i dun like curry puff too cos too dry and greasy.....Originally posted by elindra:Just curious if there is any local favorite that you guys don't like to eat.
For me, I don't like to eat the humble curry puff because it's messy and greasy and it just don't appeal to my palate. Don't get me wrong. I love curries but I don't like it as a stuffing in a fried pastry.
Actually I don't like any fried pastry...You know those Han Chi Peng, Butterfly fritters whatever....everytime I eat those I feel like throwing up because of the oil.
Yup, i dun mind their cakes (as in the western ones) but not the nonya stuff... with the exception of the egg tart (is that nonya??)Originally posted by dragg:bangawan solo included?
i tried once and thats the last time.Originally posted by Rhonda:That Roti Boy bun... what's the big deal about it?I know a lot of locals are crazy over it but sorry, it doesn't turn me on one bit!
Smells nice, but that's about it.
Originally posted by tare:*ahem* i also love cockles leh......![]()
look at ur avatar.... hmm... bear too wor....Originally posted by Rhonda:
Ah well, you and Bear, both bears, both love cockles, both love the dark side...Wondering if it's a bear-thing!
My avatar only hor, not me, ok?Originally posted by tare:look at ur avatar.... hmm... bear too wor....
me no fleabags!!!!!! *whines*Originally posted by Rhonda:My avatar only hor, not me, ok?
I'm not a bear, don't like cockles, don't have a particular liking for the dark side... see? I don't qualify. Don't lump me together with you two furry fleabags!
Come... missy take a fine-toothed comb and check you for fleas!!![]()
Eh... you never asked me b4... I like cockles too... esp in char kway teowOriginally posted by Rhonda:I don't like cockles. They just look very toxic to me.Everytime I see cockles, I think, 'EEeeeee!! Hepatitis!!!'
Not sure if you can call them a 'local favourite' though, cause it seems that it's mainly the older generation who likes it. Bear is the only person I know who is from my generation who likes it, and I do not know anyone from the generations after mine who does.
egg tart are popular in hong kong. i doubt it is considered nonya.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Yup, i dun mind their cakes (as in the western ones) but not the nonya stuff... with the exception of the egg tart (is that nonya??)
err... since when bittergourd is a local fav?Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I don't like durians, bittergourd and rojak, but that's about it.![]()
hehee... are u the kind tat if char kway teow no "hum" dun want?Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Eh... you never asked me b4... I like cockles too... esp in char kway teow
Got hum even better, no hum I also dun care, will eat the char kway teow still cos I miss the Sg version so much (read... 'desperate'Originally posted by tare:hehee... are u the kind tat if char kway teow no "hum" dun want?![]()
Roti Boy?Nothing special..my aunt makes better buttermilk buns.Originally posted by Rhonda:That Roti Boy bun... what's the big deal about it?I know a lot of locals are crazy over it but sorry, it doesn't turn me on one bit!
Smells nice, but that's about it.
Roti boy is lousy compared to his papa. Papa roti coffee bun better. I dun like not put in fridge durians and black cai tau kueh and laksaOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Roti Boy?Nothing special..my aunt makes better buttermilk buns.![]()
But you like Fried Kway teow and Carrot cake right?Originally posted by elindra:Just curious if there is any local favorite that you guys don't like to eat.
For me, I don't like to eat the humble curry puff because it's messy and greasy and it just don't appeal to my palate. Don't get me wrong. I love curries but I don't like it as a stuffing in a fried pastry.
Actually I don't like any fried pastry...You know those Han Chi Peng, Butterfly fritters whatever....everytime I eat those I feel like throwing up because of the oil.
MammaRoti?Originally posted by laurence82:there is one shop at IMM, called Roti sumthing
sell butter bun sprinkled with cofee powder
nice!![]()