I think Singaporeans have a genetic predisposition towards kiasuism. Not that it's a bad thing, though--if practised in moderation, kiasuism can sometimes net you a good deal and/or save you some money.Originally posted by littlestream:Aiyoh, MG....you didn't discard your "kiasuism" ah?![]()
I woke up this morning to news that the Torontonians are also very kiasu. Long lines at the gas station last night and even fights broke out because of jump queue. The panic was the result of a rumour that gas price is expected to hit C$2.
I still have 3/4 tank. Remember I topped up at 99.3cents? And my car is economical mah, so not gas guzzler. Anyways, the rumour is false lah. This morning, price still at C$1.04 (last night was C$1.02).
But MG, last night I was on MSN with my friend in Houston. She didn't evacuate. We had a long chat and I will pray for her. If you watch CNN, it's crazy. The road travelling up north. Can you imagine 1.5 million evacuating? Most heading to Dallas. Did your friend evacuate?
This morning I heard Rita may go eastward to New Orleans. Jia lat. Even the mayor of Louisiana is asking people to evacuate but not to go to Texas but head north. The other worrying thing is that toxic spills if Rita slamp the refineries in Houston.![]()
Rio Bravo is good, but I prefer Girls Bravo!Originally posted by the Bear:watching Rio Bravo now..
i love them old-school westerns especially with The Duke, John Wayne
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I just watched a few hornets wipe out an entire colony of bees (to get the larvae and honey) on Nat Geo. Before that, a buzzard followed one to its hive and feasted on the larvae without getting stung...apparently its feather have a secretion that acts as a repellent. Amazing!![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Yeap.........in another (better) word.......PREPAREDNESS.
[b]I think Singaporeans have a genetic predisposition towards kiasuism. Not that it's a bad thing, though--if practised in moderation, kiasuism can sometimes net you a good deal and/or save you some money.
My friend in Houston is evacuating up to Austin, TX, for the duration of the hurricane. Fortunately for him, he hightailed it before the freeways clogged up with evacuees. Did you catch the news about the bus full of evacuees that got stuck in traffic and caught fire? One person was killed.
MG[/b]
Good evening Rhonda...........yea, you ARE right!!! That was exactly what I did.Originally posted by Rhonda:Hellooooooo, peeps!!
littlestream, you're so cute! I can just imagine you taking a walk, sniffing the air like a dog!![]()
Eh, I'm going to buy him dinner, if and when he stops protesting!Originally posted by littlestream:Good evening Rhonda...........yea, you ARE right!!! That was exactly what I did.That's why, after a while, I'm like "aiyoh, like dog like that."
But I love the morning air. So fresh. Hmm....nice!
So what? You out partying ah? How come you didn't celebrate Bear's birthday? Just now he said he was going to fix food. But his special day, it will be nice if someone fix him a real nice dinner and top it up with red eggs. Oh, actually, I prepare mee sua with eggs for hubby and son when it is their birthday. Yah, yah, I know, I know....no need to remind me....I am old. Lau kor tong.![]()
Actually, I should have read the news report better: it appears up to 24 people on the bus were killed by the fire and explosions. They were elderly folks who were being evacuated from a nursing home in Houston. The brakes on the bus apparently caught fire and ignited some oxygen tanks, causing the explosions. Sad.Originally posted by littlestream:Yeap.........in another (better) word.......PREPAREDNESS.
No, I missed that news. Okay, I go open up CNN now. Oh, but how come MN had that tornado? It's not the side effects of Rita is it?
On a different note, MG, have you driven west to Yellow Stone? It's nice to do a group travel with friends and that is one desto on our wish list.
Wah, le jin wu lui le.Originally posted by Rhonda:And, yes!! I just got back!! I have TWO new skirts now!![]()
Hello, Rhonda! Hope all is well with you. Stay safe, especially during this current Dengue outbreak!Originally posted by Rhonda:Hellooooooo, peeps!!
littlestream, you're so cute! I can just imagine you taking a walk, sniffing the air like a dog!![]()
And, MG, I sure hope that you'll stay safe during this period! I know it's not heading your way but still, just take care!
Depends. Did you bring food?Originally posted by StarPuppy:/me trots in
hello people...am i late?![]()
Ah, yes. The joys of Retail Therapy.Originally posted by Rhonda:And, yes!! I just got back!! I have TWO new skirts now!![]()
Mom's gift to me!Originally posted by littlestream:Wah, le jin wu lui le.Diam diam ke shopping eh?
Got save money for going downunder or not? I've not check but I heard the exchange is not exciting leh. The exchange rate ah. Aussie dollar strong right?