Wah, MG......you almost sounds like a poet. If only we were at a gazebo, sipping Chinese tea with moon cake in hand, the scene would have been perfect. So dramatic one, your description.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:How often do you BBQ?
MG
oic. Ah, didn't cook, it's okay. Self-made cards are precious. I am a pack rat and still keeps stuff from when I was a teenager.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Estonian...it's her language.I didn't cook tonight, but she seems to like the card I made and the pin.
Errr........Bear........your car is new right???? How come so fast messy and dirty one? I am not that car-proud but my car is almost four years old but still look like new wor?Originally posted by the Bear:uhh... it did... that's why the fuzzier than usual mat
I've been reading American women's mags for so long that I get the idea that in the US, BBQ is a very 'man' thing!Originally posted by littlestream:Wah, MG......you almost sounds like a poet. If only we were at a gazebo, sipping Chinese tea with moon cake in hand, the scene would have been perfect. So dramatic one, your description.Deserves a clap *clap*.
How often ah? Well, we try to do it at least once a week ah, weather permitting. By Fall, the bbq pit will be canvassed up. And that, with the recent slight dip in temperature, one can tell, is coming soon. Do you go drive around to see Fall colours? Some routes are really beautiful.
You? Do you bbq?
Eeeyerrrr, I am jealous. I also want. I want the Mrs Leong Yee Soo book. Must go check out Popular book store liao. But the postage kills my pockets ah. And I just did another damage at the video rental store.Originally posted by Rhonda:I bought the Sept issue of Bon Appetit, a new local mag - 'Food & Travel', a local cookbook, 'The Best of Singapore's Recipes - Festive Cooking', by Mrs Leong Yee Soo (you've heard of her, right?), and two copies of the local entertainment weekly, '8 Days'.
I ended up buying two copies because each copy gets you a free movie ticket to the new movie, 'Red Eye' next Tuesday!Kewl!!
I also ate at Coffee Club - Sundried Tomatoes on Salmon, and a lovely Chocolate cake with a walnut biscuit base for dessert. I was super-duper full 1/8's through the cake, but I forged on!![]()
'Somebody' ate even more than me! HOR??!!!![]()
How can someone interrupt an open conversation in a very public forum?Originally posted by StarPuppy:/me peeps in
am i disturbing anything? should i come in later?![]()
Oh, so kind of you to remember, Rhonda but I am sure. But still, THANKS SO MUCH. I have long resign to the fact that I belong to the "got to work hard for her money". No windfall type.Originally posted by Rhonda:littlestream, tomorrow, I'm going to post the postcards to SL, Gedanken and MG. Are you sure you don't want me to post a few to you as well?![]()
Hee hee........so cute.......your introduction.Originally posted by StarPuppy:/me peeps in
good evening littlestream and the folks in here...it IS indeed a longtime...so how have u ppl been?Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee........so cute.......your introduction.
Welcome, welcome.........long time no see, how are you?
And good evening.![]()
Mrs Leong Yee Soo actually wrote a few cookbooks waaaay back in the '70's. Now, they are just republishing it but with a good marketing strategy - they've divided it into FIVE separate cookbooks, with colour photos of all the recipes! It costs a bomb to have the entire collection - more than S$100!!Originally posted by littlestream:Eeeyerrrr, I am jealous. I also want. I want the Mrs Leong Yee Soo book. Must go check out Popular book store liao. But the postage kills my pockets ah. And I just did another damage at the video rental store.
8 Day? Eh, I like 8Days. Cheap pak kua mag. But I do read a lot of pak kua stuff online. But pai seh hor. Only about Chinese artists. I very tng lang lah.
Sundried tomatoes on salmon.......oooolalala.........I like, I like. My type of meal.
I know. *raise hands* I know WHO ate way way more than you! When I read his post, I was likeWhere to load all those food???
Mrs Leong Yee Soo actually wrote a few cookbooks waaaay back in the '70's. Now, they are just republishing it but with a good marketing strategy - they've divided it into FIVE separate cookbooks, with colour photos of all the recipes! It costs a bomb to have the entire collection - more than S$100!!Originally posted by littlestream:Eeeyerrrr, I am jealous. I also want. I want the Mrs Leong Yee Soo book. Must go check out Popular book store liao. But the postage kills my pockets ah. And I just did another damage at the video rental store.
8 Day? Eh, I like 8Days. Cheap pak kua mag. But I do read a lot of pak kua stuff online. But pai seh hor. Only about Chinese artists. I very tng lang lah.
Sundried tomatoes on salmon.......oooolalala.........I like, I like. My type of meal.
I know. *raise hands* I know WHO ate way way more than you! When I read his post, I was likeWhere to load all those food???
well...it IS a conversation,isn't it?Originally posted by Rhonda:How can someone interrupt an open conversation in a very public forum?![]()
Huh? Me sounding poetic? Wat tokking you?? If you see me at a gazebo, it's probably because I'm attending a company picnic, and I'll likely be holding a brat in one hand and a bottle of Mountain Dew in the other, burping, farting and yakking with other guys from my department.Originally posted by littlestream:Wah, MG......you almost sounds like a poet. If only we were at a gazebo, sipping Chinese tea with moon cake in hand, the scene would have been perfect. So dramatic one, your description.Deserves a clap *clap*.
How often ah? Well, we try to do it at least once a week ah, weather permitting. By Fall, the bbq pit will be canvassed up. And that, with the recent slight dip in temperature, one can tell, is coming soon. Do you go drive around to see Fall colours? Some routes are really beautiful.
You? Do you bbq?
It is an open, group conversation.Originally posted by StarPuppy:well...it IS a conversation,isn't it?![]()
You can come in now, but bring food!Originally posted by StarPuppy:/me peeps in
Wah, Bear.............this description is an extract from which magazine?Originally posted by the Bear:a barbeque is a very primal thing... setting the fire and letting the heat and smoke cook the huge hunks of meat
it'll be nice if we have a huge barbeque thingy.. where a slow fire can be set and about 50kg of meat is put in there and slowly cooked and smoked... for about 18 hours...
the fat slowly melts off and blends into the meat, slowly infusing it with the tasty goodness... while the marinates slowly do their magic when you bast the meat regularly...
when it's time to ready the stuff for eating, it is very tender because of the slow cooking process... melting in your mouth yet having enough bite
now... who wants to buy a large barbeque
Oooh! When I ate in the restaurants in the US, I always end up doggy-bagging everything!Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I liked the food while I was in Oz though...the servings were big and that's a plus! I didn't spend a long-enough time to miss the grub here...well, I eat at the same place for lunch every weekday.![]()
Aaah... one of my American friend, who's also a huge foodie, talked on and on to me about how Barbeque was done in the South! It's almost an institution there!Originally posted by littlestream:Wah, Bear.............this description is an extract from which magazine?Just kidding. I know lah, you ARE the author lah.
But what you have described is call Sharma, right? We have it here. I think South Asian style is it? When you order, they will carve it out for you with the "animal" still hanging there.