Originally posted by Rooney9:
r u stardust in disguise?buddhism has no satan, but mara. anyway if believe in christianity, why dun u go convert to christianity instead of struggling with buddhist beliefs. you are just ignorant of Buddhism, thats all, cos you never read or study in the first place.
I can 100 percent say I am not him.
I have AEN permission to post here y should I use another acct?
If I am him may I die from heart attack.
lmao, poster must be a christian troll. DON'T FEED THE TROLL
Many people think being a Christian is easier than being a Buddhist. I wonder did they read the bible carefully, especially the verse below :
You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. ...............................................But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.
Yesterday, I've just met a Buddhist in the temple. She told me she was a Christian for 40 years and converted to Buddhist few years ago. May be, many will only see the truth when they are old and more experienced in life. She finds Buddhism is more complete.
Originally posted by *=Optimus=*:lmao, poster must be a christian troll. DON'T FEED THE TROLL
Yes, I think take that is a christian troll. Dun feed the troll.
Originally posted by Dawnfirstlight:Many people think being a Christian is easier than being a Buddhist. I wonder did they read the bible carefully, especially the verse below :
Matthew 7:13–14 (NLT)
You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. ...............................................But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.
Yesterday, I've just met a Buddhist in the temple. She told me she was a Christian for 40 years and converted to Buddhist few years ago. May be, many will only see the truth when they are old and more experienced in life. She finds Buddhism is more complete.
Be christian is very tough. MAny restrictions.
Have to give up on astrology, many gals read astrology books one.
Wanna read FHM maxim cannot.
Cannot lie.
Surf porn cannot.
say yellow joke cannot
masturbation cannot
cannot gossip
cannot download christian music/ things from internet
sunday people go out have fun we go church
Cannot use vulgarities
Sometimes if Church dis allow qi gong, some christians got to give up their sports.
Some church dun allow martial arts with Qi. Some got to leave Yoga. Some churches dun allow any forms of yoga.
Some church disallow accuputure. Any forms of accupunture.
And many many more.
cannot date non christian even if u fall for a non christian gal
That's y many christian halfway left the church and religion. Be christian is not easy too.
HI Take That,
how come there's another post from u saying u can't quite vegetarianism?
How to quit vegetarianism?
http://sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/409973?page=1
Vegetarianism is harder to quit than smoking and drinking alcohol.The problem is when I eat meat i will vomit.Any suggestions?
strange, then how u got fat? normally that's a sign of born vegetarian. u are not a born vegetarian, right?
/\
Originally posted by -StarDust-:
Be christian is very tough. MAny restrictions.Have to give up on astrology, many gals read astrology books one.
Wanna read FHM maxim cannot.
Cannot lie.
Surf porn cannot.
say yellow joke cannot
masturbation cannot
cannot gossip
cannot download christian music/ things from internet
sunday people go out have fun we go church
Cannot use vulgarities
Sometimes if Church dis allow qi gong, some christians got to give up their sports.
Some church dun allow martial arts with Qi. Some got to leave Yoga. Some churches dun allow any forms of yoga.
Some church disallow accuputure. Any forms of accupunture.
And many many more.
cannot date non christian even if u fall for a non christian gal
That's y many christian halfway left the church and religion. Be christian is not easy too.
good to know..think other than astrology, accupunture, yoga, Qi gong, the rest of the restrictions, buddhist also have.... according to the precepts they abide, but they can follow slowly step by step.
/\
??? When did Buddha demand that a Buddhist to be a vegetarianism? I think the K.Sri Dhammananda, has advised this matter on a precise manner in his book, "What Buddhists believe"
Vegetarianism
One should not judge the purity or impurity of man simply by observing what he eats.
In the Amagandha Sutta, the Buddha said:
'Neither meat, nor fasting, nor nakedness, Nor shaven heads, nor matted hair, nor dirt, Nor rough skins, nor fire-worshipping, Nor all the penances here in this world, Nor hymns, nor oblation, nor sacrifice, Nor feasts of the season, Will purify a man overcome with doubt.'
Taking fish and meat by itself does not make a man become impure. A man makes himself impure by bigotry, deceit, envy, self-exaltation, disparagement and other evil intentions. Through his own evil thoughts and actions, man makes himself impure. There is no strict rule in Buddhism that the followers of the Buddha should not take fish and meat. The only advice given by the Buddha is that they should not be involved in killing intentionally or they should not ask others to kill any living being for them. However, those who take vegetable food and abstain from animal flesh are praiseworthy.
Though the Buddha did not advocate vegetarianism for the monks, He did advise the monks to avoid taking ten kinds of meat for their self respect and protection. They are: humans, elephants, horses, dogs, snakes, lions, tigers, leopards, bears hyenas. Some animals attack people when they smell the flesh of their own kind. (Vinaya Pitaka)
When the Buddha was asked to introduce vegetarianism amongst His disciples, the Buddha refused to do so. As Buddhism is a free religion, His advice was to leave the decision regarding vegetarianism to the individual disciple. It clearly shows that the Buddha had not considered this as a very important religious observance. The Buddha did not mention anything about vegetarianism for the lay Buddhists in His Teaching.
Jivaka Komarabhacca, the doctor, discussed this controversial issue with the Buddha: 'Lord, I have heard that animals are slaughtered on purpose for the recluse Gotama, and that the recluse Gotama knowingly eats the meat killed on purpose for him. Lord, do those who say animals are slaughtered on purpose for the recluse Gotama, and the recluse Gotama knowingly eats the meat killed on purpose for. Do they falsely accuse the Buddha? Or do they speak the truth? Are your declaration and supplementary declarations not thus subject to be ridiculed by others in any manner?'
'Jivaka, those who say: 'Animals are slaughtered on purpose for the recluse Gotama, and the recluse Gotama knowingly eats the meat killed on purpose for him', do not say according to what I have declared, and they falsely accuse me. Jivaka, I have declared that one should not make use of meat it is seen, heard or suspected to have been killed on purpose for a monk. I allow the monks meat that is quite pure in three respects: if it is not seen, heard or suspected to have been killed on purpose for a monk.' (Jivaka Sutta)
In certain countries, the followers of the Mahayana school of Buddhism are strict vegetarians. While appreciating their observance in the name of religion, we should like to point out that they should not condemn those who are not vegetarians. They must remember that there is no precept in the original Teachings of the Buddha that requires all Buddhists to be vegetarians. We must realize that Buddhism is known as the Middle Path. It is a liberal religion and the Buddha's advice was that it is not necessary to go to extremes to practise His Teachings.
Vegetarianism alone does not help a man to cultivate his humane qualities. There are kind, humble, polite and religious people amongst non-vegetarians. Therefore, one should not condone the statement that a pure, religious man must practise vegetarianism.
On the other hand, if anybody thinks that people cannot have a healthy life without taking fish and meat, it does not necessarily follow that they are correct since there are millions of pure vegetarians all over the world who are stronger and healthier than the meat-eaters.
People who criticize Buddhists who eat meat do not understand the Buddhist attitude towards food. A living being needs nourishment. We eat to live. As such a human being should supply his body with the food it needs to keep him healthy and to give him energy to work. However, as a result of increasing wealth, more and more people, especially in developed countries, eat simply to satisfy their palates. If one craves after any kind of food, or kills to satisfy his greed for meat, this is wrong. But if one eats without greed and without directly being involved in the act of killing but merely to sustain the physical body, he is practising self restraint.
My frenz church cannot reflexiology too.
Message the legs.
Originally posted by sinweiy:good to know..think other than astrology, accupunture, yoga, Qi gong, the rest of the restrictions, buddhist also have.... according to the precepts they abide, but they can follow slowly step by step.
/\
We also gradually follow them. I very long never scold bad word liao.
Stardust,
In order to counter your evangelical zeal, I am decided to do a series of qns n answer here.
Qns1
If God created the world, who created God?
Originally posted by WeeShun:Stardust,
In order to counter your evangelical zeal, I am decided to do a series of qns n answer here.
Qns1
If God created the world, who created God?
God in christianity is Eternal. No one created God. U better post ur questions at eternal hope.
Before the universe God already existed.
Dun post questions here.
No, I have decided to post here since you are an ex-buddhist.
So you are trying to tell me that God is uncreated cos God is eternal.
Qns 2
So why can't the world be uncreated and eternal itself ?
By doing these series of qns, I wish to bring to you the fallacy of christianity and it's teachings.
The Dharma is hard to chanced upon, since you had encountered Buddhism, it is of auspicious conditions and you should treasure the Dharma, practise it and share it.
Originally posted by WeeShun:No, I have decided to post here since you are an ex-buddhist.
So you are trying to tell me that God is uncreated cos God is eternal.
Qns 2
So why can't the world be uncreated and eternal itself ?
By doing these series of qns, I wish to bring to you the fallacy of christianity and it's teachings.
The Dharma is hard to chanced upon, since you had encountered Buddhism, it is of auspicious conditions and you should treasure the Dharma, practise it and share it.
U Better post at eternal hope.
It's inconvinient to answer ur questions here. Pls post them at eternal hope.
yes..........go to Eternal Hope(lessness)..............
and my threads on absurd Bible quotes are a must-read................
it's amazing that people with even 1/4 of a working brain can still blindly believe in that poor excuse of a fairytale storybook called the Bible...............LOL
even the Looney Tunes make more sense................HONEST...........
Originally posted by Take That:Last time back in 2003 when I was very devoted to my Buddhist faith,I practised vegetarianism until very thin and bony.The next year, when I browsed some Christian websites and I was so shocked by the truth exposed that I lose my faith and become very fat.
This is called vegetarianism, not buddhism.
stardust,
I assume you can't answer my question then. Seems like the whole truth you have known is all false.
Originally posted by Take That:Then why must Buddhists practise detachment when Christianity have no such requirement?Isn't that satanic?
Buddha teach us detachment because everything is impermanent, and attachment to impermanent object will cause suffering.
Even if you have very good karma, that makes you a CEO of a company, one day when you are no longer a CEO, no longer being visited and given smiling face everyday, no longer able to give instructions, you will feel very depressed.
You feel happy when you manage to convince people to believe your words, this is how attachment increase, one day when people disagree with your opinion, you will become angry.
Why a baby is happier than adult, because they don't have as much attachment as an adult.
All these sufferings is because of attachment to a impermanent object including money, body, fame, idea, relationship etc.
This is not just theory. This is something that happen in our lives.
Originally posted by Dawnfirstlight:Many people think being a Christian is easier than being a Buddhist. I wonder did they read the bible carefully, especially the verse below :
Matthew 7:13–14 (NLT)
all religious roads are different in their own faiths....what is important is any one of any faiths could follow what they teach others.....so far each has their own black sheep...
ever wonder why god look like the ethnic group of the particular religion?
eg, Hindu gods -- look like Indians
Christian Gods -- ang mo?
Chinese deities -- chinese
etc etc
i believe the idea or the nature of "God" is omni...
this is the only way to resolve endless debates on this matter
Originally posted by Fcukpap:i believe the idea or the nature of "God" is omni...
but the problem is 1st group of people who believe in something wanted others to believe because the 1st group of people thinks it is beneficial and should be spread around... thus causing the conflict
we all know the famous quote:"DO NOT DO UNTO OTHERS WHAT U DO NOT WANT OTHERS DO UNTO U"
my quote to reflect current situation is:-
"FOLLOW WHAT YOU TEACH OTHERS AS WHAT YOU WANT OTHERS TO LEARN" - for the posterity....lol
Originally posted by Fcukpap:i believe the idea or the nature of "God" is omni...
One fine day I realized I am God.
But this is actually a statement of great humility. In this insight, the 'I' that I knew had disappeared into the primordial Source.
This universal intelligence spinning the earth, growing the grass and the nails, and expressing itself as this very moment of consciousness... this isn't something 'I' as a separate individual self could ever do, because the separate 'I' has never existed. It is a word that is powerless.
"I, the supreme source ["All-Creating King"], am the sole maker, and no other agent exists in the world. The nature of phenomena is created through me ... The very manifestation of existence itself depends on me ... I am self-arising wisdom that has existed from the beginning. I am the supreme source of everything, pure and total consciousness ...'Consciousness' means that self-arising wisdom, the true essence, dominates and clearly perceives all the phenomena of the animate and inanimate universe. This self-arising fundamental substance, not produced by causes and condition, governs all things and gives life to all things ... As my nature is unhindered and all-pervading, it is the celestial abode of wisdom and luminous space: therein abides only self-arising wisdom. As I am the substance whence everything arises, the five great elements, the three worlds [i.e. the worlds of Desire, Form, and Formlessness] and the six classes of beings [hell-denizens, ghosts, animals, humans, Titans, and gods] are only my body, my voice, and my mind: I myself create my own nature ... The root of all phenomena is pure and total consciousness, the source. All that appears is my nature. All that manifests is my magical display. All sounds and words express only my meaning ...
"I am the core of all that exists. I am the seed of all that exists. I am the foundation of all that exists. I am the root of existence. I am 'the core', because I contain all phenomena. I am 'the seed', because I give birth to everything. I am 'the cause', because all comes forth from me. I am 'the trunk', because the ramificationsof every event sprout from me. I am 'the foundation', because all abides in me. I am called 'the root', because I am everything [emphasis added]" (Translation of "The All-Creating King", published as The Supreme Source, tr. by Adriano Clemente and Andrew Lukianowicz, Snow Lion Publications, Ithaca, New York 1999, pp. 137-141, 157).