In the very first place,pardon my ignorance but did you ever state why and reasons to justify your claim as to why the people in here are elitist..All you ever did was to claim this and that,but not without actually posting the reasons to support your claim..And the flame-war between gaz and ged has got nothing to do with your claim of a pack of hungry wolves ganging up on a poor sheep..So take it as a seperate entity..Originally posted by KarismaPurdue:I’ve read through the replies and frankly am not surprised by the replies but pleased the admin staff have not banned me for being ‘taboo’. It is the same old “let’s hunt in packs” mentality.
Meaning, this guy is the baddie, letÂ’s all gang up and Flame him which is a typical response in an immature board or should I say board comprising immature members. I was under the impression we would get a fair discussion in Club 30 as I thought it comprises of members above 29??? I stand corrected if itÂ’s not.. maybe you should change it to Club Elite or Club Elite Wannabe? Just a suggestionÂ…
WhatÂ’s so difficult about flaming the baddie or making juvenile remarks like heÂ’s Mummy is still nursing him? Nothing, it is sooo easy isnÂ’t it? ItÂ’s easy because you are in the mainstream.
So, whatÂ’s difficult to do in a board like this? WhatÂ’s difficult to do is going against the grain which typifies Singapore, go against the grain? Ohh! Hmm?!
Look back on your posts, did you have the courage to go against the grain in this thread or any other? I am sure many of you who have posted your replies will in you heart of hearts say no which typifies a mentality which will not suit you overseas where you have to be a #2 dragon.. a house lizardÂ…roll with the times and when the shit hits, drop your tail and hope. Why? because you are a foreigner with yellow skin.. just like me. Without your normal support group.
Which brings me to the‘green eyed’ issue. Frankly I’m a Singaporean who has worked overseas for close to 9 years, most of it in Genoble, France. And many a time I have wished that things would be different and I could be back home making just enough to get by and feed my kids who I see every once in a while and being in my comfort zone with friends and family. So your issue of being jealous is ‘not gravy’.
Let me ask you something which any Singaporean overseas asks him or herself in quiet or troubled timesÂ…why? Why do I have to work away from my comfort zone? And the answer?...$$$. So what IÂ’m saying is, practice some humility (esp in a SG themed board), just because youÂ’re going away or are working away (and in this case studying away) doesnÂ’t mean you are superior or any better than the other guy selling noodles in Toa Payoh. In fact, I am sure that the day will come when you long for the comfort zone which is Singapore (with all itÂ’s overweight baggage).
So, in closing.. you have the opportunity to go away, thatÂ’s great, but be humble, it doesnÂ’t automically make you a winner, donÂ’t be an elitist (in a SG based board).
why elitist? well my take on 'elitist' is feeling or expressingOriginally posted by stellazio:In the very first place,pardon my ignorance but did you ever state why and reasons to justify your claim as to why the people in here are elitist..All you ever did was to claim this and that,but not without actually posting the reasons to support your claim..And the flame-war between gaz and ged has got nothing to do with your claim of a pack of hungry wolves ganging up on a poor sheep..So take it as a seperate entity..![]()
I agree that I'm not familiar with the thread starter(s?) of theOriginally posted by littlestream:Errr, KarsimaPurdue, maybe it boils down to familiarity with the threadstarter. You may feel that she overly reacted but for most of us here in Club 30, we have become friends.
So, it's like you know your friend has this ambition and mind you, it may or may not materialize eh? So, when she made it, we are all happy for her. And naturally, she is jubilated. I mean put yourself in our shoes or maybe even hers. If you have something happy, won't you want to share with friends or people whom you care? Or let's work it the other way.
If you have a good friend who succeeded or achieved something, wouldn't you be happy for him/her?
If I can add, it is also about intent. Like I tell my son. If I say anything that may have hurt or upset him. As long as he believes the intent was meant well, he wouldn't be upset. So, if you believe threadstarter's seeking of advice is with genuine intent, you wouldn't feel that she is boasting, bragging or broadcasting.
I start wu liao threads too and ranting away, if you had read a ice hockey thread. I am almost 70% of the time talking to myself. Does it mean I am bragging about my knowledge of the game? No, it's just a "place" for me to rant, for lack of a better word.
Like I said earlier, yes, you have your views and sure does everyone and we just have to respect that although we may or may not agree. The key thing is to "argue/challenge" objectively.
Anyways, life is short. Even at my "young" age, I have witnessed changed of life, at a swipe of a misfortune. Whatever we have and are, can always be taken away from us....at any time. So, just live life and be happy. I am sure you are and hopefully, this thread can be laid to rest. Or if not, then continue in a kinder tone.
Cheers and take care.
Originally posted by rainee:And pls, it is this thread of yours that is causing trouble, it has attracted many troublemakers to come in here and flame the regulars here. So should I say you shud never have started this thread in the first place so as to avoid people from starting all these flamings?
i stated that its my honest (humble) opinion that the issue of migrationOriginally posted by rainee:I honestly do not get the connection between being humble and not asking for others' opinions about migration
Yes I am going to be 27 - so? Does it really matter ? I like to talk to matured people . I don't long for Singapore any more . 3.5 years out and never once for a holiday. Yes we work for $$$ ...but of course I do part time work and happily have a social life here rather than to work like a robot and have no life in singapore.Originally posted by KarismaPurdue:I’ve read through the replies and frankly am not surprised by the replies but pleased the admin staff have not banned me for being ‘taboo’. It is the same old “let’s hunt in packs” mentality.
Meaning, this guy is the baddie, letÂ’s all gang up and Flame him which is a typical response in an immature board or should I say board comprising immature members. I was under the impression we would get a fair discussion in Club 30 as I thought it comprises of members above 29??? I stand corrected if itÂ’s not.. maybe you should change it to Club Elite or Club Elite Wannabe? Just a suggestionÂ…
WhatÂ’s so difficult about flaming the baddie or making juvenile remarks like heÂ’s Mummy is still nursing him? Nothing, it is sooo easy isnÂ’t it? ItÂ’s easy because you are in the mainstream.
So, whatÂ’s difficult to do in a board like this? WhatÂ’s difficult to do is going against the grain which typifies Singapore, go against the grain? Ohh! Hmm?!
Look back on your posts, did you have the courage to go against the grain in this thread or any other? I am sure many of you who have posted your replies will in you heart of hearts say no which typifies a mentality which will not suit you overseas where you have to be a #2 dragon.. a house lizardÂ…roll with the times and when the shit hits, drop your tail and hope. Why? because you are a foreigner with yellow skin.. just like me. Without your normal support group.
Which brings me to the‘green eyed’ issue. Frankly I’m a Singaporean who has worked overseas for close to 9 years, most of it in Genoble, France. And many a time I have wished that things would be different and I could be back home making just enough to get by and feed my kids who I see every once in a while and being in my comfort zone with friends and family. So your issue of being jealous is ‘not gravy’.
Let me ask you something which any Singaporean overseas asks him or herself in quiet or troubled timesÂ…why? Why do I have to work away from my comfort zone? And the answer?...$$$. So what IÂ’m saying is, practice some humility (esp in a SG themed board), just because youÂ’re going away or are working away (and in this case studying away) doesnÂ’t mean you are superior or any better than the other guy selling noodles in Toa Payoh. In fact, I am sure that the day will come when you long for the comfort zone which is Singapore (with all itÂ’s overweight baggage).
So, in closing.. you have the opportunity to go away, thatÂ’s great, but be humble, it doesnÂ’t automically make you a winner, donÂ’t be an elitist (in a SG themed board).
(base edited to themed in last sentence)
Originally posted by fymk:I stated earlier that if you have the chance to move..great and all the best..
Yes I am going to be 27 - so? Does it really matter ? I like to talk to matured people . I don't long for Singapore any more . 3.5 years out and never once for a holiday. Yes we work for $$$ ...but of course I do part time work and happily have a social life here rather than to work like a robot and have no life in singapore.
Don't be elitist? You are the one started the accusations . Yes I stated the green eyed monster because I met many people like that in real life . They flame people for asking innocent questions about migration . Rhonda was being happy that she could finally move out of singapore and into greener pastures. In no way can you understand the shit the healthcare profession undergoes in singapore. No right have you to comment on any one being elitist . Even a cabinet maker can migrate - it just depends how good his skill is .
Rhonda wasn't being elitist ...she was probably being relieved that finally she get to go somewhere which would appreciate her help and would pay her reasonably well for that same help, instead of rotting away in a place where connections and being a government scholar matters THAN WHETHER U CAN PERFORM IN THE ACTUAL WORK.
ELITISTS are the ones who chase us off from our homeland because they believe we are sheep but they forgot people have minds of their own and skills which other countries want . ELITISTS are the ones born with yje silver spoon , connections and power while the rest of us have to build our lives from the start. ELITISTS are the ones who encourage foreign talent to take out high paying jobs so that singaporeans like you have to work overseas for the $$$ . HELLO....go talk to the real elitists who call singaporeans stupid while they bask in their millions. THe elitists need more humility than any of us in the forums ...go tell it to their faces - I dare you . Of course u know what happens - they shut u up and continue on their elitists way .
Independent of anyone else who has written in response to you and to whom I have written in response to, I will say the following:Originally posted by KarismaPurdue:I’ve read through the replies and frankly am not surprised by the replies but pleased the admin staff have not banned me for being ‘taboo’. It is the same old “let’s hunt in packs” mentality.
So, in closing.. you have the opportunity to go away, thatÂ’s great, but be humble, it doesnÂ’t automically make you a winner, donÂ’t be an elitist (in a SG themed board).
(base edited to themed in last sentence)
Thank you for your reply . As for elitist , my point is as defined below your definition of elitismOriginally posted by KarismaPurdue:I stated earlier that if you have the chance to move..great and all the best..
but your issues seem to be diffrent and I totally agree with what you are
saying (?) that the forign talent (?) (am i right? is that the crux of yr post?)
are taking the jobs away back home. And I resent that as much as the next guy but being a SGporean overseas, it comes back to me..if France has a protectionist policy, than I would be out of job... if Aust had a protectionist policy than we wouldnt be even discussing this.
I do not agree with yr point abt elistist being the ones born with the
silver spoon,being born with a silver spoon does not gurantee you anything..
in Rhonda's kind reply earlier..she mentioned she has worked hard for her
oppurtunity (yes, i read it) which higlights the point that anyone can make, not just being born rich.
I outlined in a previous post what I thought an elitist is..
yr defination and mine might differ and I respect yr differing
view as everyone has his own opinion of what is kosher.
Thanks for yr reply
Definitions of Elitist on the Web:Originally posted by KarismaPurdue:why elitist? well my take on 'elitist' is feeling or expressing
that you are better than the rest. I'm sure the learned ppl will
post a dictionary.com reply refuting this
the flame war btwn two of your kakis? no..i was referring to all
the lackeys pitching in to the cause
Cheers, thanks for yr reply.. i have to go and will come back tomorrow.
typo on 'expressing' corrected on edit
*yawn* Oh, very well - if this is going to be kindergarten hour, carry out your little show-and-tell if you have to. Just please, don't be boring.Originally posted by Gazelle:I noticed in your post that you always like to speaks on behalf of the masses in this forum. honestly do you think these people are actually with you? Of course the moderator are with you lah.
Ged, it seem that you didnt learn your lesson huh? Do you really want me to scan a copy of my boarding pass to humiliate you in club30?Want to try? Got the balls donkey?
Before you take that plunge, let me give you some hint.
HINT : Sherton Airport hotel is connect to schiphol airport and it is about 5 mins walking distant from the hotel lobby to the check in counter at the airport. flight time from amsterdam to singapore is about 14 hours and traveling by SIA, they are usually on time. Do your maths and then come back and take the Gazelle challenge.
This is getting really exciting. I hope Ged dont chicken out or try to change subject here or ask the moderator to lock this thread....![]()
scan boarding pass only? Alamak ...I can pick up first class boarding pass from the bin and say it is mine ...no no u must scan ur passport and then boarding pass with ur name visualised then I believe lah ....
quote:Originally posted by Gazelle:
I noticed in your post that you always like to speaks on behalf of the masses in this forum. honestly do you think these people are actually with you? Of course the moderator are with you lah. Laughing
Ged, it seem that you didnt learn your lesson huh? Do you really want me to scan a copy of my boarding pass to humiliate you in club30? Laughing Want to try? Got the balls donkey?
Before you take that plunge, let me give you some hint.
HINT : Sherton Airport hotel is connect to schiphol airport and it is about 5 mins walking distant from the hotel lobby to the check in counter at the airport. flight time from amsterdam to singapore is about 14 hours and traveling by SIA, they are usually on time. Do your maths and then come back and take the Gazelle challenge. Laughing
This is getting really exciting. I hope Ged dont chicken out or try to change subject here or ask the moderator to lock this thread.... Twisted Evil
*yawn* Oh, very well - if this is going to be kindergarten hour, carry out your little show-and-tell if you have to. Just please, don't be boring.
Originally posted by Gedanken:*yawn* Oh, very well - if this is going to be kindergarten hour, carry out your little show-and-tell if you have to. Just please, don't be boring.
Amen to that.Originally posted by alexkusu:I just learnt one thing from this... Ged holds a doctorate![]()
OK loh. can you go find me a first class boarding of the same flight and on the same date...Want to take that Gazelle challenge?Originally posted by fymk:scan boarding pass only? Alamak ...I can pick up first class boarding pass from the bin and say it is mine ...no no u must scan ur passport and then boarding pass with ur name visualised then I believe lah ....
ok now for this part
http://www.slh.com/
The above link are for exclusive luxury hotels ......maybe next time u can stay in one and tell me how it is?
I think you have some serious problemOriginally posted by Gazelle:OK loh. can you go find me a first class boarding of the same flight and on the same date...Want to take that Gazelle challenge?
If you talk the talk, you better walk the walk. If not that is as good as talking cock.....![]()
*Ged is avoiding confrontation to safe face*Originally posted by Gedanken:*yawn* Oh, very well - if this is going to be kindergarten hour, carry out your little show-and-tell if you have to. Just please, don't be boring.
if someone holds a doctorate and keeps a low profile. I would say that he is great. If someone like to brag about it, to the extent of scanning his psycho certificate and post it on the forum, I would say that is really stupid.Originally posted by alexkusu:I just learnt one thing from this... Ged holds a doctorate![]()