å„’è·Ÿé�“æ˜¯ä½›çš„æ ¹
Did Buddha himself learn the other 2 religions before he set up buddhism ??
think we wrong MCK, i just found out that the idea of using Daoism book was not from MCK, it was originally from 13th Pureland Patriarch Yin Guang. during then people also don't like it.
extracted:-
In the early part of the nineteenth century, Master Yin-Guang dedicated himself to advocating teaching on the Law of Cause and Effect. When Master Yin-Guang was at Pu-tuo Mountain, the citizens of Ding-Hai County invited him to give Dharma talks there. Due to his very heavy native accent, Master Yin-Guang sent another Dharma master in his place to give the lecture. What sutra was lectured on? The Guidance to Hidden Merits of Wen-Chang Di Jun. It is surprising that the material chosen was a Taoist text rather than a Buddhist sutra. Throughout Master Yin-Guang's life, he especially advocated Liao-Fan's Four Lessons and the Treatise on Response and Retribution. Both during his lifetime and after, he was often criticized for doing so. But these were only viewpoints of ordinary people.
Every word and every passage in the Treatise on Response and Retribution and the Guidance to the Hidden Merits explains the Five Fundamental Precepts and the Ten Good Conducts. The Five Precepts and the Ten Good Conducts are the foundation in Buddhism (and in almost every religion and faith system). If we do not abide by them, then we are on a deviated path. No matter which method we practice, whether we are a novice, an Arhat or a Bodhisattva, if we do not abide by these, then we are on a deviated path. Then how can this be called Buddhism?
The Treatise on Response and Retribution and the Guidance to Hidden Merits are good reference materials, which provide a complete and practical explanation of the Five Precepts and the Ten Good Conducts. Master Yin-Guang understood that in our time, this world would face major chaos and disasters. There is only one way for us to avoid these disasters. It is to help every sentient being become awakened, to refrain from wrongdoing and practice good deeds. In this way, even if the disasters cannot be totally eliminated, their frequency and severity can be reduced. This can be done.
Compilation of Response and Retribution, the Complete Book of Mr. Chou and Liao-Fan's Four Lessons. Master Yin-Guang used these three books to help us make up for our deficiencies in abiding by the precepts.
http://www.amtb.cn/e-bud/e-bud.htm
so, MCK is good student from Li Bi Nan who's a good student of Master Yin-Guang. Li Bi Nan told MCK to follow Master Yin-Guang's foot step when he pass away.
Master Yin-Guang is 大勢至Mahasthamaprapta Bodhisattva.
ps: no selective hearing/reading huh...
/\
Originally posted by pureland_zen:佛也会��....
hmm..
got one person got say this before...;)
Here we go again.
Yin Guang didn't advocate Liao Fan or other non buddhist text, as prerequiste to Buddhism, did he? Thats the difference between Master Yin Guan and MJK.
Like I said, if people show interest in Buddhism, why recommend them to read Di Zi Gui instead? Why not go straight to Buddhism? Thats the problem with MJK sect.
Wanna have interfaith knowledge, so as to engage, debate with people from other faith, and convert them? Sure. But doesn't have to go to the extend setting Di Zi Gui and other non Buddhist book as entry and Buddhism to foundation. Di Zi Gui and Tai Shang Gan Yin Pian could be use as supplementary, interfaith reading material at the intermediate level or advance level. After one has a grasp on the foundation of Buddhism.
而且,现在与å�°å…‰å¤§å¸ˆå½“时时光背景是ä¸�ä¸€æ ·çš„ã€‚å½“æ—¶äº²è¿‘ä¸Žä¿¡ä»°ä½›æ³•çš„äººä¸�多。现在信仰佛法的人比起当时(1910-1930?)æ�¥å¾—多很多。
Originally posted by sghappy:å„’è·Ÿé�“æ˜¯ä½›çš„æ ¹
Did Buddha himself learn the other 2 religions before he set up buddhism ??
imho, 我ä¸�认为佛陀赞å�Œä½›å¼Ÿå�走他以å‰�走的路。就是修东修西,修苦行,修这修那,绕了个大圈æ‰�修佛法。ä¸�è¦�亲信别人的è¯�,自己作独立判æ–,或问法师。
AMTF
Originally posted by Zenist69:imho, 我ä¸�认为佛陀赞å�Œä½›å¼Ÿå�走他以å‰�走的路。就是修东修西,修苦行,修这修那,绕了个大圈æ‰�修佛法。ä¸�è¦�亲信别人的è¯�,自己作独立判æ–,或问法师。
AMTF
ä¸�è¦�亲信别人的è¯�,自己作独立判æ–,或问法师。
Absolutely right this time,Zenist69 .
If you want to know what's good of Di Zi Gui and Daoism that even Monk JK recommend to study , find out yourself or ask Monk JK himself.
Today's Sunday Times report on "Tiger Mum". One of the mum said she taught her kids Di Zi Gui. Let's put aside the debate of whether is Di Zi Gui appropriate as the entry to Buddhism. I think if many people can find something in common with Buddhism, isn't more people will get interested in Buddhism and slowly they will get to know the real essence of Buddhism. That is not bad afterall, isn't it ?
I think Jing Kong shi fu is Amitabha Buddha emanation.
I believe he is saddened by the degenerating of morals in human realm in modern days.
So he promote Di Zi Gui.
Zentist69 - Your worries and concerns are valid and good but still we have to respect a Buddha emanation. We still are not good enough to judge or comment on a Buddha.
Some religious disciples only idolised God as their father, some scholars only recognised paper qualification as their father....some buddhists only recognised Buddha as their father....so Di Zhi Gui is to reflect upon reality, in according with 梵网� as well
�自《梵网�》上说:
“一切男å�是我父,一切女人是我æ¯�ã€‚æˆ‘ç”Ÿç”Ÿæ— ä¸�从之å�—生,故å…é�“众生皆是我父æ¯�。”
注æ„�å�Žé�¢é‚£å�¥“æˆ‘ç”Ÿç”Ÿæ— ä¸�从之å�—生,故å…é�“众生皆是我父æ¯�”,
这里必须è¦�è¯´åˆ°è½®å›žï¼Œå› ä¸ºæ¯�一生我们都有父æ¯�,ç»�è¿‡æ— é‡�æ— è¾¹çš„è½®å›žï¼Œå¾ˆéš¾æ‰¾ä¸�到没有当过自己父æ¯�的人
所以众生实际真的是过去父�,而�仅仅是观想啊�
并ä¸�是ä¸å�Žç‰¹æœ‰å�的风范
说佛ç»�çš„å�é�“æ€�想 æº�于 佛教的本土化是 æž�åº¦çš„æ— çŸ¥ã€‚
所以佛ç»�ä¸æœ¬æ�¥å°±æœ‰å¤§é‡�内容æ��倡å�é�“。
Originally posted by Dawnfirstlight:Today's Sunday Times report on "Tiger Mum". One of the mum said she taught her kids Di Zi Gui. Let's put aside the debate of whether is Di Zi Gui appropriate as the entry to Buddhism. I think if many people can find something in common with Buddhism, isn't more people will get interested in Buddhism and slowly they will get to know the real essence of Buddhism. That is not bad afterall, isn't it ?
There might be something common between Di Zi Gui and Buddhism. But I find some Di Zi Gui value got some problem in it. For example. One of the first few lines in Di Zi Gui, had said that one should obey one's parents order. I dun think thats right advice. Parents do made mistake. And if parents made wrong decision, why follow? The safest way, to happiness in life, is to follow the 三�. Use Buddha teaching as guidance. Anything else is not reliable.
So why recommend Di Zi Gui which its values got some problem in it??
Originally posted by Wiser:ä¸�è¦�亲信别人的è¯�,自己作独立判æ–,或问法师。
Absolutely right this time,Zenist69 .If you want to know what's good of Di Zi Gui and Daoism that even Monk JK recommend to study , find out yourself or ask Monk JK himself.
I had my conclusion for now. I dun find MJK teaching reliable after reading those criticisms on his teachings from some websites.
As for study Daoism and Confucianism as entry and foundation to Buddhism, I dun think thats the right way to go. Should just study Buddhism right away. Buddhism teaches one how to be a upright person and more. No need to first go study Daoism Confucianism in order to learn how to be a good person, upright person, good human being.
Originally posted by sghappy:I think Jing Kong shi fu is Amitabha Buddha emanation.
I believe he is saddened by the degenerating of morals in human realm in modern days.
So he promote Di Zi Gui.
Zentist69 - Your worries and concerns are valid and good but still we have to respect a Buddha emanation. We still are not good enough to judge or comment on a Buddha.
okay, i will leave this to the professional to decide on whether MJK phenomenon is good or bad for Buddhism in Singapore. I am just a newbie Buddhist. I am not a pro.
Originally posted by Zenist69:There might be something common between Di Zi Gui and Buddhism. But I find some Di Zi Gui value got some problem in it. For example. One of the first few lines in Di Zi Gui, had said that one should obey one's parents order. I dun think thats right advice. Parents do made mistake. And if parents made wrong decision, why follow? The safest way, to happiness in life, is to follow the 三�. Use Buddha teaching as guidance. Anything else is not reliable.
So why recommend Di Zi Gui which its values got some problem in it??
I agree with you because I have a friend whose parents are gamblers and even criticised my friend for being a Buddhist and a vegetarian at young age. This is something which worth thinking through. You have a point.
Originally posted by Dawnfirstlight:I agree with you because I have a friend whose parents are gamblers and even criticised my friend for being a Buddhist and a vegetarian at young age. This is something which worth thinking through. You have a point.
consider this
human life is deem to be ideal for practice because the 3 poisons as well as all 6 realms can be experienced in this human form.
then every individual has different conditions surrounding this life which may or may not be conducive for practice.
the question then is this:
are adversities more conducive for practice? or a smooth sailing life with a silver spoon?
such events in life stem from karma and are needed to be present so that they can be worked with, so in a way can we also regard such conditions as necessary for our practice?
food for thought
true, i think it's the problem of moral degeneration and modernisation and western/民主 thinking..... last time, no, as moral level very high, now yes. parents themselves are not taught well by their parent, so are the parents' parent for sometime already.
for this rule, i think now we can discern for ourselves when we are mature enough. yea, it also depend on one's maturity. for teenage and below, their power of discernment i think are also still not ready yet. like the recent gang fighting/killing case. so we have both side of the story. best is up the moral level of society altogether.
/\
Didn't Buddha also teach one to regard our parents like Bodhisattva? So if your parents are gamblers, you are going to regard them as gamblers' bodhisattva? The Bodhisattva of gambling ?
If you are mature to think, you can read the deeper meanings of filial piety in both di zi gui and Buddha dharma.
Originally posted by Wiser:Didn't Buddha also teach one to regard our parents like Bodhisattva? So if your parents are gamblers, you are going to regard them as gamblers' bodhisattva? The Bodhisattva of gambling ?
If you are mature to think, you can read the deeper meanings of filial piety in both di zi gui and Buddha dharma.
Parents luv to gamble, order kids to give them money to gamble, and also drive them parents to gambling house. So kids must give them parents money, and drive them to gambling house, make sure parents gamble until damn shiok then drive parents back home?
Di Zi Gui should add something like that, if parents order is not right, then one shouldn't obey it. Else, this one liner 'Parents order, must execute it asap' is problematic already.
Please lah guys. If u are a Buddhist, dun get so hung up on Di Zi Gui.
without the sperm of your father and the egg of your mother, you won't be here in your physical body to cultivate and be reborn to Buddhaland. That's why we should be grateful because our parents give us LIFE . The breath to breathe and do meditation.
Our parents' blood give us our blood, their breathe give us our breathe . Learn this in one of the tibetan's dharma.
慧律法师开示
大修行人��众生过
大居士��说僧过
Originally posted by Hun7qing77:慧律法师开示
大修行人��众生过
大居士��说僧过
I agree with what you said to a certain extent but I always wonder if no one point out their faults, how are they going to correct and will they make things or Buddhism worse by continuing with their wrongful act ? Of course, I'm nobody to point out their faults, I mean those who are qualified, can't they point out 众生过and 僧过?