...Originally posted by kops21:Yes, similiar to last year. This year end at Padang instead of Esplande under the Esplande bridge.
Last year alot of complains that the distance is short, this year distance increase abit(about 300 metres). Dont know whether it is sufficient long enough to make the 21km mark. Anyway, wait for the folks(old bird) comment after the run, we shall know...
Originally posted by k4korny:2 More days!!
a bit tired??? i vomited twice after the run... presumably from drinking too much waterOriginally posted by kops21:I'm back from the run...now abit tired, but still feeling ok.
Ok...from now onwards, it is going to be real training to prepare for SCSM.
Or from too much gatorade.Originally posted by hmsg:a bit tired??? i vomited twice after the run... presumably from drinking too much water
drinking too much water.... hope you are feeling well now.Originally posted by hmsg:a bit tired??? i vomited twice after the run... presumably from drinking too much water
if you are doing the Full Marathon at the end of this year, i suggest you use proper knee guard...not those "disposable" knee guard. Although i am not using any knee guard now, but next week onwards, all LSD will be using knee guard.Originally posted by k4korny:Or from too much gatorade.
Kops, thanks for reminding. got those cheap "disposable" knee guard from ValuDollar.. wah, can't imagine how i would i dragged myself thru the 21k if i hadn't got them.
For me, it's rest and recover for the next month or so. then, next up: SCSM!
....abit clamp and slow pace(traffic jam), nevertheless a good run for 6k route.Originally posted by duotiga83:i went for the 6.9km run...
u dont have enough mileage or short of distance for your distance that is why ur kneecap or body hurts after the run(worst if during the run).Originally posted by wuming78:i presume SCSM refers to the stanchart std marathon?
3/4 though today's half marathon, my knees and ankles began to feel stiffness and pain liao... and its not only the kneecap, but also the tendon(or ligament) behind the kneecap at the outer edge of our legs. had to slow down cos of them. had thought be hitting below 2 hrs but couldnt.
and for that, i really cannot imagine doing 42 km, when the weather is going to be hotter, and the distance twice!
are the pains normal? btw, before today, the furthest i have run was 10km - the mizuno and new balance runs. was it cos of lack of proper preparation that i had the pains? how to alleviate them?
yar lor..esp the 1st 2km..... somemore i suppose to run 21km but i didi not train much so dont take the risk.....Originally posted by kops21:....abit clamp and slow pace(traffic jam), nevertheless a good run for 6k route.
aiyah, you should do at least 12km mah...more thing to seeOriginally posted by duotiga83:yar lor..esp the 1st 2km..... somemore i suppose to run 21km but i didi not train much so dont take the risk.....
leg and back cannot take it leh...i admit got lots of things to see..... this yr is my 1st and last marathon....Originally posted by kops21:aiyah, you should do at least 12km mah...more thing to see
u training for 21km, surely can take 12km....Originally posted by duotiga83:leg and back cannot take it leh...i admit got lots of things to see..... this yr is my 1st and last marathon....
i have been excuse running for quite a while... by the time excuse expires left 1mth...so training 2km each time....Originally posted by kops21:u training for 21km, surely can take 12km....
last time....
wah so good can get excuse.Originally posted by duotiga83:i have been excuse running for quite a while... by the time excuse expires left 1mth...so training 2km each time....
never go for long dist run this yr...
i last yr duty clerk.......train so much in the end got duty.....Originally posted by kops21:wah so good can get excuse.
lucky during my time, no need to run sheares bridge...
bro, am i rite to say that there is no need to cover 42km during training in order to finish SCSM?Originally posted by kops21:u dont have enough mileage or short of distance for your distance that is why ur kneecap or body hurts after the run(worst if during the run).
YES, SCSM = Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon
Ur case seems to be a case of ITB(do a check on the internet for more infor). The pain you face is normal for runners without sufficient training. Since your training distance max at 10km, that is why your body cant take it during the 21km. If you have max your training at around 12-14km, you could feel the pain(strain) after the run. Simple you training distance is TOO SHORT.
For 21km, ur max training distance should be around 16km to get yourself properly cross the finishing line feeling good. For 42km, u should hit around 32km for your training to cross the line in 1 piece.
Dont stress ur injury anymore at this moment, do cross training like cycle or swimming to keep the stamina there. Take Glucosamine to relieve the pain. Get knee guard for your run to alleviate the pain does work as well.
There is no hard and fast rule to run 42km during training.Originally posted by trueno86:bro, am i rite to say that there is no need to cover 42km during training in order to finish SCSM?