Finally calmed down and got to sleep for two hours last night, aching all over, esp on both arms cause I had to mop up the yucky stuff and wring them out - almost seven bucketful of it!!Originally posted by Wanda:Hi Rhonda...I've yet to read abt it, but sorry to hear tt...it must have been really bad. If need be, call the HDB officer in charge to deal with them contractors.
I had a nightmarish night too....dreamt that I was having exams (again, after all these years)...including maths and geography!!![]()
HahahhahahaOriginally posted by Rhonda:Finally calmed down and got to sleep for two hours last night, aching all over, esp on both arms cause I had to mop up the yucky stuff and wring them out - almost seven bucketful of it!!Soooo tired now!
When I finally slept, I dreamt I was living in this large, weird house where I was escaping from something evil.I even saw a black cat looking like Cody walking towards me, then it jumped up and opened its jaws and clamped down on my butt!!! And it was sooooo painful I couldn't walk, couldn't run, couldn't yell even and I was staggering around, crying in pain!
Heeeeelp! I'm going insane!!![]()
I'm already very calm but if the contractors are going to shirk responsibility, I cannot guarantee I won't morphe into the devil incarnate!Originally posted by Wanda:Rhonda....calm down, and before you do anything else, go have breakfast and a nice cup of tea. That ought to make you feel better.![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:choco, yeah, it was an absolute nightmare. And I've worked myself ragged for hours last night, cleaning up the stinky, greasy mess, throwing out damaged stuff... but I'm keeping the damaged books to let them see.
I can't believe the folks upstairs are plumbers... and yet they committed such an error!
And last night, when MG said I should have better anger management, I felt like saying I'd love to see how he'd react when the kitchen pipes in his home bursts and spews forth a waterfall of stinky, ooey, greasy, murky brown water and NOBODY wanted to do anything about it!It was years of decayed foodstuff and what-not trapped in the crevices of the pipe that all burst forth in their glory to see light of day last night.
The landlord came, the contractors came, and all was well. I think the contractors knew it was kinda their fault in a way - their foreign workers live upstairs and had they not been too vigorous in trying to unchoke their sink, it wouldn't have resulted in a chunk of the old cast iron pipe being blasted out!Originally posted by The man who was death:Rhonda, is everything fine at yr house now??
woot~~ cheers!!Originally posted by Rhonda:The landlord came, the contractors came, and all was well. I think the contractors knew it was kinda their fault in a way - their foreign workers live upstairs and had they not been too vigorous in trying to unchoke their sink, it wouldn't have resulted in a chunk of the old cast iron pipe being blasted out!
They took action very fast and have now removed the cabinetry and have exposed the pipe. They're returning after lunch to complete everything by the end of today.
Siiiigh... soon, the nightmare shall end!![]()
Originally posted by choco B:*snort* I think men just have the auto-response when they encounter an angry female - "cool down... calm down...". They feel subconsciously threatened lah.
Anyway this is not about psychoanalysing them.
The good thing is that since your upstairs neighbours are the official contractors doing your neighbourhood upgrade, they can't run. I think it's good idea to bring in Town Council & HDB to act as witness & mediator.
Heck you should even demand that they send some workers down to help you clean up the mess. Imagine the smell if left too long !
Originally posted by The man who was death:woot~~ cheers!!![]()
only sometimes meh??Originally posted by Rhonda:
Deathy, sometimes, you're quite nice. Sometimes...![]()
Aiyah... joking lah!Originally posted by The man who was death:only sometimes meh??![]()
the teaser thing?? or his body thing??Originally posted by Wanda:Rhonda, sooo sorry to hear abt the books and files. Some things just cannot be compensated by money.
Deathman...wanna ask u abt Brainiac - wat was the thing about John Tickles segment last night? I wasn't listening.
Body one - where the bosomy nurse touches his forearmOriginally posted by The man who was death:the teaser thing?? or his body thing??
See? A little diplomacy and a dash of restraint go a long way.Originally posted by Rhonda:Today, because people came as promised, because fast action was taken, I didn't blow my top. Everything was conducted in a civilised manner with them being very apologetic. So, ok, all's well.
By the end of tomorrow, everything would be settled. My work schedule has been disrupted because of this though.And yes, I'm pushing for compensation for the 20+ books that have been destroyed.
A few of them are out of publication, and there's one precious, priceless file from my US attachment in Johns Hopkins that's totally soaked through and useless now.
The body i didn't concentrate, focus more on the nurseOriginally posted by Wanda:Body one - where the bosomy nurse touches his forearm.
What teaser? I turned on tv a bit later and saw the ice cube one....amazing that hot water freezes faster than cold water, huh. Any scientific explanation?
Haiya u!Originally posted by The man who was death:The body i didn't concentrate, focus more on the nurse![]()
i also dunno the hot water thing, they also said it's a scientific mystery
Yo, MG, tell me how restrained you can be when water's GUSHING out of your pipes in the ceiling and rapidly flooding your apartment and NO ONE seems to come to your aid!Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:See? A little diplomacy and a dash of restraint go a long way.
Unfortunately, the soaked books and files aren't going to dry out anytime soon in Singapore's humid weather. Your best bet would be to lay them out in an air-conditioned room and attempt to let the drier air remove as much of the moisture as possible.
why u focus on your hubby?? afraid that he also like me??Originally posted by Wanda:Haiya u!Unlike u, at least i was focusing on my husband and hence missed the dialogue.
The current one is the 1st series? Then wait lor...wait long long.Originally posted by The man who was death:Man!! I wish mediacorp can show the third series of brainiac, currently showing in britain