Thank you too...you guys keep us goingOriginally posted by AngelMissy:beautiful pictures... gives me the thought of hving a photographer like that to help me snap a few pics protraying my quiet and peaceful self in black n white in the busy streets of Sg... reminds me of my childhood days when my aunty n uncle brought my elder sister n cousins on a photoshooting trip... brought back my childhood memories...thank u.

I definitely second that..where do you live Meia?Originally posted by Rhonda:Lovely shots, MG! Nice neighbourhood you live in!
And Welcome to Club 30!![]()
When I am taking pictures outdoors in bright sunlight, I normally just leave the A80 in the AUTO mode. The results are acceptable most of the time.Originally posted by rainee:ah..I have Canon Powershot A95..but I don't really know how to use it professionally, I mean, to make my pictures look nice...mostly mine looks amateurish.
I live in a suburb of this city:Originally posted by LazerLordz:I definitely second that..where do you live Meia?

Aperture? Dunno. I very mountain turtle.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I like the first pic..what aperture did you use?

Thanks MG regarding my black and white imagesOriginally posted by Meia Gisborn:Thank you for the kind words and warm welcome.
I live in a suburb of this city:
Any guesses?
(The image was taken earlier this year with my A80, but I cropped away the bottom half as the freeway signage would have revealed the location.)
By the way, LazerLordz, your black and white images earlier in this thread were definitely studio-grade. Very nicely done!
MG
Nope. According to my GPS receiver, you're off by about 9647 miles or 15525 kilometers.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Hmm,do you live in Adelaide?
Looks like I replied when you were editing your message.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Hmm,do you live in Baltimore?
Yea agree...so thick and I haven't really finished reading it yet so there are a lot of functions which are unknown to me but I know are there...Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Thank you for the kind words and warm welcome.
I live in a suburb of this city:
When I am taking pictures outdoors in bright sunlight, I normally just leave the A80 in the AUTO mode. The results are acceptable most of the time.
The nice thing about the PowerShot digicams is they have enough manual settings and functions to please the more demanding "prosumer" user, but you'll have to wade through a pretty thick user manual to learn all the features.
Phew......speechless..........my jaw like dropped. Wow! Such good quality pix!!Digital camera technology has come a long way, hasn't it? You snap a picture, take a look at the result on the LCD screen immediately, and if it isn't to your satisfaction, you make a few adjustments and retake the picture. Gone are the days of waiting for the photo to be chemically developed to ascertain if it came out right.
MG : how come you got maple leafs? You are in BC? I didn't say Ontario because the streets do not have that kind of post box.Well, LazerLordz is trying to zero in on my location on the basis of the skyline image above. And he's getting warmer.
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Thanks, MG
SydneyLibrarian,
[b]Very nice images. Plus, it's nice to encounter another A80 user.
By the way, can I assume from your handle that you are currently residing in Australia?
MG[/b]
Thanks littlestream!Originally posted by littlestream:Phew......speechless..........my jaw like dropped. Wow! Such good quality pix!!
Lordz: ......you GOT IT man!!! Keep it rolling and coming. Good luck with the World Day thing. Spread your name.......far and wide!!!!
Syd: your camera not bad also and of course your skills.Nice night view, was the the Sydney Harbour? But no see Opera House ley?
MG : how come you got maple leafs? You are in BC? I didn't say Ontario because the streets do not have that kind of post box.
Actually, I have pix of my cherry tomato plants and chilli plants but after seeing the standard here, alamak....pai seh. Too "disposable camera" quality liao.![]()

Use the Canvas Size function in PhotoshopOriginally posted by JLennon:kopi, great pix there! by the way, how do you crop the pictures using white borders and black frames?
alas, my new Olympus 5500 cannot produce such good pix....