Yeah, I can't stand hot weather either, and the steamy weather we're experiencing this summer has me withering. Ideally, I'd like to live in a region of the US where the temperature ranges between 50ºF and 70ºF year-round, as I find that to be my optimal "comfort zone."Originally posted by littlestream:Good morning MG:
Nice out there isn't it? I'll take single digit anytime. The heat drives me nuts and with pounding headaches.
Aiyoh, airline strike ah? Terrible. Very chaotic. A chain reaction for other airlines as well.
We were yakking nicely and then the server went down yesterday eh?
Oh, you were mentioning to Kopio about going West. Is it really cheaper out there? But NYC is THE place to be isn't it? Anyways, honestly, don't know much about the States so really can't comment. Likewise, Americans don't know much about Canada too. I still can't forget this joke that the American tourists actually brought their skis with them in summer.![]()
oic..........take your time lah and enjoy the friendship. Don't rush. It's been said this is the sweetest moment. Once "confirmed" together, we tend to take each other for granted. Familiarity breeds contempt mah.Originally posted by Fatum:nope ... she just got back here actually .... she's a psychology major ! ........ and no .... we're not yet together ....
i would love to work .... infact, found a job grading first year computer science assignments actually .... but two words :Summer School ....
added: the batter came in a box actually ..... just have to follow the instructions ....![]()
I am curious: how did Ayako and you initially meet?Originally posted by Fatum:nope ... she just got back here actually .... she's a psychology major ! ........ and no .... we're not yet together ....
international students orientation in my first year ... then took a calculus class together ....Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:I am curious: how did Ayako and you initially meet?
MG
Well, one thing that's making me think really hard is that while going through some of the websites of companies offering internships, I've gotta send a resume or somethin.Originally posted by littlestream:Hello Kopio:
I don't think it is a crazy idea. Everything starts with a dream/idea/goal/ blah blah blah.......
If you dare to dream.......go do it. Whatever the outcome, at least you tried. No venture, no gain, right? If you just sit on your butt, nothing will ever happen. If you want it, believe in it, then do something to make it happen.
Good luck and best wishes!![]()
it's SOP .... you'd need a resume for everything .... everyone should start a resume from O'levels on and update it constantly ....Originally posted by kopiosatu:Well, one thing that's making me think really hard is that while going through some of the websites of companies offering internships, I've gotta send a resume or somethin.
resume??? I've got no resume!! That's why I want to be an intern and learn stuff!
I just don't get it![]()
resume for being a photographer?Originally posted by Fatum:it's SOP .... you'd need a resume for everything .... everyone should start a resume from O'levels on and update it constantly ....![]()
a friend of mine at U of T applied for a summer job washing the hostel's toilets .... they asked her for a resume ......Originally posted by kopiosatu:resume for being a photographer?![]()
Aiyah, kopio........resume over in North America is very broad lah. Even my son has a resume!!! It doesn't necessarily mean you have relevant experience or education. More like a breakdown of your life lah. Even volunteer work, summer job, anything that you have done that is worth mentioning, relevant or otherwise, can be documented.Originally posted by kopiosatu:Well, one thing that's making me think really hard is that while going through some of the websites of companies offering internships, I've gotta send a resume or somethin.
resume??? I've got no resume!! That's why I want to be an intern and learn stuff!
I just don't get it![]()
I guess anywhere would do for me, I just want to get training.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Not as crazy as you might think. Sometimes, you have to leave your comfort zone and take a risk in order to achieve your dreams.
I would question going to NYC, though. The cost of living there is astronomical and the competition cutthroat. How about starting in a city on the west coast, like LA or SF?
Just a thought.
MG
geez, i don't have any resume right now... thanks to Singapore, I've just got worthless toilet paper.Originally posted by littlestream:Aiyah, kopio........resume over in North America is very broad lah. Even my son has a resume!!! It doesn't necessarily mean you have relevant experience or education. More like a breakdown of your life lah. Even volunteer work, summer job, anything that you have done that is worth mentioning, relevant or otherwise, can be documented.
So, yes, kopio, you MUST prepare a resume. There are many sites offering tips to write one. I can help you.......for a fee.![]()
you should join ISD .... the matas would assign you to their interrogation unit ...Originally posted by the Bear:heh heh...
if i were to quit my job, and i need to put stuff in my CV, my main strength would be: the ability to intimidate people
and other strengths would be: the ability to browbeat a person into submission, the ability to extract a confession
like that how?
but i like my job... it's the senior management that is screwing things up
Or become a Party Protocol Enforcer for the PAP.Originally posted by Fatum:you should join ISD .... the matas would assign you to their interrogation unit ...![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:you should join ISD .... the matas would assign you to their interrogation unit ...![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:no more government jobs for me~ early release here I come~
after that what do i do?![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:Don't say that. Any paper is still paper mah. You cannot tan tan tu tu one. Focus....focus..........cannot this also can, that also can.......then what? You are just going to accept second best? You must decide where you want to be. In Sg or abroad. Get your perspective right first before you even start leh.
geez, i don't have any resume right now... thanks to Singapore, [b]I've just got worthless toilet paper.
eh, gotta wait for results. which might take forever to come because of the 'efficient' way SAF is run.Originally posted by the Bear:didn't read the rest... so, you got it?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:eh, gotta wait for results. which might take forever to come because of the 'efficient' way SAF is run.
Resume means writing a story about my life? I got a d7 for my 'O' levels English!!! But I get what you mean, I thought they would like to see a whole lot of paper qualification.Originally posted by littlestream:Don't say that. Any paper is still paper mah. You cannot tan tan tu tu one. Focus....focus..........cannot this also can, that also can.......then what? You are just going to accept second best? You must decide where you want to be. In Sg or abroad. Get your perspective right first before you even start leh.
Anyways, no harm to prepare a resume. Your cover letter should interest people to even want to see you inspite of your non-experience. In your resume, write about the non-income photography that you have been doing. Volunteer work helps because it can reflect your passion. You actually would do something for nothing. You must be able to convince your reader lah. And then, provide samples lor. Errr....please hor. Resume not more than 2 pages hor.
Be positive lah.
happened to a few guys.Originally posted by the Bear:wah piang!!
like that, you might finish your contract before it happens!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:Resume means writing a story about my life? I got a d7 for my 'O' levels English!!! But I get what you mean, I thought they would like to see a whole lot of paper qualification.![]()
how many smart employers are there in Singapore???Originally posted by the Bear:not if the employers are smart they won't...
they want to see what you have done with what you have... not how much you can regurgitate in school...