Hmmm to train up stamina, have to start from short dist w/ timing lor.Originally posted by monkeybusiness:wat's the best way to train up stamina?
currently, everytime i run, i do 7 rounds slow run...planning to increase the speed soon...
According to the IPPT training which SAF gives out, yes.Originally posted by wuming78:that is what i am doing lor, of course with rest in between each round. but is that good enuff?
hm.. u mean rest in between each sprint/jog, meaning sprint 100m within 22s, rest for 22s, then sprint 200 m within 44s, rest for 44s, and so on, for 3 sets?Originally posted by deathscythe99:According to the IPPT training which SAF gives out, yes.
What my unit did during IPPT trainings were alternating the interval trainings and speed/fartlek trainings.
Fartlek trainings consist of 100m,200m,300m,400m sprints/jog within a given time (count proportionally using 1:30 for 400m as guide ) and then the same amt of time as rest. U do that for around 3 sets, so it's 100>200>300>400>100>200>300>400> and so on
Interval is, as we all know, running for 100m, do some funny things, then continue
Yes. Just jog on the spot. That's fartlek.Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. u mean rest in between each sprint/jog, meaning sprint 100m within 22s, rest for 22s, then sprint 200 m within 44s, rest for 44s, and so on, for 3 sets?
btw wat is fartlek trg??
hm.. does fartlek mean anything? i mean why is this trg so special that it has a name of its own?Originally posted by deathscythe99:Yes. Just jog on the spot. That's fartlek.
Another type would be to sprint 100, jog 100, sprint 200, jog 200 and so on
for me...Originally posted by wuming78:err.. i not trying to achieve 1.5 mins for all 6 rounds, which would total up to be 9 mins. i would be glad if i can achieve 9:30 mins.
run everyday..Originally posted by monkeybusiness:wat's the best way to train up stamina?
currently, everytime i run, i do 7 rounds slow run...planning to increase the speed soon...
isit..Originally posted by deathscythe99:Hmmm to train up stamina, have to start from short dist w/ timing lor.
....Originally posted by SGpork:for me...
below 10 .. im content..
cos im doing 13 mins +++ now
wow. nice! did u write all these urself?Originally posted by kops21:Fartlek is a form of road running or cross country running in which the runner, usually solo, varies the pace significantly during the run. It is usually regarded as an advanced training technique, for the experienced runner who has been using interval training to develop speed and to raise the anaerobic threshold. However, the 'average' runner can also benefit from a simplified form of Fartlek training, to develop self-awareness and to introduce variety into the training program.
For the advanced runner, the aim in Fartlek can be best decribed by relating it to interval training. The purpose of interval training is to develop speed by running for short distances at a speed significantly higher than the normal strong race pace, with these short runs separated by intervals of easy running or jogging. Intervals are normally run over predetermined distances, and usually on the track.
Fartlek is similar to interval training in that short fast runs alternate with slow running or jogging recovery intervals. However, in Fartlek the running is done on the road or on parkland or bush tracks. There is no predetermined schedule to follow, but instead the athlete will set her/his own interval lengths and pace in response to their own feeling of the workload. An advantage of Fartlek is that the athlete can concentrate on feeling the pace and their physical response to it, thereby developing self awareness and pace judgement skills. Also the athlete is free to experiment with pace and endurance, and to experience changes of pace.
It is primarily a technique for advanced runners because it requires 'honesty' to put in a demanding workload, and also 'maturity' to not overdo the pace or length of the intervals. With these qualities, Fartlek makes for an excellent component of a distance runners training programme.
A 'mild' form of Fartlek can also be of benefit for the 'average runner'. Here I am thinking of the road runner who normally trains over a variety of distance, at a fairly constant pace, and who may have done no or little specific speed training.
The technique here is to introduce into your normal runs some short periods of slightly higher pace. Maintain these for a short period, say 200-400m (aim for a bend in the road, power pole or some other landmark up ahead). Then drop your pace back below your normal running pace, or slow to a jog, until you have fully recovered and your breathing has returned to normal. Then return to running at your normal pace, and put in another slightly fast interval later in the run. In this way you are putting a slight extra stress on your system which will, in time, lead to an improvement in your speed and in your anaerobic threshold.
You can use this approach to develop more self-awareness, by concentrating on what you are feeling while running at the different paces. How fast a pace can you attain before your regular, easy breathing begins to be laboured? After slowing down, how long before your breathing & other responses return to normal? What happens to your stride length as you increase speed?
different ppl have different way of looking at Farlek.Originally posted by wuming78:wow. nice! did u write all these urself?
glad that the discuss here are useful for you. Kind contributions from various folks which, i hope, will benefit those that might/take up jogging as part of their exercise to keep fit and be part of their lifestyle.Originally posted by l0st-s0ul:wow didnt realise this forum had so much info about jogging. juz nice that i am currently training for my 2.4 too. thanks for all the useful info kops21.
btw do u jog regularly at bedok reservior? i am staying quite near that area and it would be great if we could jog together and i hope to get some tips from u.
thanks for the warm welcome. wah u guys damn fit sia 1 time chiong 2 rounds liao. damn zhai man. if i run with u all i think u all 2 rounds = i 1 run. maybe i should train with SGPork.Originally posted by kops21:glad that the discuss here are useful for you. Kind contributions from various folks which, i hope, will benefit those that might/take up jogging as part of their exercise to keep fit and be part of their lifestyle.
I do jog at bedok reservior occassionally. If i do, most probably will be on saturday afternoon. Normally i will go for 2 loops of the reservior. There are other folks here that runs at Bedok Reservior which you might jio to run together too.
Occassionally i do organise jogging get together at Macritchie Reservior or some other locations(includes public runs), do check back for any updates from time to time.
Ur soul is not lost. Welcome to Lao Di Fang. You'll Never Walk Alone
have seem so many shoe threads around. having another one, cant see much benefit from there. Maybe a thread on apparels could be useful with discussion on shoe, sock, cap, clothes, gear etc.Originally posted by wuming78:i think a great inclusion to this topic would be the choice of shoes, although probably not in this thread since it is already like 10 odd pages long.
if you train often, finishing 2 rounds or more should not be a problem.Originally posted by l0st-s0ul:thanks for the warm welcome. wah u guys damn fit sia 1 time chiong 2 rounds liao. damn zhai man. if i run with u all i think u all 2 rounds = i 1 run. maybe i should train with SGPork.
i would love to, but alas, i know nuts about running shoes and wears to be able to post anything meaningful.Originally posted by kops21:have seem so many shoe threads around. having another one, cant see much benefit from there. Maybe a thread on apparels could be useful with discussion on shoe, sock, cap, clothes, gear etc.
Since you mention, can you do the honor of starting the thread
alamak, wuming starting a thread leh...sure have all sort of pugilist folks come and support.Originally posted by wuming78:i would love to, but alas, i know nuts about running shoes and wears to be able to post anything meaningful.
Agree!Originally posted by kops21:alamak, wuming starting a thread leh...sure have all sort of pugilist folks come and support.
Originally posted by wuming78:i would love to, but alas, i know nuts about running shoes and wears to be able to post anything meaningful.