Sowwy!Originally posted by jetta:The hokkien bits I understand. (Can't forget) It's the da4 fang1 and few other bits I don't.
Yah. Wanted to be next week de. Off days fully booked. >_<'Originally posted by skeujin:ger ah u organising the pool thing boh?
Eh not sure which dialect are you but for traditional teochews, si dian jing should be purchased by the groom's side. Bride's mom supposed to give her SOME gold (to show that when she marry in, she is not empty handed) but the si dian jin is part of the dowry.Originally posted by Rhonda:You won't believe it... mom thought of getting her the Si Dian Jing (Four Pieces of Gold), some Chinese wedding custom. Actually, the bride's mom is supposed to get it for her, but somehow, the modern version got twisted and my mom's quite da4 fang1 and doesn't mind buying it for her. So, off we went...
Eeeeewww!!! Taxes! Yucks!!Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Good evening, Rhonda!
I'm gradually waking up, as I'm on my third cup of coffee. Should be bouncing off the walls after the fourth one...
As for weekend plans, I'm currently monitoring the weather as I have a good friend who wants me to take him up for a ride in one of our club's planes.
Then I'm keeping tommorow (Sunday) open to complete that one task that all Americans rightfully fear and loathe with a passion but are compelled by law to do: file tax returns.
Any big plans for Sunday on your side?
Just THE PIC ? JUST the PIC ???Originally posted by littlestream:Ai mai? I post the pic after I'm done hor.![]()
Interesting. I wasn't aware of such a Chinese wedding custom. See, you learn new things seemingly everyday here on Club30.Originally posted by Rhonda:Guys, I have a story to tell you today!When it's time for you to choose your wife, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE choose wisely!!
Today, mom and I were super pissed at my brother's wife... cause she was soooooo darn ngeow!!Ended up, poor dad had to wait for us at the restaurant for our lou hei for an hour, all because of her!
You won't believe it... mom thought of getting her the Si Dian Jing (Four Pieces of Gold), some Chinese wedding custom. Actually, the bride's mom is supposed to get it for her, but somehow, the modern version got twisted and my mom's quite da4 fang1 and doesn't mind buying it for her. So, off we went...
She apparently had already shopped around the day before and had written down the model no. of what she wanted from the shop. But today, she was sucked into the hurricane of indecisiveness!![]()
In the end, what mom and I thought would be a half hour to an hour long errand turned out to be a THREE AND A HALF HOUR torture session!!!
That girl was soooooooo fussy!!! Ngeow ngeow ngeow!!! Ngeower than cats!
We even went to SIX jewellery shops before she FINALLY decided on which four she wanted!
She also chose white gold pieces WITH DIAMONDS!I mean, it's just a xing1 yi4! No need to go to all that extravagance!!
Mom didn't have lunch and she was so tired and fed-up with how fussy her daughter-in-law was, she complained to me when the two of them were out of earshot! Poor mom and dad... and me!And my poor brother... I'm sure after marriage, 'the best is yet to come'!
I've already advised my mom not to interfere when they have their baby, cause she's going to be ngeow about it and there's going to be a potential for conflicts. Mom said she's going to enjoy her retirement and doesn't wanna be suckered into ngeow stuff!![]()
Nightmare! It's turning out to be a nightmare!
wah yr valentine week so boh eng ah....Originally posted by Ferret:Yah. Wanted to be next week de. Off days fully booked. >_<'
WAHhhHHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh =~~~~~(
I want PLAY POOL !
Have to postpone to the following week. Should be 17th Febbie bah.
*gRowLs*
i agree. i always tght the 4 dot gold is from the grooms side as dowry. not the bride.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Eh not sure which dialect are you but for traditional teochews, si dian jing should be purchased by the groom's side. Bride's mom supposed to give her SOME gold (to show that when she marry in, she is not empty handed) but the si dian jin is part of the dowry.
Having said that, her behaviour is still inexcusable.
Har?? Mom's a teochew and she said the si dian jing should be from the bride's mom wor!Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Eh not sure which dialect are you but for traditional teochews, si dian jing should be purchased by the groom's side. Bride's mom supposed to give her SOME gold (to show that when she marry in, she is not empty handed) but the si dian jin is part of the dowry.
Having said that, her behaviour is still inexcusable.
quik go! make sure if i ever go to toronto i got yummy things to eatOriginally posted by littlestream:AIYOH......it's almost noon. I better run. No, no, I'm not turning into Cinderella. I need to cook lunch!
Okay, nite nite and morning morning.
Good day one and all!
*waves*![]()
Ah? This week not V day week...Originally posted by skeujin:wah yr valentine week so boh eng ah....
expected lah...
ill b patient...![]()
See yah streamieOriginally posted by littlestream:AIYOH......it's almost noon. I better run. No, no, I'm not turning into Cinderella. I need to cook lunch!
Good day one and all!
*waves*![]()
You know, I went with them to three of the shops before I got upset and decided to hide in a bookstore before I made some volatile remark!Originally posted by littlestream:oh,rhonda....sorry to hear.
i think your mum is really cool, in having her pick the 4 piece gold. hmm, maybe this means a lot to her and since she is going to have that for life, it better be something she really really like?
well, i hope this incident can pass and that everything's will be well.
It's not much, but I posted a few pictures over here in the Singaporeans Overseas forum.Originally posted by Rhonda:And hmm... haven't seen you posting new photos for a long time already! Have you stopped being trigger happy?![]()
Have a good weekend, LS!Originally posted by littlestream:AIYOH......it's almost noon. I better run. No, no, I'm not turning into Cinderella. I need to cook lunch!
Good day one and all!
*waves*![]()
Not sure why the discrepancy though.. cos my MIL is pretty traditional... i went thru a comparatively rather traditional teochew wedding...including stuff like traditional teochew cakes which we delivered PERSONALLY to the elders with invites.... (mother in law is very old, so just wish to make her happy ba) ... I didn't really mind ba. It was a nice way to get to know my hubby's relatives too.Originally posted by Rhonda:Har?? Mom's a teochew and she said the si dian jing should be from the bride's mom wor!![]()
So confusing!
And yes... my poor mom was totally exhausted and hungry and frustrated! She was standing for that many hours and that was after a day at work. She, of course, tried to be nice but when they dilly-dallied until poor dad had to wait, she got angry. She reminded them one hour before our dinner (5pm) that we had to leave already but she was soooooo blardy indecisive, by the time we left, it was already 6:15pm and poor dad had to sit there in the restaurant, surrounded by other families all enjoying their dinner!![]()
He was sitting there for one hour looking like a blardy fool!
i dunno mah. u said u only free on the 17th...Originally posted by Ferret:Ah? This week not V day week...
This week's half day going to meet some friends for a drink. A mutual friend just returned from HK.
Then my off day is my friend's bdae. Then night must celebrate chinese bdae with my parents.![]()
Wei, snatch business ah? I am the resident psychic here leh.Originally posted by stellazio:rhonda..whats ur sis in law horoscope?![]()
Originally posted by littlestream:Wei, snatch business ah? I am the resident psychic here leh.
This is just the beginning... but I no longer want to have much contact with them anymore.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Interesting. I wasn't aware of such a Chinese wedding custom. See, you learn new things seemingly everyday here on Club30.
Traditional Chinese weddings are extravagant and expensive affairs. Throw in some "ngeowness" and you have yourself a potential conflagration.Here's hoping your brother and his wife live a long, prosperous and relatively ngeow-free life.
Coming soon.Originally posted by skeujin:i dunno mah. u said u only free on the 17th...
so wens yr bday?![]()
aernt u supposed to b cooking?Originally posted by littlestream:Wei, snatch business ah? I am the resident psychic here leh.