maybe he is speaking on behalf of the elite wannabe from sgforum.Originally posted by laurence82:Gee, its two against the rest. If Ged isnt speaking for the masses, he is speaking for two bumbling fools?
Someone need to do some math first....![]()
there is 3 Ps when migrating:Originally posted by Gazelle:if someone holds a doctorate and keeps a low profile. I would say that he is great. If someone like to brag about it, to the extent of scanning his psycho certificate and post it on the forum, I would say that is really stupid.
I addressed this earlier, and like I said everyone is entitled toOriginally posted by fymk:Definitions of Elitist on the Web:
* An elitist genetic algorithm is one that always retains in the population the best individual found so far. Tournament selection is naturally elitist.
www.cs.bham.ac.uk/~wbl/thesis.glossary.html
* someone who believes in rule by an elite group
wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
* Elitism is a belief or attitude that an elite— a selected group of persons whose personal abilities, specialized training or other attributes place them at the top of any field (see below)— are the people whose views on a matter are to be taken most seriously, or who are alone fit to govern. Thus elitism sees an elite as occupying a special position of authority or privilege in a group, set apart from the majority of people who do not match up with their abilities or attributes. ...
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elitist
Webster's definition
Main Entry: elit·ism
Pronunciation: A-'lE-"ti-z&m, i-, E-
Function: noun
1 : leadership or rule by an elite
2 : the selectivity of the elite; especially : SNOBBERY 1
3 : consciousness of being or belonging to an elite
Do you see any of us of occupying any special position of authority or privilege in the group? Or saying that no one can match us overseas people? Do you see any potential rulers in the forums here? Do any of the admin actually control who we talk to on the forums?
My view is based on the above definitions I can find . Anyone who declares they have a mandate to rule singapore is as above .
Can you really say this group is elitist? Nope .
Originally posted by KarismaPurdue:why elitist? well my take on 'elitist' is feeling or expressing
that you are better than the rest. I'm sure the learned ppl will
post a dictionary.com reply refuting this
You like it hot dont you? you naughty little mother hen....Originally posted by Rhonda:Yo, Ged! Didcha know that you were being 'protected' by me? Oooh yesss... I'm from that pai kia girl tribe, just like the one you see in Sin City! So you'd better pay up your protection money which is like waaaaaay overdue, or else I'll kickass, man!!![]()
Oh gee, you guys, don't stop! I'm having a lotta fun laughing at the antics, accusations, drama, what-not in here!
Lock this thread? Naaaaaah! It's sizzling hot!![]()
I would rather not even attempt to have an objective discussionOriginally posted by Gedanken:I'm doubly saddened when I read of your experience of being treated as second-class in France. I myself have been fortunate enough to have been treated with decency, if not genuine friendship,
let me guess. Peanuts?Originally posted by alexkusu:there is 3 Ps when migrating:
1.) PR (Permanent residence)
2.) Phd (the qualifications, not permanent head damage)
3.) I forgotten
so i guess achieveing one of them is something to be proud about...maybe im wrong.
Really? If there is no fire, how can there be smoke?Originally posted by rainee:I do not think the people in here think they are better than anyone else leh...when they dun post things like "I saw people zao geng" or other similar dumb topics and choose to post something more intellectually stimulating doesn't mean they think they are better.
So spamming the forum with topicss like "Does girls urinate?" You call that clever and spice up your life?Originally posted by Gazelle:Really? If there is no fire, how can there be smoke?
Honestly I dont think it is right for you to say tha topic like I saw people zao geng is dumb, because they are just colors in life. The thread starter might be kids, teenage, or even people of low IQ. So does that mean that they deserve less rights than you people who THINK you are so smart.
The fact that people in Club30 couldnt accept things happening outside here is because people here are made to belief that everything that is discussed here are intellectually stimulation.
Topics like. What Music you Like. What you eat for lunch? Cold storage promotion, Instant noodle.. You call these intellectually stimulating?
Think you better go look for help, elitism is getting too deep into you system liao.
If you think that you are being intelligent by participating discussions about boring day to day thingy, please be my guest.Originally posted by rainee:So spamming the forum with topicss like "Does girls urinate?" You call that clever and spice up your life?
When I said some of those topics of theirs like what you have mentioned above, I mean to say, they do have the normal and mundane sort of topics too, so why do you all still say they are being all arrogant and elitist?
I think you are the one who shud get help. I think they will be lots of people who will agree with me on this one
No one said such threads are glamourised.Only stating the point that they have every equal status as the nonsensical threads in Bar etc..Originally posted by Gazelle:If you think that you are being intelligent by participating discussions about boring day to day thingy, please be my guest.
Looking at the threads you started.....I only can say one thing "Stimulating"
I wont dare to compare myself with someone who have posted 9000+ times in this forum.Originally posted by LazerLordz:No one said such threads are glamourised.Only stating the point that they have every equal status as the nonsensical threads in Bar etc..
You are the one who wants to up the ante by doing a retrograde claim and pushing an unrelated agenda about Ged into this forum.
So pray tell, are you so lacking in life that you have to stay here 24/7 and bitch?Why don't you see that it is not a crime to talk about soup?We try to be objective, but there comes a time where supposedly neutrality and political correctness is threatened by those who find it suitable to diss off people who in the first place, have merely acted normally within the scope of common human behavior and you find that offensive to you.
And by dragging up old issues to settle your case, it is no different from using the old, hallowed bones of some long-dead Lord Chief Justice to fight a traffic summons in the local courts.
Doesn't that look psychologically threatening?Not to me or to anyone else, but rather, to you.
Good day.
oh come on, I am not that crazy over starblueOriginally posted by alexkusu:hmm.. i tought of this forum as sth similar to "starblue's heaven"....I associate topics here such as "What should I bring?", "What bags should I buy?", etc to be sth of equivalent nature in starblue's forum such as "Good morning", "Omg, so cute", etcc...
would that be considered elitism? without being technical about I, i think club30 is a place where forumnites around that age gather... since the older you are, the more mature you get, I think thats what sets them apart from other forumnites. Same in starblue's forum.. its more of a case where adoring fans or lovestuck forumnites circle around starblue the same planets circle around the sun.
is that still considered elitism? How bout the forum for "Overseas Singaporeans" ? or "$Money$" ? how about "Classical Music Corner"?
i did not say anything regarding ur sexuality............... actually i was thinkin bout those ppl they hit on starblueOriginally posted by rainee:oh come on, I am not that crazy over starblueI am not lesbian leh...
I just think it is a nice play for me to post w/o being threatened by all these flamers and not being able to do anything to stop them...
I think people are just jealous that this forum is doing so well...it is in the top 10 constantly...and ranking does matter to some people...
Hi Dick, how is it going?Originally posted by Deportivo:no one in club30 has ever labelled himself/herself, or themselves, as elite(s). I think the person who started this thread made this accusation might be a little lack of self-confidence. We are just plain janes, tom,dick and harrys here.
Cos I am always there ma, so I tot you are referring to me oso...Originally posted by alexkusu:i did not say anything regarding ur sexuality............... actually i was thinkin bout those ppl they hit on starblue![]()
not to bad, Harry.Originally posted by alexkusu:Hi Dick, how is it going?
I risk being accused of "siding the same gang" for saying this (altho' I'm not even part of any gang), but I think as long as the thoughts and viewpoints expressed here don't agree with the 1st post, we're not going to see any convergent of views anytime soon, simply bec. the thread starter has his own specific definition of the word "elitism". I'm not saying his definition is wrong, mind you (Live and let live, man!Originally posted by alexkusu:hmm.. i tought of this forum as sth similar to "starblue's heaven"....I associate topics here such as "What should I bring?", "What bags should I buy?", etc to be sth of equivalent nature in starblue's forum such as "Good morning", "Omg, so cute", etcc...
would that be considered elitism? without being technical about I, i think club30 is a place where forumnites around that age gather... since the older you are, the more mature you get, I think thats what sets them apart from other forumnites. Same in starblue's forum.. its more of a case where adoring fans or lovestuck forumnites circle around starblue the same planets circle around the sun.
is that still considered elitism? How bout the forum for "Overseas Singaporeans" ? or "$Money$" ? how about "Classical Music Corner"?
no. 1. I ain't flying no where so I cannot pick up ticketsOriginally posted by Gazelle:OK loh. can you go find me a first class boarding of the same flight and on the same date...Want to take that Gazelle challenge?
If you talk the talk, you better walk the walk. If not that is as good as talking cock.....![]()
That is a fine example of an elitist who judges others .....really the above show an attitude of an elitist who thinks some people here need help . Hey karisma ...u found a guy with elitist attitude here -> Gazelle . Prime example in fact .Originally posted by Gazelle:Really? If there is no fire, how can there be smoke?
Honestly I dont think it is right for you to say tha topic like I saw people zao geng is dumb, because they are just colors in life. The thread starter might be kids, teenage, or even people of low IQ. So does that mean that they deserve less rights than you people who THINK you are so smart.
The fact that people in Club30 couldnt accept things happening outside here is because people here are made to belief that everything that is discussed here are intellectually stimulating
Topics like. What Music you Like. What you eat for lunch? Cold storage promotion, Instant noodle.. You call these intellectually stimulating?
Think you better go look for help, elitism is getting too deep into you system liao.
Common lah, why do you have to kid yourself, this sgforums free, but Club30 is not FREE....it is regulated and controlled by the elitist from club30.Originally posted by fymk:That is a fine example of an elitist who judges others .....really the above show an attitude of an elitist who thinks some people here need help . Hey karisma ...u found a guy with elitist attitude here -> Gazelle . Prime example in fact .
Get a life - this is a free forum . People are free to discuss whatever they want . So what if someone want to discuss instant noodles ...maybe they just want to try another brand or want to know the worst brand to buy . Not everyone wants to discuss the theory of relativity or the unification theory or string theory .
if you cant walk the walk, please dont talk the talk..Originally posted by fymk:no. 1. I ain't flying no where so I cannot pick up tickets
alot of people discard first class boarding tickets in the plane ...duh and I don't wish to rummage thru airport bins for a boarding ticket . You can also pick up your friend's luxury boarding pass mah ...how I know you are not bluffing ...look at no. 2
no. 2 . U cannot do ....u don't talk so much . I didn't talk about luxury holidays - u did . Passport with name and first class boarding ticket with the same name on it is the only way to prove u went on a luxury holiday .
no.3 Sheraton is 5 star but not really that great enough to boast about ... . Like I said www.slh.com shows all the boutique luxury hotels of the world . Personalised service etc .