Supernatural : adj : not existing in nature or subject to explanation according to natural laws; not physical or material;Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Oh yes - can you explain what you meant by "supernatural force controlling destiny"?
Sentient beings never escape the law of Karma. Every cause will have its effect, it is like a universal balance. Destiny of human is not controlled by something else, other than your mind (and thus leading to speech and actions).
Extract from The Matrix...
Morpheus: Do you believe in fate, Neo?
Neo: No.
Morpheus: Why not?
Neo: Because I don't like the idea that I'm not in control of my life.
Oracle: You'll remember you don't believe in any of this fate crap. You're in control of your own life, remember?
Of course, there are lots of people, even many sceptical buddhists, who couldn't accept rebirth. I personally have seen many examples and happenings, some of which i would rather not speak here. There are even monks from a monastery in Japan who went to Taiwan to look for one of my dharma teacher... because they have seen that he was their master in prv life in the monastery. In fact they even had a picture of his previous life, and it looked almost alike. Of course, my Buddhist sect isn't Tibetan or Lama-style, where the same person, or someone else, will take over his role to continue the lineage. So, he rejected the offer to go back to Japan.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I do believe that the level of state of mind will result in bringing you to the real place. However, you will be surprised, that some Buddhists, especially those in the U.S which are real sceptics, do not really believe in Rebirth. I'm sure however, one day, they will come to the conclusion that rebirth is true...
Not only is rebirth true, many people going for deep meditation retreats come back with certain memories of the previous life. So more are monks and masters, who constantly cultivate, I'm sure many of them have memories of previous life too. Or... there are some kinda hypothesis that could bring memories from past life back to you... and those experiences are compiled into a book, but I can't remember which book it was. Also, we bring along from the past life, deep habitual thoughts... influencing the way we life now.
Interestingly, you all can read about this website... a list of very insteresting accounts of children who could remember their past life. http://www.childpastlives.org/
http://science.krishna.org/Articles/2002/10/025.html - Forensic Evidence of Reincarnation
http://www.near-death.com/experiences/reincarnation01.html - Dr Ian Stevensons, Reincarnation Research
http://www.quangduc.com/English/science/15buddhismscience.html -
Reincarnation is Now a Scientifically Acceptable Phenomenon
When someone is about to die, monks will always tell the person to calm down, and will say dharmas on impermanence and liberate them from their attachments, so that the person can die peacefully without sufferings. Why is this so? Because an unfocused, confused mind, will have all sorts of wandering thoughts appearing... these wandering thoughts will be influencing their rebirth. The Mind comes first.
Chanting "Namo Amitabha" has the same effect. When we chant "Namo Amitabha", and have faith in him, we do not pursue our worldly belongings, but set our targets to a much more wonderful Pure Land. This is how someone attains peace of mind through the Pure Land method..
Not only the dying one becomes much more peaceful, we also become much more peaceful. We wholeheartedly chant "Namo Amitabha", focused, so that wandering thoughts may not arise to bring one to Samsara. It also works the same way in life, and through the practice of chanting, one attains Samadhi*. But Samadhi is not ultimate, enlightenment is.
Oh yes... from the 31 existences, the top 8 existences are "Jhanic heavens", 4 in the formless state, 4 in the form state. What are Jhanas? Jhana is sort of like a mind state... Sorry I'm very bad at explaining this. Jhanas can be developed through meditation practices, there are 8 Jhanas altogether, and each jhana can result in one to reborn in differing jhanic heavens. But of course most people attain Jhanas not because of the future lives... in the Theravadin tradition, they practice Samantha meditation to achieve the Jhanas and from the 4th Jhana, achieve Arhatship (sainthood), Nirvana.
Buddha, before attaining enlightenment under the Bodhi Tree, searched with effort for different practices, hoping that one of them could bring him his enlightenment. However, none of them could. The greatest, and the second greatest spiritual teacher, died before the enlightened Buddha could teach them any of the dharmas he realised. His greatest teacher attained rebirth in the realm of the 8th jhana, neither perception nor non-perception, while the second greatest teacher have already been reborned in the 7th Jhanic heaven. Note, these places are not like anything we could imagine, it exists probably only as a consciousness and a mind state, but there is no forms whatsoever. So from this story, we know that the mind leads one to be reborned, we know that Jhana is still not the ultimate. Nirvana is the ultimate...
Lastly, I agree this statement from a friend, who probably quoted from somewhere else but I do not know the source.
"Buddhism is not a religion even though it addresses issues like afterlife and reincarnation. There is no strong recognition in any spiritual beliefs. Buddhism can be regarded as a form of lifestyle or teaching."
* Samadhi: Concentrated, one-pointedly; gradually calmed until only the object is known
i think i know wat religion it is....the religion has a big 'religious building' dat is wellknown in SEA in Jurong Area...dio boh ?Originally posted by FireIce:alotta ppl misunderstood buddhism
this one i can understand lah......
cos when filling out forms, under the field, buddhism is one of the choices.....so many ppl jus take it as it's a religion......
but i almost laff my guts out when someone told me Confucianism is a religion
so i make use of this chance to say.....
Confucianism is a philosophy lah bodoh!!!
btw, that "someone" is from a certain religion......
while trying to "convert" me, he started to speak ill of his so-called "other religions"....attempting to compare.....
after he said a few sentences, i realised he did not do his homework properly or he is being brainwashed with the twisted concepts.....
sibeh ho cheo sia.....
paiseh, i think shd be......sibeh sia suay!!!
What then is rebirth?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:BTW, when Buddhism speaks of rebirth, we do not speak of the "self" getting reincarnated like in Hinduism.
This is a good read.
For reincarnation, there are a lot of scientific proof out there concluded by scientist. There is a movie about reincarnation coming soon. I think the actress is Nicole Kidman and the title is Birth or something.Originally posted by Qitai:I would rather believe that thoughts travels,stays in the environment and can be transmitted unknowningly. Hence, the possible explanation of some recounts of past lives.
The other possibility is of course lies.
Haha! Just like me. Until I saw it with my own eyes.Originally posted by Qitai:Me an agnostic with thinking closest to Buddhism. Doubts any supernatural stuff and prefers to believe it can be explained, even if explained in a way beyond current scientific knowledge. I can believe in the concept of thought waves, in the concept of meditation improving ones mental power, control of body to withstand extreme temperatures etc.
But does not believe rebirth, god, spirits, etc.
Okay, post some for me to see when you get it. Until then . . . . . . .Originally posted by Origami:Haha! Just like me. Until I saw it with my own eyes.
Last year was the 1st time I went for animal liberation. That time somebody told me that ALWAYS after dedication of prayers, there will be either a small shower or rainbow. I just smiled. He said that the devas and bodhisattvas were rejoicing over the acts of merit.
Since then till now, I've gone for almost 20 liberations. And EVERYTIME there is a shower or rainbow.
This year during Vesak day, on the very last day of celebration, there was a big prayer session and dedication to everyone. It was an extremely hot afternoon. I'm not joking. I turned around and asked my friend if he thought it would rain. He said impossible. In my heart I was wondering too. The weather was too hot and sunny, no clouds in the sky. Then as the prayers started, wind started blowing and it poured very heavily. And when the prayers ended, it stopped.
I'm a person who relies on logic and reasoning. I do not believe things as they are or what people say until I see it with my own eyes.
I hope that you have the chance to see what I saw. I'll be going to India end of this year to hope to attend HH Dalai Lama's teachings. Maybe I'll take some pics and maybe we'll see some intersting stuff. It's not uncommon to see things coming up in the pics. I don't believe any of those not taken by me.
Everything can be explained in the view of the Buddha, miracles are only miracles to us unenlightened illusioned beings. There are no miracles in the eyes of a Buddha.Originally posted by Qitai:Me an agnostic with thinking closest to Buddhism. Doubts any supernatural stuff and prefers to believe it can be explained, even if explained in a way beyond current scientific knowledge. I can believe in the concept of thought waves, in the concept of meditation improving ones mental power, control of body to withstand extreme temperatures etc.
But does not believe rebirth, god, spirits, etc.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:If this is the explanation, then I can believe this (since I mention I can believe in thought waves). However, this does also means that the conscience of self do not exist in the new form and hence is not really me. Of course, then the other article would talk about what is self and identity. But for me, since it has no recollection of the past, it is not me. And hence is not something I should worry about.
Read the article here, to understand what is Rebirth (in contrast to reincarnation): http://www.mountainman.com.au/buddha/carus_53.htm
Rebirth: http://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/qanda05.htm
[b]Question:
How does the mind go from one body to another?
Answer:
Think of it being like radio waves. The radio waves, which are not made up of words and music but energy at different frequencies, are transmitted, travel through space, are attracted to and picked up by the receiver from where they are broadcast as words and music. It is the same with the mind. At death, mental energy travels through space, is attracted to and picked up by the fertilized egg. As the embryo grows, it centers itself in the brain from where it later "broadcasts" itself as the new personality.[/b]
extract from... "THE PERSISTENCE OF PROPHECY, THE REBIRTH OF ORACLES: A CELEBRATION OF THE END OF TIME"Originally posted by Origami:Haha! Just like me. Until I saw it with my own eyes.
Last year was the 1st time I went for animal liberation. That time somebody told me that ALWAYS after dedication of prayers, there will be either a small shower or rainbow. I just smiled. He said that the devas and bodhisattvas were rejoicing over the acts of merit.
Since then till now, I've gone for almost 20 liberations. And EVERYTIME there is a shower or rainbow.
This year during Vesak day, on the very last day of celebration, there was a big prayer session and dedication to everyone. It was an extremely hot afternoon. I'm not joking. I turned around and asked my friend if he thought it would rain. He said impossible. In my heart I was wondering too. The weather was too hot and sunny, no clouds in the sky. Then as the prayers started, wind started blowing and it poured very heavily. And when the prayers ended, it stopped.
I'm a person who relies on logic and reasoning. I do not believe things as they are or what people say until I see it with my own eyes.
I hope that you have the chance to see what I saw. I'll be going to India end of this year to hope to attend HH Dalai Lama's teachings. Maybe I'll take some pics and maybe we'll see some intersting stuff. It's not uncommon to see things coming up in the pics. I don't believe any of those not taken by me.
"There is rebirth of character,Originally posted by Qitai:If this is the explanation, then I can believe this (since I mention I can believe in thought waves). However, this does also means that the conscience of self do not exist in the new form and hence is not really me. Of course, then the other article would talk about what is self and identity. But for me, since it has no recollection of the past, it is not me. And hence is not something I should worry about.
If you knew you were to get amnesia later, won't you now do something to make the later you with amnesia live a more comfy life?Originally posted by Qitai:If this is the explanation, then I can believe this (since I mention I can believe in thought waves). However, this does also means that the conscience of self do not exist in the new form and hence is not really me. Of course, then the other article would talk about what is self and identity. But for me, since it has no recollection of the past, it is not me. And hence is not something I should worry about.