dun have, can't even smell bak kwa at all...Originally posted by the Bear:but you got in the house?
i don't
Buy croco bak kwaOriginally posted by Rhonda:I only got to eat bak gua when I go over to my parents'!
This year, the Bee Chun Hiang bak gua was yucks! It was too tough and pretty unpalatable!Bleah! So expensive some more!
By contrast, this box of 'satay bak gua' that my mom's colleague gave her was sooooo delicious and tasty!
We're no longer going to buy Bee Chun Hiang during the CNY period.
Is this even possible in Singapore?Originally posted by sbst275:Maybe go around the island, to places never been to to unwind myself
yes!! there's actually still one kampung surviving in singapore not in pulau ubin one.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Is this even possible in Singapore?![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Is this even possible in Singapore?![]()
Cool! Does this kampung offer guided tours?Originally posted by The man who was death:yes!! there's actually still one kampung surviving in singapore not in pulau ubin one.
man, did u know that???
Cannot throw lah. It's my blood sweat soup. I'm a leftover connoisseur. Actually hurhhur hubby's complaining but I can eat the same thing for days and wont be tired of it one..Originally posted by the Bear:shro-cat.. throw away
and hey.. around CNY, a lot of things suddenly become mundo expensive while quality drops dramatically...
i'm still tickled that people line up hours and hours for Lim Chee Guan stuff.. get ripped off at $48 a kilo, and get ripped off because they outright cheat you by giving you less than the weight you paid for..
i'm paying $2 more per kilo for the bacon version
they're gonna tear down this one last remaining kampung too.....so sadOriginally posted by Meia Gisborn:Cool! Does this kampung offer guided tours?
Seriously, are there any efforts afoot by the SG govt. to preserve a kampung or two for posterity?
Yeah! Beary beary hungry!!Originally posted by the Bear:actually, i won't mind having some of that soup.. never had it before
and you can give to cult leader also.. she's looking for stuff to eat
Last time, grandma would jian the nian gao. And then, my mom did it. But for the past three years, cause my parents flew off on holiday during the CNY period, we didn't get any nian gao at all!Originally posted by The man who was death:who got zian nian gao??
mamma gonna zian it tomorrow
Never tounched West Coast Park at leastOriginally posted by Meia Gisborn:Is this even possible in Singapore?![]()
-blinks- 2 kampongs. Kampong Melayu and the chinese Kampong. Ubin still have got village headman even.. though I think now position pass down to his daughter liao. Humm.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Cool! Does this kampung offer guided tours?
Seriously, are there any efforts afoot by the SG govt. to preserve a kampung or two for posterity?
There are lots of places I'd love to visit but can't because I don't have a car.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Is this even possible in Singapore?![]()
hrhurhur i think to make the egg real fluffy.. u supposed to beat it until lots of small air bubbles come out... lotsa lotsa lotsaaaaOriginally posted by littlestream:Hey Bear.........Bear.............Bear ah.................
Anyways, I chop the chai poh, get the wok smoking hot and didn't press on the egg so it turned out fluffy. It's the BEST I've dish up, anyways although I can't say, the taste is great. An improvement, for sure. Thanks for the tips. Now, I can invite friends over for Teochew porridge on a Sunday lunch.![]()
That restaurant area is now part of a flyoverOriginally posted by Rhonda:There are lots of places I'd love to visit but can't because I don't have a car.
I really hated it when they tore down that Colbar place in Portsdown Road!![]()
There are whimsical places all over the island... hopefully, the govt will leave them unscathed!![]()