just about your own wishes and enjoyment. Consider others too... there is alot of dharma in that.
But we are free to believe in what we think is right.
I think it's good not to worry, not to be greedy etc
But It does not mean I must believe in rebirth and karma.
ok sure... anyway, who can control your mind but yourself
i myself have to remind myself about things like karma, rebirth and death... although my mouth say i believe, actually heart-wise, belief may not be strong enough... or else i won't be wasting alot of my time.... hehe
you can do anything u wish lah. buddhism dun hardcore insist on anything, just use the word sui yuan... which means, you just walk your path and explore in your own way....slowly slowly...
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:But we are free to believe in what we think is right.
Hi Iron_Fist, oops.. i mean star dust... oh wait, Pepper. Yup think I finally got that right. ;)
Nobody will be asking you to believe in rebirth and karma, unless you are a Buddhist (and you stated you are Christian) - because as Buddhist we must come to accept these teachings to be considered true Buddhist disciple.
i wld like to add, it's fine to be christian and learn from this forum... whoever you are... hee hee
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Hi Iron_Fist, oops.. i mean star dust... oh wait, Pepper. Yup think I finally got that right. ;)
Nobody will be asking you to believe in rebirth and karma, unless you are a Buddhist (and you stated you are Christian) - because as Buddhist we must come to accept these teachings to be considered true Buddhist disciple.
Pls don't play with names. Who are they ?
I only post what comes into my mind. What you believe is not my problem.
I am free to post whatever I like .
Originally posted by wisdomeye:i wld like to add, it's fine to be christian and learn from this forum... whoever you are... hee hee
I am a christian , I don't hide.
haha.
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:Pls don't play with names. Who are they ?
I only post what comes into my mind. What you believe is not my problem.
I am free to post whatever I like .
Within reason, of course... not that I remove people's posts often.
So far, what you have posted has not violated any forum rules, so they're fine.
I also never said you cannot post what you think.
Oh btw I just remembered there is indeed a forum rule talking about karma... the first forum rule in fact:
Sticky: ~ Buddhism: Wisdom Bliss ~ Rules & Regulations
1) While it is acknowledged that levels of understanding of the Dharma will vary among members, and that all will have their own beliefs about it, certain doctrines such as karma, postmortem rebirth and not-self, are held to be core teachings by all Buddhist traditions. Members are free to privately disagree with these teachings, or to discuss and ask questions about them, but not to debate them, denigrate them, or deny that they were taught by the Buddha.
However I have not found anyone denigrating it, so far so good.
I also don't care if people don't believe in karma - that is their own business. They are responsible for their own views, beliefs, actions, whatever...
Example: 'karma is ridiculous kthxbye' = trolling, denigrating
'i don't believe in karma' = their own personal belief, however doesnt count as denigrating
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Within reason, of course... not that I remove people's posts often.
So far, what you have posted has not violated any forum rules, so they're fine.
I also never said you cannot post what you think.
Yup thanks for ur understanding.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Oh btw I just remembered there is indeed a forum rule... the first forum rule in fact:
I also don't care if people don't believe in karma - that is their own business.
Indeed. That's why I did not ask anyone not to believe in karma. I only post my opinions.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Oh btw I just remembered there is indeed a forum rule talking about karma... the first forum rule in fact:
I also don't care if people don't believe in karma - that is their own business. They are responsible for their own views, beliefs, actions, whatever...
I respect ur forum rules but this is the first time I see it.
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:
Indeed. That's why I did not ask anyone not to believe in karma. I only post my opinions.
No problem.
p.s.
As Russel Peters said, "Somebody. I won't say who. Oh I think you might know him very well." ![]()
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:No problem.
p.s.
As Russel Peters said, "Somebody. I won't say who. Oh I think you might know him very well."
Thanks for ur understanding.
Originally posted by wisdomeye:ok sure... anyway, who can control your mind but yourself
i myself have to remind myself about things like karma, rebirth and death... although my mouth say i believe, actually heart-wise, belief may not be strong enough... or else i won't be wasting alot of my time.... hehe
you can do anything u wish lah. buddhism dun hardcore insist on anything, just use the word sui yuan... which means, you just walk your path and explore in your own way....slowly slowly...
It's hard to have full faith in everything.
I also 90 % of the time believe in God. Even my pastor say it's ok. Even pastor doubt sometimes.
I also have to remind myself.
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:But we are free to believe in what we think is right.
Hmm, you don't believe in rebirth and karma, so can you explain why some people are born poor and some are born rich ? Between God's will and karma, which do you think is more logical and more acceptable ?
By the way, reincarnation is proven except people do not wish to accept it. Read the link below, there are more and more people believe in reincarnation. There are about 20 - 30% of the Americans and Europeans believe in reincarnation. I just want to point out that Buddhists are not the only ones believe in it.