wassup sistah!Originally posted by littlestream:Good evening, brother..........
Hey, thanks for the blog eh? Your friend in Toronto too eh? But he's downtown.
I've bought the ingredients for the otak and was looking through recipes last night. Apparently, to firm the paste, I have to soak the paste for half an hour. But you know what, skeujin? I have about four different recipes, one of which has shrimps in it. I've been using this recipe and this is the one that always turn out bad and I don't know why I never learn and still uses it. Do you think that I should omit the shrimps and just stick to the paste?
I'm going to start grinding the rempah tonight and was thinking of marinading the paste as well, so the flavour can soak it and then I'll bake it tomorrow. Oh, the other thing which I think I did wrong was, all the previous attempts, I used a glass pan. This time round, I intend to use those disposable aluminium baking pan. Do you think that it would make a difference?
Orh, like that.....okay, I think that's what it is. No wonder my otak is always not compact. Slightly moist like that. While taste is okay but I consider the firmness and texture a failure everytime.Originally posted by skeujin:wassup sistah!
well i think if u wantd to use shrimp i got cook them 1st thn add into the rumpah. seafod tends to emit some water wen cookd. mayb tts whrs it goes wrong.
mayb yr glass pan is too thick too. leading to uneven cookg temperatures. u cld try steaming ur otah thou. saw it on tv once.
alamak im sure u can take out a small portion n experiment by steaming it 1st mah..Originally posted by littlestream:Orh, like that.....okay, I think that's what it is. No wonder my otak is always not compact. Slightly moist like that. While taste is okay but I consider the firmness and texture a failure everytime.
Orh, is it? I use the corning ones but I think I agree with you. Steam ah? Ho jiak boh? This will be the first time this group is trying it....I don't want to malu, know? My reputation as a gourmet cook got steadily increased among them liao leh. Hee hee..........yalah yalah.....want face lah.But I don't get it up my head one lah. It's just call "doing my best".
Thanks yah.![]()
Oh, is it?Originally posted by the Bear:glass pots and frying pans are a BAD idea...
they store too much heat and when you want the food to stop cooking, the latent heat keeps on cooking the stuff...
Okay, thanks for the suggestion ah. I'll think about it first hor. Mostly likely I will lah. Will keep you posted.Originally posted by skeujin:alamak im sure u can take out a small portion n experiment by steaming it 1st mah..![]()
Originally posted by littlestream:Oh, is it?
Glass pots I know, but what is frying pans? You mean those non-stick skillets? How come they are a bad idea?
Good evening sinned.Originally posted by s|nNeD:evening everyone!
LS,did u read my post of what tidy work place could do for you..on the previous page?Originally posted by littlestream:
early meh? 10plus liao leh... mayb cause i skipped my after dinner napOriginally posted by littlestream:Okay, thanks for the suggestion ah. I'll think about it first hor. Mostly likely I will lah. Will keep you posted.
Hey, how come tonight so early check in one? No work meh?
do bothOriginally posted by the Bear:the part between my shoulder blades is aching like mad...
should i stick a Tiger Balm plaster on it?
or go to the chinese physician tomorrow?
Orh, is that what it is? Yah, yah, because the glass pan I used is about, say, at least 2" high, that's thick, right?Originally posted by the Bear:lousy heat transfer.. too much latent heat...
got a feeling your otak is too thick... and is it cold when you attempt to make it?
it should be "room temperature" as in temperature here.. around 25 degrees celcius.. then SLOWLY cook it...
or you can steam it like cheeken says... steaming it ensures it cooks properly and it will not burn...
Orh, got. But you know what, StarPuppy? I have the tidiest and cleanest work station in the office!!!! You would think, no one "lives" there.Originally posted by StarPuppy:LS,did u read my post of what tidy work place could do for you..on the previous page?![]()
Oh........so what hours do you work, if I may ask?Originally posted by skeujin:early meh? 10plus liao leh... mayb cause i skipped my after dinner nap
haha
defrost to room temp. pre-heat is a must. put it on grill. low temp. loest rackOriginally posted by littlestream:Orh, is that what it is? Yah, yah, because the glass pan I used is about, say, at least 2" high, that's thick, right?
Yeap, straight out from the fridge to the oven. So, meaning, I have to leave it to room temp before putting it in the oven, okay, got it. But then, it means I have to pre-heat oven too, right? Should I bake or grill? And which rack? Middle or bottom? Aiyoh, Bear....pai seh ah........so lo-so (long-winded) and so many questions.
Steam ah? I really never tried it before and feels strange. So, is it steam it first then grill? Or steam and that's it?
Thanks, Bear.![]()
Originally posted by littlestream:Orh, is that what it is? Yah, yah, because the glass pan I used is about, say, at least 2" high, that's thick, right?
Yeap, straight out from the fridge to the oven. So, meaning, I have to leave it to room temp before putting it in the oven, okay, got it. But then, it means I have to pre-heat oven too, right? Should I bake or grill? And which rack? Middle or bottom? Aiyoh, Bear....pai seh ah........so lo-so (long-winded) and so many questions.
Steam ah? I really never tried it before and feels strange. So, is it steam it first then grill? Or steam and that's it?
Thanks, Bear.![]()
im bumming...Originally posted by littlestream:Oh........so what hours do you work, if I may ask?
Bear.........when I had backache, couple of weeks ago, hubby rubbed this don't know what "Rub ????" (some numbers fill the question marks). Upon application, it is cold but slowly turned warm/hot. It worked for me. Felt good and pain went away the next day. Don't know if it will work for you but maybe you will like to try it?Originally posted by the Bear:the part between my shoulder blades is aching like mad...
should i stick a Tiger Balm plaster on it?
or go to the chinese physician tomorrow?
Originally posted by littlestream:Bear.........when I had backache, couple of weeks ago, hubby rubbed this don't know what "Rub ????" (some numbers fill the question marks). Upon application, it is cold but slowly turned warm/hot. It worked for me. Felt good and pain went away the next day. Don't know if it will work for you but maybe you will like to try it?
Got it. Yipppeeee......so happy. I have a feeling it's gonna turn out good, this time!Originally posted by skeujin:defrost to room temp. pre-heat is a must. put it on grill. low temp. loest rack
Is that a new term for unemployed?Originally posted by skeujin:im bumming...![]()