Here ya go:Originally posted by kopiosatu:do i need a working visa when i apply for internship in the States?
Originally posted by Rhonda:Huh? I got something up next month? How come I don't know one??
What? What?? A whirlwind courtship and marriage??![]()
Don't mind... cause it's easy for me to gib my man a visa to Australia too!
What do u mean kids dun have as good a life as in Sg? Nice environment, more space and less pressure from school work...i think that's a nice life.Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:It's quite the opposite!! Not allowed to spank kids here, if u do, u will get charged & the kid can even bring u to court
kids here also don't have as good a life as they do in Sg...
yea... i won't divulge too much to her until i assess how she's really like in the coming months where i have more opportunity to work with her. she seems to be well liked by higher authority though so that's a gd signOriginally posted by Wanda:Well, it's hard to say, unless you know what she's like. It could mean that she enjoys working with you, or thinks you will be a nice boss, so she wouldn't mind staying on.Anyway, you can judge from her performance and how she interacts with other colleagues, to see if she's genuine.
I remember a cross-stitch book, 'Seasons of Life' where there were four cross-stitch photos depicting a couple going through the four seasons of their life.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee.......pai seh.......I was just telling SL that I am a boring person. Yah, rigid and routined.Must be the age factor. I was never like that. Wild and free......erm.......in my childhood and teenage years lah. Maybe tired liao.
Well, what I read is that, many lack discipline..Originally posted by Wanda:What do u mean kids dun have as good a life as in Sg? Nice environment, more space and less pressure from school work...i think that's a nice life.![]()
Sweet talk... I mean, how long have you known each other? Not even two months!Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Lol no way! Me, director?!
She didn't apply for any higher posts, not even mine, when my boss asked her to, cos she said she was thinking of quitting... then she said now that i'm here she will stick on...
dunno whether she meant it or just sweet talk only... what dya think?
Hee hee...........but then, I was not like that leh.......during my younger years.Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:sama-sama. Me too, a very boring person, seldom go out at all. perhaps that's why i ended up being a librarian![]()
Eh... you talk as if they're the only single men left on Planet Earth leh!Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
My crystal ball still showing MG and Bear.![]()
they seem to be poorer than Singaporean kids and thus cannot enjoy so much. and alot of them come from broken families. dunno, i just think that kids in Sg have a more 'rounded' life - a teacher friend of mine also observed that difference.Originally posted by Wanda:What do u mean kids dun have as good a life as in Sg? Nice environment, more space and less pressure from school work...i think that's a nice life.![]()
Yes exactly!! And it carries on with them into their adult years, too.Originally posted by sbst275:Well, what I read is that, many lack discipline..
Unlike many guys here, esp aft NS
That's what my mom and dad do now that brother's married and moving out to his own home and I've moved out since I was 21.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee...........but then, I was not like that leh.......during my younger years.
I guess, my priorities have changed. I am playing a different role. Anyways, I will look forward when son goes to uni and then hubby and I are left to our own empty nest and we can start to pak tor again, well, like travelling. He would like that and I do look forward to travelling with him in our golden years.![]()
Well, seriously, I wun spank my kids... I'm not the sort that would hurt my little onesOriginally posted by SydneyLibrarian:Yes exactly!! And it carries on with them into their adult years, too.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Eh... you talk as if they're the only single men left on Planet Earth leh!![]()
Whoever it is, I hope he's open-minded enough to not mind being a house-husband whilst looking for a job in Melbourne, cause I heard that even doctors have difficulties landing jobs there.
It'll be kewl to have a man who's happy and secure enough in his identity to understand that whilst job-searching, he'll just have to take on any interesting job that comes his way, no matter how menial. Maybe, work in a bookstore or a CD shop or a pet shop?I wouldn't mind doing those jobs myself!
But you know, some men, they'll think it's 'beneath' them to take on such jobs.![]()
So, not an over-egoistic man pour moi! Nosiree!!
ooh, if & when you do come & visit Sydney, must meet up, yah?Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee...........but then, I was not like that leh.......during my younger years.
I guess, my priorities have changed. I am playing a different role. Anyways, I will look forward when son goes to uni and then hubby and I are left to our own empty nest and we can start to pak tor again, well, like travelling. He would like that and I do look forward to travelling with him in our golden years.![]()
Your crystal ball is in severe need of a polishing!Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
My crystal ball still showing MG and Bear.![]()
Many local man thinks that way, or even if they don't, they may succumb to peer or society's pressure and conform to the norm. For me, I'll take on all sorts of temp job during my unemployed days.Originally posted by Rhonda:But you know, some men, they'll think it's 'beneath' them to take on such jobs.![]()
So, not an over-egoistic man pour moi! Nosiree!!
Wow!............sounds wonderful, Rhonda. What a richly blessed couple, your parents. You must be so happy and for them too.Originally posted by Rhonda:That's what my mom and dad do now that brother's married and moving out to his own home and I've moved out since I was 21.
They pak tor everyday! Meet for dinner, sometimes, they invite me. They'll go for movies, travel a few times every year, and lately, mom has taken to joining dad for his karaoke sessions and even my aunt and uncle have joined in too!![]()
Sometimes, my cousin and her boyfriend joins them too!
They're really wonderful to watch... growing old together, still so en ai, so deng dui!
Hopefully, God will bless me with the same kind of r/ship.![]()
Yes, yes! He's very unstereotype one. He sounds like a good husband material.Originally posted by littlestream:Hey, but you know what, Rhonda? I remembered Bear writing that he didn't mind to stay home to be house-husband leh.![]()
Hey i totally understand! i love watching travel shows and daydreaming about what it'll be like if i was on one of those adventuresOriginally posted by littlestream:You know what, SL? There may be some truth in it you know? Sometimes, we or at least me lah huh? I sort of transport myself to different world and become part of that virtual world. It is unreal but yet, therapeutic for the soul.Wah, like real eh? Kua drama also can write excuse until like that.
Maybe I'm seeing things wrong, but I get the impression that the more 'rounded' life led by kids in Singapore revolves around materialism and wealth.Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:they seem to be poorer than Singaporean kids and thus cannot enjoy so much. and alot of them come from broken families. dunno, i just think that kids in Sg have a more 'rounded' life - a teacher friend of mine also observed that difference.
Hee hee........pai seh leh, SL. But travel hor? I think we go like China or SE Asian places lah. From ang moh to ang moh? Hmmm....not sure leh. Yeah, but if Sydney is in the itinerary.......yeah, sure......will meet up.Originally posted by SydneyLibrarian:ooh, if & when you do come & visit Sydney, must meet up, yah?![]()
And tuition for maths, science, chinese, extra swimming lessons, music, and art lessons.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Maybe I'm seeing things wrong, but I get the impression that the more 'rounded' life led by kids in Singapore revolves around materialism and wealth.
Well, every country kids have their pros and cons...Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Maybe I'm seeing things wrong, but I get the impression that the more 'rounded' life led by kids in Singapore revolves around materialism and wealth.