My First Home in point form....by Gentlerock .
Age 28+: Did a heck of a lot of research and calculations to see if I could afford a place of my own. Made sure that every angle was covered and that there would be no surprises later.
Age 29: Bought a small apartment at the East Coast as a bachelor's pad. Small bedroom, small living room, small kitchen, small bathroom.....HUGE balcony. Thats why it was cheap.

It faces the beach directly (which is about 400 m away), but I can't see anything because I'm on a low floor and blocked by trees. What I liked about the place were the facilities and the environment. All colours, all nationalities (including Africans!), all languages....makes life a bit more interesting and colourful. Everyone finds the surrounding landscaped garden pleasing.....including, unfortunately, the pregnant lady mosquitoes.
Age 30: Property bubble continued to grow and my apartment appreciated by S$30-40k. Was going well on the job front and kept two cars by myself.
Age 33: Asian currency crisis struck. My apartment lost S$150k in paper value. Business started to fall. New management in the company brought in a new set of politics. Feeling insecure, I decided to get rid of one car so that I can have some cash to partially quench my thirsty property mortgage loan. Unfortunately, no one wanted to buy a 2.2-litre car in times of bad economy, so I was stuck.
Age 34: Got married

Started giving angpows every CNY

Age 35: Got retrenched, house aircon broke down, water pipes started leaking, car gearbox broke down, and everything else bad which you can think of happened. Quickly ran to wife and lovingly suggested making this apartment our matrimonial property (ie. "honey, please contribute some CPF money to our home"

). Was jobless for 8 months, spent some time backpacking and going for cheap tours, then came back and got employed again.
A *short* while later: Also known as 'present time'. Now more mature and thinking of more important things - eg. how to keep long-sightedness at bay, how to prevent balding.....how to keep it up till at least 65

I'm still living here and still loving it. I mean we're at the east coast.....parents are at Upper Thomson, in-laws are at Choa Chu Kang - implies no surprise visits by naggy elders (When are you all gonna have kids huh? How long you never sweep the floor har? etc etc). And we get to see free cheapo fireworks every new year (emergency flares of ships), we can go cycling at the beach, etc. When Metro or Robinson's have their warehouse clearance sales at Singapore Expo, we can be the first ones there too. Yes, we're also very near Ossia International, which holds clearance sales at their carpark twice yearly. I never go to all this cheapo places lah....just heard friend say only.

Food here is good too. Kangkong Jiuhu (?), satay, fanciful cafes, Killiney Kopitiam, rojak, full range of Indian foods, Siglap area, Bedok Central, Bedok Corner, Katong Tau Kwa Pau, CMC coffee shop, Hill Street Char Kway Teow (yes, its in Bedok), UMDC Seafood Centre by the beach, etc etc.
Lets see....what else.....ah yes, if war comes, Changi Airport is just 5 minutes away.