hey dude, honestly I think if you give $80 for a wedding at Hilton, I think it is abit too little lah. Pai Seh right? If you give $88, at least the couple will know that it is FA FA mah...Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Now.. i'm all for traditional weddings but.. with regard to difference between $80 and $88.. err.. I'll classify picking on that in the micromanaging obsessive catergory.
There is another word for it of course.. but it isn't nice to use.
But I think if don't go also must pau is it? I'm not sure. Maybe a gift certificate at a store or something. What do you think?Originally posted by zodi:
will definitely be going alone or maybe not at all.![]()
*prays hard for o/s assignment during that week.*![]()
Hee hee........do I hear the birds go "chip chip chip"? (cheap, cheap, cheap)Originally posted by choco B:3. If a couple of guests also bring their 2 kids, do they give an amount for the 2 adults' share or for 4 persons' share? I've come across this before: 2 adult guests + 2 or 3 teenage children who gave $120 ang pow in total (the cost was $70 per head), so it got me wondering...![]()
Cost * per person. Child still fills one seat at the table. Babies not counted.
I know that, that's why I am opting for pasta.Originally posted by Gazelle:am I suppose to say that you have a impressive potato family or what?
btw, they dont serve potatos during chinese wedding dinner...
because we chinese think that potatos are poor man food..![]()
as long as the groom pays it is all ok. In western ones , the bride pays.....Now I wonder why they always say clash of cultures HAHaOriginally posted by Rhonda:Yipers!!
I just returned from dinner and a shopping spree with mom and an aunt and we were discussing my brother's Chinese wedding dinner over supper. I had the shock of my life!!
- Mom says dad will have like 10 tables of guests, she will have 15, the in-laws wanted 10, and including my brother and his wife's guests, it's a grand total of 45 tables!!![]()
At $800 per table, that makes it a grand total of... *gasp... Wha!!!!! $36,000!!!!!![]()
I made the mistake of saying out loud, "Poor brother! He will end up having 80% of guests at his wedding who are total strangers to him!"
And then, I kena a huge scolding from mom, who got wide-eyed defensive and exclaimed, "Of course! He's MY son! It's a BIG DEAL!"![]()
- So I said, "I'm having cold sweat just sitting here, listening to this... and it isn't even my wedding! Boy, am I jolly glad I'm not the one getting married!"
And then, kena more scolding!![]()
It's absolutely crazy!! It's my brother's wedding and there'll be all these strangers milling about there!
Originally posted by littlestream:Thanks for sharing, choco B, the church and malay wedding bit. Back in the late 70s/early 80s, I remembered, we pau like $5 or $10 for malay weddings.
Hence we have a simpler and less lavish reception. I like it that way.Originally posted by fymk:as long as the groom pays it is all ok. In western ones , the bride pays.....Now I wonder why they always say clash of cultures HAHa
Hee hee......still, thanks. At least got rough idea. Not like I have any other friends getting married. Now, I go to friends' children's wedding.Originally posted by choco B:I wouldn't claim that mine is the "market rate" though, because I don't give that much thought into it. I usually just go by gut feel or a cost estimate.
Originally posted by Gazelle:What if your "INVITED" relative bring along their children to the wedding dinner?
Originally posted by Gazelle:What if your invited guest call you up and ask if I can bring along my parents, and bla bla bla.
Originally posted by Gazelle:What you are going to do? Can you say NO?
Originally posted by Gazelle:Honestly I dont think you are balls enough to say that you can afford to host a 50 tables wedding dinner without accepting ang pao. If you do, I am sure your partner will be the first to F you up and call you a stupid fool!!
Read this please...Originally posted by Gazelle:If you talk the talk, you better walk the walk. If not that is as good as taking CO.CK.![]()
The keyword is IF.Originally posted by Nelstar:Like I mentioned before, if I have the ability, then I hold wedding dinner and I'll make sure I put the words in bold "Please do not give red packets, my fengshui teacher said I'll be cursed for life if I accept on my wedding dinner red packets."![]()
At least she's not the epitome of stupidity like Gazelle.Originally posted by Gazelle:how would you know the wedding couple doesnt like 88? TRADITIONAL chinese dinner leh..
You eat too much potato isit?![]()
HAHAHA...sorry, didnt know you are the IF kinda person give some IF kinda of advice...Originally posted by Nelstar:Gazelle is an explicit example why brains are in great demand. He's taxing us with the lack of intelligence.
The keyword is IF.
Stupid people like Gazelle does not know the meaning of IF in English. So he assumed it meant "I F**KING WILL".
And please go and read my other posts, I'm not intending to hold any wedding dinner. Both my partner and I are against it.![]()
you think this world only have 2 IF human being isit? aint not talking about your wedding lah, jerk!!Originally posted by Nelstar:At least she's not the epitome of stupidity like Gazelle.![]()
I didn't know Gazelle is also gay. Anyway, I was explaining another possibility, had I the ability to do it. We cannot disregard that factor regardless how small the probability is.Originally posted by Gazelle:HAHAHA...sorry, didnt know you are the IF kinda person give some IF kinda of advice...
Honestly why suggest something which you can only day dream? Isnt that waste for time?
IF this IF that, IF I get to screw your back...
Gazelle, the embodiment of stupidity in the forum.Originally posted by Gazelle:you think this world only have 2 IF human being isit? aint not talking about your wedding lah, jerk!!
KNN you dont understand english meh IF IF IF lah...Originally posted by Nelstar:I didn't know Gazelle is also gay. Anyway, I was explaining another possibility, had I the ability to do it. We cannot disregard that factor regardless how small the probability is.
As even a 0.1% is not equivalent to 0%. We must always take into consideration for unpredicted circumstances.
By having no foresight, we have an idiot like Gazelle![]()
Your intention is strong even though you don't get it.Originally posted by Gazelle:KNN you dont understand english meh IF IF IF lah...![]()
why wedding big deal lah. talk big for what, dont accept ang pao lor. IF you want to impress your inlaws and friends by all means, that doesnt mean that the everybody must be like you right?Originally posted by Nelstar:Gazelle, the embodiment of stupidity in the forum.
We're talking about how stupid Gazelle is, not my wedding and he thinks I'm talking about it.
Stupid people cannot discern A from B. Yes I was talking abt my wedding in the other post but not this. He showed his inability to accept that these two posts are not connected in anyway excluding that Gazelle is a stupid fool.![]()
Originally posted by Gazelle:why wedding big deal lah. talk big for what, dont accept ang pao lor. IF you want to impress your inlaws and friends by all means, that doesnt mean that the everybody must be like you right?
IF IF IF, IF I got the money, i will want to throw a wedding dinner for 365 days and dont want to accept ang pao.....
IF IF
See, he assumed. Stupid people like to assume. Please, go and read my other posts to know why instead of assuming that others are like you, a stupid SHOWOFF.Originally posted by Nelstar:And please go and read my other posts
It am just lazy to read your post because everything will most likely be IF.Originally posted by Nelstar:See, he assumed. Stupid people like to assume. Please, go and read my other posts to know why instead of assuming that others are like you, a stupid SHOWOFF.
Oh, what a sleight of mind, Gazelle's too stupid to read up.![]()
Stupid people like Gazelle do not know how to search for the truth.Originally posted by Gazelle:It am just lazy to read your post because everything will most likely be IF.
Dont try to talk big lah...IF I can I dont want ang Pao? maybe this is a typical elitist style of wedding isit.
You high class mah, you got plenty of $$$$, you can afford. But sadly, IF...
Preparing le.. today work late..Originally posted by shinta:*hijack of thread*
u dun have to go to work meh?
... but u're havin lunch first?Originally posted by Nelstar:Preparing le.. today work late..
Originally posted by Nelstar:hahahah...how nice IF i am as stupid as you...
[b]Stupid people like Gazelle do not know how to search for the truth.
And again, he's taxing us with his stupidity. He only know how to assume things like Singaporeans are always in for freebies etc.
He had seen so little of this world and he came to a conclusion because he did not search for the truth.
That's how stupid Gazelle really is. With comments from Gazelle like that all day, I'm sad for his family. It'll be real taxing for them to handle his stupid remarks and stupid answers.![]()