Originally posted by Rhonda:She's lucky my bro is not like me - he's generally very nice and considerate.I think I took all the 'bad' genes!
I didn't ask... in case the look on my face says it all!Originally posted by choco B:So uuh, what songs did your brother choose for his dinner? Heheh
Originally posted by Rhonda:I don't know if it's a 'protective big-sis' kinda syndrome but I kinda still feel that...
I hate to say it but ...
erm...
shall I say it? ...
OK, none of you know my brother, right?
So...
here goes nuthin'...
I still feel that my sis-in-law looks mouse-y!
OK, ok... so bad of me!![]()
Originally posted by av98m:![]()
*pssst* I know the feeling![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:![]()
Huh?!! You do?!!
Die! You mean, you know my sis-in-law too?!![]()
I Should Be So Lucky by Kylie Minogue.Originally posted by choco B:So uuh, what songs did your brother choose for his dinner? Heheh
mouse-y? What's that???Originally posted by Rhonda:I don't know if it's a 'protective big-sis' kinda syndrome but I kinda still feel that...
I hate to say it but ...
erm...
shall I say it? ...
OK, none of you know my brother, right?
So...
here goes nuthin'...
I still feel that my sis-in-law looks mouse-y!
OK, ok... so bad of me!![]()
Originally posted by charlize:I Should Be So Lucky by Kylie Minogue.
Originally posted by av98m:*whisper* no...I talking about MY sister-in-law
Before you decide not to throw a chinese wedding dinner you have to consider a few things.Originally posted by chunyong:if can ah, i oso dun wan wedding dinner...y leh ? cos if got alot of people who dunno u well, most likely u doh tiap....especially so if u got for those above 600/table one...sure tiap until jialat cos most people give 60...if ur table 450-500+ one still can earn about 80-90/table...ok...can cover the extra charges...but if 800/table then liao lui liao...but hor...my ang pow always S$88 one...standard...haha then there was once i went to a carlton hotel wedding dinner, my cousin brought his GF...he asked me how much i give, which obviously he have no manners but sicne he is my cousin and he asked liao so i told him 88...then he say "wah lau, 60 can liao, i give 120 for 2 niah"...i was thinking to myself...the set up quite grand, somemore same working place, got cheek to give 60 and be proud of it...KNN...
seriously, i rather use the $ go honeymoon, go a better one...best is 2 places...one nature one and one more urban one. i see discovery channel got a campsite in Alaska, can see the bears pounding for salmon in the water siah....got chance and $ i will go...
[quote]Originally posted by Rhonda:That's nothing, my friend get married that time, had 86 tables!
[b]Yipers!!
I just returned from dinner and a shopping spree with mom and an aunt and we were discussing my brother's Chinese wedding dinner over supper. I had the shock of my life!!
- Mom says dad will have like 10 tables of guests, she will have 15, the in-laws wanted 10, and including my brother and his wife's guests, it's a grand total of 45 tables!!![]()
At $800 per table, that makes it a grand total of... *gasp... Wha!!!!! $36,000!!!!!![]()
I made the mistake of saying out loud, "Poor brother! He will end up having 80% of guests at his wedding who are total strangers to him!"
And then, I kena a huge scolding from mom, who got wide-eyed defensive and exclaimed, "Of course! He's MY son! It's a BIG DEAL!"![]()
Originally posted by nightzip:That's nothing, my friend get married that time, had 86 tables!
My cousin had 108 tablesOriginally posted by Rhonda:![]()
86 tables?!!!!!
I peng sanz liao!!![]()
Biangz... 10 tables already I'll feel stifled... 86 tables is gonna kill me many times over!![]()
Piangz!!!!Originally posted by elindra:My cousin had 108 tables
I was like![]()
It's actually rude and inconsiderate to be late... but it's become so widespread now that it's become ''acceptable behaviour'' cause well, everyone else seems to be doing it.Originally posted by av98m:Piangz!!!!![]()
Your poor cousin!
BTW, I've attended chinese wedding dinners in both singapore and malaysia. Why is it that in every single case, the Malaysians arrive on time or before time but the Singaporeans mostly arrive LATE??? WTF is wrong with us?![]()
Yeah....it was like the first time I realised that if I don't cut in line like everyone else when boarding bus or mrt, I'd be the LAST one in even if I was all the way in front! Singaporeans can be really fucked up in some aspects.Originally posted by Rhonda:It's actually rude and inconsiderate to be late... but it's become so widespread now that it's become ''acceptable behaviour'' cause well, everyone else seems to be doing it.
It's kinda like, ''In the land of the insane, the sane are insane!''![]()
I learnt it the hard way too... I was shoved out of a train at City Hall once... and when the doors slammed close and I was left standing on the platform, I wasOriginally posted by av98m:Yeah....it was like the first time I realised that if I don't cut in line like everyone else when boarding bus or mrt, I'd be the LAST one in even if I was all the way in front! Singaporeans can be really fucked up in some aspects.![]()
You're going to be lucky ... your mom and grandma won't be breathing down your neck to do crazy stuff!Originally posted by Lingos:I must fess up.
I hate my sister in law.
Anyway having said that... it's such a disgusting parade. I'm glad my mum hates these events. My grandma cannot be bothered, she'd rather sit at home and have a meal at home.
Thank you god!
You can imagine the kum-buay, cheers for each table, 80+ tables took us 2 hours! stand and walk until so tired...hahaha...Originally posted by Rhonda:![]()
86 tables?!!!!!
I peng sanz liao!!![]()
Biangz... 10 tables already I'll feel stifled... 86 tables is gonna kill me many times over!![]()
no loh, the campsite is inside a fenced up area and those bears already accustomed to it and will steer clear of the electric fences and they grow accustomed to tourists already.Originally posted by Rhonda:chunyong, if the bears see you there intruding on their territory, they will pound you instead!![]()