Maybe u drank too much water or ate too much b4 running?Originally posted by s|nNeD:just a query...
i'm not a very hardcore jogger... never really liked jogging anyway...
but i've started to jog recently... to build up my cardio...
anyway... what i want to ask is...
how to prevent stich huh...
issit gotta do with the breathing method?
Hmmmm....Originally posted by deathscythe99:Maybe u drank too much water or ate too much b4 running?
most probably not. Going for a run now.Originally posted by deathscythe99:ORD le
Eh...kops, running tml?
i used to drink..1 litre water before the run...Originally posted by deathscythe99:Maybe u drank too much water or ate too much b4 running?
oh..last time when i...jog always kanna 1(cos long long jog 1 time)..but now i jog more often...dont have already..Originally posted by s|nNeD:mine is jog halfway then suddenly it just hits u loh..
then gotta press on the stich part hard to numb the pain... then like very handicapped to be running with hands on waist...
hahaha
The StitchOriginally posted by s|nNeD:just a query...
i'm not a very hardcore jogger... never really liked jogging anyway...
but i've started to jog recently... to build up my cardio...
anyway... what i want to ask is...
how to prevent stich huh...
issit gotta do with the breathing method?
u will slip and fell down.Originally posted by Mospeada:If you run like this.....u will never get hurt liao
Originally posted by kops21:Thanks Kops
[b]The Stitch
Description:
We've all had this one, a sudden sharp pain in the side of the upper abdomen at the base of the ribs. The side stitch typically strikes when you're really pushing yourself and fades quickly when you slow down or stop. The stitch is particularly common for new runners still adjusting to the rigors of running.
Likely causes:
The pain is caused by a spasm of the diaphragm, the muscle that controls your breathing. There are a number of possible reasons for this. If your breathing isn't controlled and disciplined, the diaphragm may be complaining. If you are running too soon after eating, your heavy stomach may literally be tugging at the ligaments connected to the diaphragm. Or you may simply be running too fast for your body's breathing machinery to keep up.
Remedy:
A stitch will usually go away quickly after just slowing down or stopping. If you're in a race or you just don't want to stop, however, you can often make it go away by bringing your breathing into careful control. Concentrate on belly breathing, pushing your belly out when you breathe in and relaxing it as you breathe out. Take deep breaths on the intake, and exhale suddenly, even noisily. To get the diaphragm to contract in rhythm with your steps, try to inhale and exhale as you land on your left foot. Strange but true, this can help prevent spasms by encouraging the diaphragm to bounce along in sync with your stride.
If the pain is just too much and you have to stop, try bending over and raising your knee on the stitch side while pressing your fingers deep into the painful area and tightening your stomach muscles. Or just walk while belly breathing. [/b]
next time we bring full suit and jog.Originally posted by s|nNeD:Thanks Kops
wah...Originally posted by kops21:next time we bring full suit and jog.
i suppose he meant wetsuit...Originally posted by SGpork:what u mean full suit ...
oic...Originally posted by s|nNeD:i suppose he meant wetsuit...
Originally posted by SGpork:oic...
so...more heavy ?
but what kinda shirt n pants?
gotta be overall..then heavier
where are the gears?Originally posted by s|nNeD:
those that they are wearing are wetsuits...
for diving
sometimes when I run, I also dun feel that good...dunno why....guess must be the 'feeling' to run lorOriginally posted by wuming78:went for my jog at pasir ris park this evening, as with every sunday evening.
but there was a difference. when i started jogging, i felt stuffiness in my chest, and my breathing wasnt smooth, and i couldnt take deep breaths easily. i thought it would go away as i jog further, but it didnt! so obviously my jog became much more strenuous and tedious.
any diagnosis to offer? btw, i jog/run almost everyday, and have been doing so for quite some time. so i am quite confident i have achieved a certain level of fitness. but didnt jog yesterday.
thanks!
is it because u didnt sleep well for the past 1-2 days?Originally posted by wuming78:went for my jog at pasir ris park this evening, as with every sunday evening.
but there was a difference. when i started jogging, i felt stuffiness in my chest, and my breathing wasnt smooth, and i couldnt take deep breaths easily. i thought it would go away as i jog further, but it didnt! so obviously my jog became much more strenuous and tedious.
any diagnosis to offer? btw, i jog/run almost everyday, and have been doing so for quite some time. so i am quite confident i have achieved a certain level of fitness. but didnt jog yesterday.
thanks!
shouldnt be - i dont usually have enuff sleep, but i still can run ok most of the time! and there wasnt much haze today leh...Originally posted by thoreldan:is it because u didnt sleep well for the past 1-2 days?
or is it due to haziness?
might be the 'feeling' deathscythe99 mentioned...Originally posted by wuming78:shouldnt be - i dont usually have enuff sleep, but i still can run ok most of the time! and there wasnt much haze today leh...
i want to find out the cause, cos there may be times when my performance matters, and i do not want such things to happen at those times!
Is this the first time you are feeling this? Or you occassionally feel this way?Originally posted by wuming78:went for my jog at pasir ris park this evening, as with every sunday evening.
thanks!
Originally posted by kops21:After yesterday evening 1.5km swim, followed by 6-7km run, my kneecap sore again.
someone must hide my running shoes, to stop me from running.
No ice in the office.Originally posted by deathscythe99:
Go ice it
Think I might. MacRitchie?Originally posted by kops21:No ice in the office.
saturday coming?