any buddha followers who practise Confucianism moral teaching does not make he/she a non-buddhist.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Personally I ask people to read non-Buddhist books as well.
For example, 'The Power of Now' by Eckhart Tolle is a very good book. Very inspirational, very well written, very transformative.
Some other books as well...
I don't see this as a problem.
p.s. I'm not saying they are the same as Buddhism, but they have very important pointers as well.
Nothing wrong to read non buddhist book. The problem with MJK teaching, he's saying that using those non-buddhist books as entry and foundation to Buddhism!
Originally posted by Zenist69:Nothing wrong to read non buddhist book. The problem with MJK teaching, he's saying that using those non-buddhist books as entry and foundation to Buddhism!
Why ! there is absolutely nothing wrong with that !
Must be you then, Zenist69. You are absolutely wrong.
Originally posted by WeeShun:sinweiy, How are you different from Yi Kwan Tao?
xin wei qiu fa is wai dao, so wai dao dian ji means what? So bible, Quran, Di Zi Gui and Tai Shang Gan Yin Pain is not "scriptures outside Buddhism"?
Do you also recite Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun to go to pureland?
namo amituofo
no comment on something i just see by it's cover/label.
it all depend on the mind interpretating the true Dharma. a word in bible, a 外行 see wai dao. 内行, see dharma.
Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun can go to pureland, if ur mind can detach from labeling. yes.
/\
Wow sinweiy, Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun can go pureland? Which master in our Pureland linegae did that? In which sutra did the Buddha taught that?
the wisest are those who admit ignorance and learn more from others....
religious obscurantism or arrogance only leads one to dogged mindedness....
open up my fellow truth seekers
Originally posted by Wiser:
Why ! there is absolutely nothing wrong with that !Must be you then, Zenist69. You are absolutely wrong.
Er, stay out of this if u are not a Buddhist. This is a Buddhist forum.
imo Confucianism moral teaching is the basic value we practise and to those non-buddhistit may be the entry and foundation to Buddhism
Originally posted by WeeShun:Wow sinweiy, Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun can go pureland? Which master in our Pureland linegae did that? In which sutra did the Buddha taught that?
Very Ignorant. Tai Shang Lao Jun can go another pureland of Tai Shang Lao Jun.
Tai Shang Lao Jun pureland can also be the pureland of Amituofo Buddha.
Who are you to say it is not ? You come from Amituofo Pureland ?
Originally posted by sinweiy:no comment on something i just see by it's cover/label.
it all depend on the mind interpretating the true Dharma. a word in bible, a 外行 see wai dao. 内行, see dharma.
Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun can go to pureland, if ur mind can detach from labeling. yes.
/\
Can go I go pureland chanting Namo Jesus Christ?
wiser, there is nothing wrong with Daoism and Confuciamist morales.
So what's wrong with the below:
Buddhist social moral: 5 percepts
Buddhist social code: 10 wholesome deeds
Buddhist layman guide: Singalovada Sutra
So wrong that we have to start embracing and bring in non buddhist texts?
Originally posted by Zenist69:Er, stay out of this if u are not a Buddhist. This is a Buddhist forum.
Er, Zenist69 learn from seniors. Learn and not be so discriminating that you think you know all . You are just zenist69, you are not Sakyamuni Buddha himself.
Originally posted by WeeShun:However, we need to make clear that respecting and honouring/ spreading them are different. When Venerable Jing Kung crossed the line to start preaching and spreading non buddhist stuffs, he is polluting Buddhism.
Namo Amituofo ~
pls. that's not true. it's just the two books been extracted. the rest what not, ritual, blind folk believes, he did no spread.
/\
Originally posted by WeeShun:wiser, there is nothing wrong with Daoism and Confuciamist morales.
So what's wrong with the below:
Buddhist social moral: 5 percepts
Buddhist social code: 10 wholesome deeds
Buddhist layman guide: Singalovada Sutra
So wrong that we have to start embracing and bring in non buddhist texts?
absolutely nothing wrong. It's you weeshun and zenist69 who are wrong.
See or not? so many are trying to wake both of you up .
the ontology of truth resides within an open mind...pluralism of religious learning enhances one's conviction....close mindedness hides fear of exposition
Originally posted by Zenist69:Can go I go pureland chanting Namo Jesus Christ?
Why must go to Amituofo pureland only leh ? You can go to Medicine Buddha pureland, you can also go to Guan Yin Buddha pureland.
If you chant Jesus Christ , you can go to Heaven pureland. Not bad also what.
why must you be so stubborn and discriminating leh?
Many buddhists are not even willing to go to pureland after they died, they want to return to meet Matreya Buddha under the tree for the final salvation.
Originally posted by Fcukpap:the wisest are those who admit ignorance and learn more from others....
religious obscurantism or arrogance only leads one to dogged mindedness....
open up my fellow truth seekers
Okay okay. I will go read those classic self help books such as 'Awaken the giant within' by Tony Robins, read greek philosophy work, Plato, read classic sci fiction such as Foundation series by Issac Asimov, maybe all those books will open up my mind and lead me to pureland too....
���路通罗马��
purelandzen,
Confucian and Taoist teachings have many similar points with buddhism but the problem has now evoled to existing buddhists mixing up buddhism and taoism and all religions and creating erronous views such as Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun can go pureland. Gosh, something new.
Using Taoism to preach to Taoists and using Taoism to preach to Buddhists is two different thing.
Originally posted by Zenist69:Can go I go pureland chanting Namo Jesus Christ?
mouth chant, mind and visualisation according to Amitabha sutra, Infinity Life sutra, Contemplation sutra mah. No need chant, mind think also can. that's what i mean. of cause u think and visual differently from Amitabha sutra, sure cannot la.
/\
Oh .. then i repost my question to sinwey, can reciting Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun go to Amitabha Buddha's pureland ..
wiser, let's see what's her answer.
Sinweiy, How are you different from Yi Kwan Tao ?
wiser, let's wait for sinweiy's revloutionary answer
Originally posted by Wiser:
Why must go to Amituofo pureland only leh ? You can go to Medicine Buddha pureland, you can also go to Guan Yin Buddha pureland.If you chant Jesus Christ , you can go to Heaven pureland. Not bad also what.
why must you be so stubborn and discriminating leh?
Many buddhists are not even willing to go to pureland after they died, they want to return to meet Matreya Buddha under the tree for the final salvation.
No. I am open to all kind of purelands. Just let me go any one of those pureland, I will really happy. As for heaven pureland, I dun noe whether there's such a place, or is it just a mirage.
Originally posted by WeeShun:Oh .. then i repost my question to sinwey, can reciting Namo Tai Shang Lao Jun go to Amitabha Buddha's pureland ..
wiser, let's see what's her answer.
Sinweiy, How are you different from Yi Kwan Tao ?
you two are so narrow minded and discriminating. You assume Taoism have no purelands? Learn more la.
There are even many buddhists who pray everyday not to go to Amituofo Buddha pureland after they died because they want to return to Samsara to help others, they want to meet Matreya Buddha for the final salvation.
By the way, why you two only know one pureland ah? Medicine buddha also got pureland and many medicine buddha buddhists vow to go there only leh. Same for Guan Yin followers.
Originally posted by Zenist69:Nothing wrong to read non buddhist book. The problem with MJK teaching, he's saying that using those non-buddhist books as entry and foundation to Buddhism!
as i translated, he said u can read if u have time. if we don't have time, as the hinayana sutra is too large. u can use the 2 books. there's a reason. for me, i no time.
Originally posted by Zenist69:No. I am open to all kind of purelands. Just let me go any one of those pureland, I will really happy. As for heaven pureland, I dun noe whether there's such a place, or is it just a mirage.
a mirage?!!! hahahahaha..........and you still dare to critize Monk Jing Kong.....
hahahahaha........
there are buddhists who enter the pureland during their meditation. No need to wait for death. Of course people keep quiet about it.
You want to find out whether pureland is a mirage or not, be a good person and meditate until your soul can leave your physical body while you are still alive.