Last time back in 2003 when I was very devoted to my Buddhist faith,I practised vegetarianism until very thin and bony.The next year, when I browsed some Christian websites and I was so shocked by the truth exposed that I lose my faith and become very fat.
One can easily lose faith before they have any insights or realisations.
Once one has gained the insights and realisations as described by the Buddha, you WILL NEVER ever lose faith. LOL.
Originally posted by simpo_:One can easily lose faith before they have any insights or realisations.
Once one has gained the insights and realisations as described by the Buddha, you WILL NEVER ever lose faith. LOL.
Then why must Buddhists practise detachment when Christianity have no such requirement?Isn't that satanic?
Originally posted by Take That:Last time back in 2003 when I was very devoted to my Buddhist faith,I practised vegetarianism until very thin and bony.The next year, when I browsed some Christian websites and I was so shocked by the truth exposed that I lose my faith and become very fat.
Perhaps, you would like to share your reservations and apprehension you've encountered.
Maybe you have some misconceptions about Buddhism which you are unable to accept.
Also, have you acknowledged any attachment and cravings you have previously unrecognized that have surfaced?!
Originally posted by Take That:Then why must Buddhists practise detachment when Christianity have no such requirement?Isn't that satanic?
Hi,
Before any insights, one live 100% in a world view dictated by beliefs, ideas and concepts.
Now, you are asking that question from that world view. There will be no answer that will be fully satisfactory for you from that perspective.
Originally posted by Take That:Then why must Buddhists practise detachment when Christianity have no such requirement?Isn't that satanic?
Because Buddhism is about letting go, once we stop clinging, our dissatisfaction ends.
Just as the phrase"God is testing you"
Originally posted by Take That:Last time back in 2003 when I was very devoted to my Buddhist faith,I practised vegetarianism until very thin and bony.The next year, when I browsed some Christian websites and I was so shocked by the truth exposed that I lose my faith and become very fat.
What kind of Buddhism do you practice? Did you take refuge?
Btw many vegetarians are very strong. The reason why you eat until thin and bony is because, no offense, you do not know how to cook good healthy vegetarian meals. You can eat very healthily if you know how to cook good and well balanced vegetarian meals with all the nutritions necessary for good health. All you needed was a vegetarian cook book.
Vegetarians are generally long lived (less risk of many diseases), many vegetarian Buddhist monks and masters lived till a very old age (for example the modern Chinese Ch'an Master Hsu Yun lived to 120 years old), have better health, and are strong, provided they know how to cook good vegetarian food.
Being very fat puts you in danger of many diseases.
Anyway, vegetarianism was never a requirement in Buddhism to begin with. I still eat meat.
To Buddhism, there is no such thing as a satan, since there is no personal God, and thus no adversary of God.
Originally posted by simpo_:One can easily lose faith before they have any insights or realisations.
Yeah... and not only 'never lose faith'... you go beyond faith... since you directly experience and realise what is being said, you become enlightened yourself.
Enlightenment is not reserved for Buddha only. Everyone can attain enlightenment...
From here, I can tell that you have not fully understand Buddhism. That is why I always say those who convert to Christianity are those who do not understand Buddhism.
It is a matter of time that you realise attachment brings miseries. I wonder do you understand what are attachment and detachment, if you do, logically you should understand this simple logic.
I had posted stories of Christians born in ghosts realm. Today, I heard of another case of Christian born in ghost realm, her relative who is a Christian dreamt of her suffering in the ghost realm but did not mention or do anything. So, she let her non- Christian relatives dreamt of her suffering in the ghost realm, they did some prayers and it was then that her Christian relative mentioned about the same dream that she had.
So, if you don't heed Buddha's advice to practice detachment, you are just heading to ghost realm. Remember, by then don't seek help from Chritians as they are unable to help you, seek help from Taoists or Buddhists, at least they can help you.
I swear to Buddha, what I said above were all true.
If you are a good guy, you will think that everyone is a good guy like you as you cannot imagine or understand why someone can be so evil. Likewise, one will only think that others are satanic only when one is satanic and thinks that others are like him.
Take That....
What is this shocking truth that was exposed, that make you lose your faith with Buddhism?... and become very fat? By the way, what is your understanding of Buddhist detachment? It would be interesting to know.
It's interesting to see Christians joining in the forum too, the comments there raised in fact help me understand Buddhism better.
Take That, if you still have the interest in Buddhism, we can learn together in this forum.
take that posting shouldnt be taken seriously ,becos all the while i sensed she have not understand Buddhism and hope to use this portal to hit Buddhism .Its okay ,Buddhism will never be collapsed by your simple action .
Unless u offer a detailed anecdote of what u understand by detachment ,which website you saw , who u spoke to and what grievance u have of Buddhism ,then we will entertain u ,seriously ..
just curious, what truth was exposed?
I am vegetarian too... i became thinner it is true.. But i feel happier. It is not necessary that Buddhist are vegetarians. Some Christians are vegetarians too because they love animals. I think you shouldn't generalise by diet. Buddhism is not about diet.
i begin to suspect the veganism is an extreme idea in the west ...
Originally posted by syncopation_music:i begin to suspect the veganism is an extreme idea in the west ...
when my frens start to want to go on vegetarianism due to sudden impulse or aspiration... i am usually quite against... it is better to be gradual.
Firstly your family is going to object. Your social dining life is going to be affected. Frens need time to adjust.
Secondly, if your taste buds are highly attached to good food, you will turn around quite soon.
Thirdly, some body types will have health issues... like mine
Fourthly, need time, research, tips from frens, and knowledge to know how to eat and stay in good nutrition-state...
I always suggest, start with being vegetarian on the vegetarian days prescribed eg in Medicine Buddha sutra or on holy days...
Or eat less meat, or choose your meat that kills the minimum life, or do much prayers for the animals you eat.
Later on, after several years, then can slowly shift to full vegetarianism... but must know how to eat.. if your health is poor, parents/relatives are definitely going to have worries and anger at your choice and thus also develop negative feeling about your religion.
One does not have to think that vegetarianism is compulsory when becoming Buddhist. And one has to be sensible to make a long-term shift, not just do things impulsively.
put it this way...vegetables are good for health....irregardless of your staunchness to go on being a vegetarian....a deep understanding of your own heart and mind towards the moral objective is much more important than being a gastronomical vegan
Wah Lau.. the way u saying is like christianity makes people fat... very bad leh lol
then your statement make buddhism sound like it create anorexic people...
I am a buddhist but IPPT gold ok... buddhism don't make people go thin and bony
Fat Bodhisattva:
Amituofo Take that,
even heard some gold olympians of running, swimming and even weight lifting are vegetarian?!
i agree with wisdomeye to go gradually, like for myself.
over the years, i realised and learned from MCK that the most healthy or unhealthy food is not the food itself, but the mental attachment/grasping of food. Greedy eaters are the most canceric. 病从�入。Eating is ok, it's the greed that's not okay. Don't go for the taste. We all favour the mouth, and hack care the stomach. The mouth might like it, but the stomach might not.
The most healthy food is eat simple and without greedy thought. if one can do that, even junk/dirty/rotten food can be healthy. But most people cannot to that. sorry this one need more practice. hehe..
so ya, take it simple and without greed. u can choose nutritions like said above.
/\
Did you take enough food for your daily calories intake? What is your diet like?
Buddhism is not about being a vegetarian. There are many reasons why Buddhist or Non-Buddhist choose to become a vegetarian. Reason 1. Compassionate for the animals being slaughtered. Reason 2. Being a vegetarian can actually be good for one's health. Reason 3: Vegetarism can actually help the environment.
Do you know your reasons of being vegetarian in the first place? Lets not just follow blindly.
You can accept anything which when practise leads to unconditional love, contentment and wisdom which then lead to a happier and peaceful mind.
You can rightly reject anything when you accepted and practised, leads to more anger, more greed, more delusion.
http://www.accesstoinsight.org/lib/authors/soma/wheel008.html
r u stardust in disguise?
buddhism has no satan, but mara. anyway if believe in christianity, why dun u go convert to christianity instead of struggling with buddhist beliefs. you are just ignorant of Buddhism, thats all, cos you never read or study in the first place.
i won't loose my faith. It's forever in my mind.
Some others after easily influenced by others of the other religion