Humm... colbar ... food lousy, drinks overpriced.. service.....subjective..Originally posted by Rhonda:There are lots of places I'd love to visit but can't because I don't have a car.
I really hated it when they tore down that Colbar place in Portsdown Road!![]()
There are whimsical places all over the island... hopefully, the govt will leave them unscathed!![]()
This reminds me of this whimsical, light-hearted movie starring Sammi Cheng, "Xia4 Tian1 De4 Mo4 Mo4 Cha2"! Very lovely idea - selling drinks in a beach area!Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:-blinks- 2 kampongs. Kampong Melayu and the chinese Kampong. Ubin still have got village headman even.. though I think now position pass down to his daughter liao. Humm.
No tours that I can think of. To preserve a kampung, you need to find someone who want to live that way for posterity too. Old folks can stay but what about their kids? It's probably fun for you and me to stay in a kampong a couple of days but... to stay there long term with centipedes and etc.. is no fun.
i do know of a couple though who used to live on mainland and when they were both retrenched, decided to move over to ubin and stay in a friend's empty houset to live kampong style, and selling drinks etc to tourists and visitors.But it aint easy.
Originally posted by littlestream:Hey Bear.........Bear.............Bear ah.................
I got my report card!!!! I PASSED!!!!!
Hubby said the chai poh omelette "not bad". Well, not bad means good, right???
Anyways, I chop the chai poh, get the wok smoking hot and didn't press on the egg so it turned out fluffy. It's the BEST I've dish up, anyways although I can't say, the taste is great. An improvement, for sure. Thanks for the tips. Now, I can invite friends over for Teochew porridge on a Sunday lunch.
And........good evening Owls...............and good morning MG and Fatum.![]()
Chances are, you would have to have visited the place to reach the conclusion that it is boring.Originally posted by the Bear:yes..
just that a lot of jaded and cynical people repeat that "everywhere is boring" until people believe it to be
i loved farmart.. however, few people go there coz it's probably not sterile and air-conditioned.. and if it was, it would be "boring and far away"
there are so many places to go.. but few want to even hear about it...
alas...
The food was pretty good. Home-cooked style, definitely not the restaurant style.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Humm... colbar ... food lousy, drinks overpriced.. service.....subjective..
But it's a nice rustic place. Anyway they've put it up again, just down the road, looks almost exactly the same cos they dismantled it with the intention to put it back.
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Chances are, you would have to have visited the place to reach the conclusion that it is boring.
I think sbst275 was alluding to places he has never been to before. Given Singapore's small size, it'll be hard to find 'undiscovered' territory on the island.
(Speaking of 'discovering' new places, I remember back in my pre-NS days driving through the Mandai cemetery in the middle of the night with the song "Everytime You Go Away" blaring from the car's stereo. We were bored and were just driving around randomly, looking for 'new' places!)
Helllooooooooooooo Rhonda..........Originally posted by Rhonda:Hello, littlestream!Congratulations on passing your Chai Porh Nng test!
thanks Bear..........Originally posted by the Bear:hey.. well done!
work at it
oh.. another thing i forgot.. beat the egg well so as to add air into the eggs.. however, don't overdo it... coz to much air makes it collapse and you'll have flat and hard eggs again..
comes with experience
Well, when folks grumble that they're bored, I always tell them that it's not our responsibility to keep them entertained, too bad!Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:been to shinto shrine ruins in the middle of macritchie?
or down one of the rivers in sengkang punggol?
or the 'carpenter's trail' in pierce reservoir to see lovely cute little pitchers on the forest floor?
Off the beaten track beaches at Changi and Tanah Merah?
Lots and lots of places people really don't bother going to find out and see in Singapore.. and if they do, Hmm... it really isn't as boring as people think.
The food good?!Originally posted by Rhonda:The food was pretty good. Home-cooked style, definitely not the restaurant style.
Service... what service?!![]()
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:been to shinto shrine ruins in the middle of macritchie?
or down one of the rivers in sengkang punggol?
or the 'carpenter's trail' in pierce reservoir to see lovely cute little pitchers on the forest floor?
Off the beaten track beaches at Changi and Tanah Merah?
Lots and lots of places people really don't bother going to find out and see in Singapore.. and if they do, Hmm... it really isn't as boring as people think.
Thanks, Shro-Cat.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:hrhurhur i think to make the egg real fluffy.. u supposed to beat it until lots of small air bubbles come out... lotsa lotsa lotsaaaa
Hellooooo!!Originally posted by littlestream:Helllooooooooooooo Rhonda..........
Thanks......I was pretty pleased too but still, I have to admit, the taste is not the greatest. But an improvement is a start.
How's the packing coming along? But first to look pretty in your nice gown for your bro's wedding eh? I love wedding dinners.....erm, actually only the COLD DISH, then it's downhill all the way for me.![]()
say wat?Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Humm... colbar ... food lousy, drinks overpriced.. service.....subjective..
But it's a nice rustic place. Anyway they've put it up again, just down the road, looks almost exactly the same cos they dismantled it with the intention to put it back.
yeah.. but my sick patriotic streak comes to surface when I feel it is unfairly spoken.Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, when folks grumble that they're bored, I always tell them that it's not our responsibility to keep them entertained, too bad!![]()
There are lots of interesting things around, like you said, if only people would bother to find out.![]()
Originally posted by skeujin:say wat?
Hey where's that?! hee the real one from the little prince?!Originally posted by the Bear:yeah...
visiting that place where there's a baobab tree...
Yah! Like sometimes when I'm doing my photography at places like the botanical gardens, people will stop and wonder just what the heck I'm shooting at. They're always pleasantly suprised when I point out the tiny but very interesting looking insects and plants/flowers. And mating insects always amuse people!Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, when folks grumble that they're bored, I always tell them that it's not our responsibility to keep them entertained, too bad!![]()
There are lots of interesting things around, like you said, if only people would bother to find out.![]()
Orh...Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:The food good?!
Hummm.. I dont know. Mebbe cos I am hainanese and .. seriously! Hainanese western food has much better standards elsewhere. I went there about 3-4 times.. and each time, the food was a sad disappointment.
Service ha. Depends on ... whether you belong to the COL part of the colbar or not lor. Colbar.. short for colonial bar.
the 'new' colbar is in a diff buildg. not rebuilt from ruins.Originally posted by the Bear:they supposedly did that for Muddy Murphy's too!
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:yeah.. but my sick patriotic streak comes to surface when I feel it is unfairly spoken.
DOWN PATRIOT DOWN!!!!!
but seriously sometimes it's just a bit... 'sian'. My 'ECA' involves organising stuff for youth and sometimes when friends complain about 'nothing to do, life is so sian' I ask if they would like to join me when I organise activities. And u know.. they NEVER TURN UP!! Then after tt they will complain I am very busy, dont have time to 'entertain' them...