Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:And I like doing Body Pump to the song 'Carwash'But requires alot of stamina & I'm afraid I'll drop out of the class halfway... so... haven't gone for a full Body Pump class yet
When you start a Body Pump class, you have to be thick-skinned and go with 'baby weights' in the beginning. Don't feel embarrassed that the weights you're carrying are puny compared to those around you... they are 'lao jiao's and they started the same way you did too!Originally posted by neuros:the one n only time i tried bodypump, i couldn't lift my arms for days after that!

Did you buy your shirt before your wholesome lunch?I think it could be undersized..Originally posted by Rhonda:When you start a Body Pump class, you have to be thick-skinned and go with 'baby weights' in the beginning. Don't feel embarrassed that the weights you're carrying are puny compared to those around you... they are 'lao jiao's and they started the same way you did too!
When I started Body Pump, I told myself, 'Take it easy! Get the techniques right first or else, you'll sustain serious injuries!' True enough, if you do not practice the right posture, you WILL get knee / back / shoulder injuries.I did the squats and lunges the wrong way and kena major leg pain for days afterwards until a good instructor taught us how to get that done right and then, no more excruciating pain!
I've seen folks who just carry the rod with NO WEIGHTS at all at the ends. That's wise of them.
We're not in it for the competition so there's nothing to be embarrassed about. We measure ourselves against our own yardsticks and don't be too harsh on yourselves cause we all start somewhere.
We may not be able to complete the entire class the first time round, or we may be carrying 'baby weights' for weeks, but at least, we've gotten ourselves off the couch and have started exercising!
Be your own cheerleader!Hooray for every little milestone!
I reward myself by purchasing yet another Reebok sports shirt to exercise in and look good at the same time!
These are special Body Balance pants designed by Les Mills, the company that licences all these exercise programs.Originally posted by Wanda:How come her exercise pants are transparent one?![]()
Oh yeah! How did you know that I've since become toned and have developed nice muscles? So, of course the old shirt is undersized!Originally posted by stellazio:Did you buy your shirt before your wholesome lunch?I think it could be undersized..![]()
Toned under an air con room and muscular after one lesson?WOW so much more effective den my steroids..INTRO leh wad drugs u using..Originally posted by Rhonda:Oh yeah! How did you know that I've since become toned and have developed nice muscles? So, of course the old shirt is undersized!![]()
Who said anything about just one lesson?Originally posted by stellazio:Toned under an air con room and muscular after one lesson?WOW so much more effective den my steroids..INTRO leh wad drugs u using..![]()
Ooohh...abs that I can only dream of! And look at those strong arms and legs...Ooh la la..!! Who dare say women are the weaker sex?Originally posted by Rhonda:
I can still remember what one of the instructors would say, "Visualise the face of your enemy! (Her eyes narrows to mere slits and she clenches her fist!) Now, PUNCH!!!"![]()
Very very satisfying!![]()
No they are not...Originally posted by Wanda:Ooohh...abs that I can only dream of! And look at those strong arms and legs...Ooh la la..!! Who dare say women are the weaker sex?
Ya, ya, ya, I always visualise the faces of those as.h.... in the office when I attempt kick-boxing class. Helps a lot in focusing on one's target.![]()

Originally posted by a_splash:well done rhonda, keep it going!!
well i started yoga not too long ago but has stopped due to schedule....i would love to pick up yoga again...i have a vcd on it which is quite similar to wat i learnt...well see when...
i have started to walk my girl to school every morning, only prob is comes holiday, it stops.
now i am adding climbing up stairs after the 20mins morning walk...i hope i can see some results in six months time?? well hopefully i can curb on food as well...
support and cheers for me k....i hope to lost 10kgs just to be on the right wt...
yesterday met someone who has been constantly going jogging two yrs back...she is so so slim now...i almost can't recognise her....so envy leh...make my eyes green liao....hao ba...wo men da jia yi qi JIA YU JIA YU!!!!
XIE XIE! Wo hui jia yu de!!!Originally posted by sbst275:Jia you... You can be that slim woman

Then your guy also good what.. Everyone see envyOriginally posted by a_splash:XIE XIE! Wo hui jia yu de!!!
then i want ppl to look at me with green eyes too
Originally posted by Rhonda:When you start a Body Pump class, you have to be thick-skinned and go with 'baby weights' in the beginning. Don't feel embarrassed that the weights you're carrying are puny compared to those around you... they are 'lao jiao's and they started the same way you did too!
When I started Body Pump, I told myself, 'Take it easy! Get the techniques right first or else, you'll sustain serious injuries!' True enough, if you do not practice the right posture, you WILL get knee / back / shoulder injuries.I did the squats and lunges the wrong way and kena major leg pain for days afterwards until a good instructor taught us how to get that done right and then, no more excruciating pain!
I've seen folks who just carry the rod with NO WEIGHTS at all at the ends. That's wise of them.
We're not in it for the competition so there's nothing to be embarrassed about. We measure ourselves against our own yardsticks and don't be too harsh on yourselves cause we all start somewhere.
We may not be able to complete the entire class the first time round, or we may be carrying 'baby weights' for weeks, but at least, we've gotten ourselves off the couch and have started exercising!
Be your own cheerleader!Hooray for every little milestone!
I reward myself by purchasing yet another Reebok sports shirt to exercise in and look good at the same time!
Originally posted by Rhonda:Neuros, this is for you!!
"Explosively popular in clubs around the world, BODYCOMBAT® combines moves and stances from a range of self-defence disciplines like karate, boxing and taekwondo into an hour-long energetic routine.
"Music and pre-choreography create a fierce, energetic experience which raises fitness levels throughout the whole body, while reducing fat and cholesterol.
For more, click here : http://www.fitpro.com/bts/program_description.cfm?program=BODYCOMBAT
I've attended a few BodyCombat classes before and the only grouse I have is this - if the class is crowded, it's not fun because each time you kick and punch, you get so worried that you'll end up kicking the butt of the one before you, or punching your neighbour in the face!
I can still remember what one of the instructors would say, "Visualise the face of your enemy! (Her eyes narrows to mere slits and she clenches her fist!) Now, PUNCH!!!"![]()
Very very satisfying!![]()
Did ur gym has a "booking" system? I thot they restrict the number of people in each class.Originally posted by neuros:oooo... tks rhonda!
i so miss my body combat classes... sigh...
this reminds me of an incident an instructor told us in the past. he was telling us to be careful n always look where we punch / kick. as a caution he told us tat jus the week before that, a lady was punched accidentally n had to spend x'mas with a black eye! poor thing...
nope. i went california - no booking system. u jus squeeze in wherever u can.Originally posted by spencer99:Did ur gym has a "booking" system? I thot they restrict the number of people in each class.
In my gym, the ppl standing in front are the regualrs.. so i stand in front also... regulars less likely to anyhow kick and punch. so safer.
I am at Planet. they still hve the booking system....Originally posted by neuros:nope. i went california - no booking system. u jus squeeze in wherever u can.
i think planet fitness has it... years ago when i used to go there... not sure whether now it's still like tat...
OK, you jia you! I also will jia you!!Originally posted by a_splash:well done rhonda, keep it going!!
well i started yoga not too long ago but has stopped due to schedule....i would love to pick up yoga again...i have a vcd on it which is quite similar to wat i learnt...well see when...
i have started to walk my girl to school every morning, only prob is comes holiday, it stops.
now i am adding climbing up stairs after the 20mins morning walk...i hope i can see some results in six months time?? well hopefully i can curb on food as well...
support and cheers for me k....i hope to lost 10kgs just to be on the right wt...
yesterday met someone who has been constantly going jogging two yrs back...she is so so slim now...i almost can't recognise her....so envy leh...make my eyes green liao....hao ba...wo men da jia yi qi JIA YU JIA YU!!!!
Wah!!Originally posted by neuros:oooo... tks rhonda!
i so miss my body combat classes... sigh...
this reminds me of an incident an instructor told us in the past. he was telling us to be careful n always look where we punch / kick. as a caution he told us tat jus the week before that, a lady was punched accidentally n had to spend x'mas with a black eye! poor thing...

R u still "injured", i thot u "recovered"?Originally posted by Rhonda:Oh WHOA!!! Look at this one!
BODYPUMP 53
Track List
1. Only If I - Kate Ryan
2. Beds Are Burning - Novaspace
3. Push Up - Freestylers
4. Hold Your Horses - E-type
5. Don't Panic - Logo feat. Dawn Joseph
6. Save A Horse (Ride A Cowboy) - Big & Rich
7. Love Comes Again - Tiesto feat. BT
8. Back To Back (Skillstersplusone Radio Mix) - Bomfunk MCÂ’s feat. Z-MC
9. Yeah! - Usher feat. Lil Jon & Ludacris
10. When We Were Kings - Brian McKnight & Diana King
And I HAD to go get injured and miss the class?!!!
Oh man, that's one of my favourite hits! In fact, I love all the songs in the soundtrack of "Hitch"!![]()