x2Originally posted by zodi:if u're really keen in the job let them know you're "negotiable" lor... then wait for them to make an official offer...
Aiyoh, ke lian.....looks like you can't win, can't you?Originally posted by dragg:i responded to many advertisements for job positions.
my asking salary was $2300 - not shortlisted at all.
i reduced to $2000 - not shortlisted at all.
i reduced to $1600 - i start to get calls for interviews.
at the interviews the interviewers commented that i have a lot of experience and will not have any problems coping. AND THEY EVEN ASKED 'WHY ARE YOU ASKING SO LOW?' i was flabbergasted.
in the end i was not selected for both positions.
SO I DECIDED TO ASK FOR $2K AGAIN.
i went for another interview today. the interviewer asked if i can accept lower.

dragg.......you know what this cycle of stress reminds me of? The American Idol. We are having our Canadian Idol right now and week and week, I see the faces of the contestants. I feel their stress and pain. I don't have to experience it to imagine what they are going through. Especially sitting on the couch, with emcee facing the individual to announce if it's a go or a no-go.Originally posted by dragg:it is really making me crazy having to go through the whole cycle over and over again.
response to an advertisement.
wait for closing date and see if they response - normally 2 weeks.
go for 1st interview - wait a few more days to see if shortlisted for 2nd interview.
go for 2nd interview - wait in vain.
i cannot stand it anymore!!!!
Yeah, great idea. dragg......go for it. At least it saves you the pain of all that sourcing. Let "them" source for you.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Have you tried the job agencies? Talk to the bigger ones like GMP, Manpower, Recruit Express, Kelly Services, etc. One advantage of using them is that you don't have to keep on writing cover letters.
It is not easy finding a job these days but jia you!
i have approached CDAC, WDA, MOM and some employment agencies. i registered online with many of them too. but all have nothing to show, not even a single interview.Originally posted by littlestream:Yeah, great idea. dragg......go for it. At least it saves you the pain of all that sourcing. Let "them" source for you.
Jia yu....jia yu..........the Taiwanese version.....kayu kayu![]()
Originally posted by Gedanken:Aiyah, Geddy......for one moment, I thought you are talking about atap seed.
Yeah, it's the employer's "[b]ai pi ai chee" mentality.[/b]

Ai pi ai chee, atap chee?Originally posted by littlestream:Aiyah, Geddy......for one moment, I thought you are talking about atap seed.![]()
WTF?! What f***ing business does the arsehole have making a comment like that?!Originally posted by dragg:i was extremely angry when one of the interviewers told me he does not like guys, especially fat ones, working in administration.
but i swallowed my pride and got on with the interview.
Originally posted by dragg:i was extremely angry when one of the interviewers told me he does not like guys, especially fat ones, working in administration.
crude ah beng's version wld be...Originally posted by Gedanken:Ai pi ai chee, atap chee?
Originally posted by Gedanken:WTF?! What f***ing business does the arsehole have making a comment like that?!
Jesus H Christ, if that happened in a civilised country, he'd have been raked over the coals!
Originally posted by dragg:i was extremely angry when one of the interviewers told me he does not like guys, especially fat ones, working in administration.
i was there for the 2nd interview. that asshole is the director!!!Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
Now, that's cruel and very very unprofessional!!!! He/she should get FIRED!!!
dragg....honestly, you wouldn't want to work in that kind of org or at least with that kind of Human Resource. You are not even getting a salary and yet have to subject to that kind of insult??? Can you imagine if you are an employee, bo pian for the salary, got to swallow a lot more. Don't know what kind of crap the HR can come up with too. Like vacation lah, bonus lah, increment lah.....blah, blah.... No, dragg.....you deserve better. Or anyone should deserve better and treated with respect and as a HUMAN BEING!!!
Honestly, I would have told him/her "I don't think that's a nice thing to say". I bet she/he will be aghast!! Why? Because they always think we dare not answer back!!! Who knows, I may even demand to speak with the boss. Hey, I am not an employee but I can a prospective client, right???
Anyways, dragg.....something will come up. We can be on the down side of the scale for so long, one day, we will be up there. In any case, whatever goes up will come down and it works both ways.![]()
Yah lah, I know lah....just trying to be naughty but Geddy, really, if one read it fast enough, the mind skip some letters/words and I came up with atap chee but I thought you romanize it mah...and with spacing.....pro!Originally posted by Gedanken:Ai pi ai chee, atap chee?