Erhmm colour pencils that you can apply dabs of water have been around for quite some time....it's not newOriginally posted by Rhonda:I had a box of lovely watercolour pencils that I loved sooooo much! They're some new thang - colour pencils that you can apply dabs of water too, and the effect can be just like watercolor!
I was never artistic but I tried at one stage!I stumble badly cause I'm too engrossed with the fine details that I end up getting impatient and frustrated!
I remember arming myself with pencils and a sketchbook and went to the Botanical Gardens and decided to sketch the shrimps in a small pond. It took me so blardy long just to get the head of the shrimps right that I got frustrated and left!
Cuz they are the main material for the 'cake' top decorsOriginally posted by Rhonda:Waaaaah!! So professional-looking!!
Well, I still don't get it though... how's parchment paper going to feature in your cakes?![]()
Rin is my name ^^;Originally posted by Rhonda:NekoRin, welcome to Club 30!We're happy to have you here with us cause there are a handful of us in here who love craftwork.
BTW, what does the 'Rin' in your nick stand for? The Neko I understand to be 'cat', right?
jetta here spent a few years living in Japan.
Sorry, I meant to say that they were some 'new' thang back then!Originally posted by elindra:Erhmm colour pencils that you can apply dabs of water have been around for quite some time....it's not new
I used to like to do artwork with pastels, watercolor, and color pencils and ink
In the end I mainly did color pencils and water color (technic is almost the same)
Pastels I kinda gave up coz it was sooooooo messy.![]()
Har? Not real ones??Originally posted by NekoRin:Those kind which the 'ingredients' are stryfoam, felts, craft tissue paper, parchment paper, arcylic pompoms and craft glue :3
nope, can't eat themOriginally posted by Rhonda:Har? Not real ones??![]()
Oooh... Rin the Cat!Originally posted by NekoRin:Rin is my name ^^;![]()
Thanks~~~~Originally posted by Rhonda:Oooh... Rin the Cat!I'm a cat lover, and there are quite a few of us in here too!
I've added your name to our Club 30 Red Carpet Welcome thread under March.I'm a bit hardworking today cause usually, I'll procrastinate about it! hehe!
Well, hope to see you more often in here! I think you'll feel at home here.![]()
Huh....you mean those are just cake models?Originally posted by NekoRin:Cuz they are the main material for the 'cake' top decors![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Huh....you mean those are just cake models?
WAhhhhh it looks so real!
The cakes make me wanna sink my teeth in them and go Oiishi!!!!!!
Yep, cake models of paper.Originally posted by elindra:Huh....you mean those are just cake models?
WAhhhhh it looks so real!
The cakes make me wanna sink my teeth in them and go Oiishi!!!!!!
The brown for the chocolate is just the right shade!Originally posted by NekoRin:Yep, cake models of paper.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Do you remember the 'proper' way of sewing on buttons? That method requires a toothpick or matchstick placed right under the button you're sewing. Lots of people just anyhow sew buttons using any ol' technique, as long as the button stays on, they're happy!![]()
Yeah... where you insert either a toothpick or a matchstick underneath the button as you sew it.Originally posted by choco B:There's a "proper way" ?
Now this is something I gotta google up
in dat case i'm gonna go follow this way. Cos if u sew the button too tight in, it will break veri soon...Originally posted by Rhonda:Yeah... where you insert either a toothpick or a matchstick underneath the button as you sew it.
This is to give some 'allowance' between the button and the fabric. Because after sewing, you're supposed to remove the matchstick / toothpick, and use the thread to wind around the button, so that it provides a lot of stability and strength to the button.
At least, that was what we were taught in Home Econs.Later, I read in another book on sewing that that was the 'proper' way too.
But anyways, proper way or not, as long as the button stays, it's good enough!![]()
Errrr......pai seh leh, CryoLind.........I did this in the mid 80s leh. So, boh pattern page liao leh.Originally posted by CryoLind:hey littlestream..i've been tryin to find this as i saw a frd doing it erm...13 yrs agon i did a photocopy of her photocopied pc... end up it's not so clear n too small for my eyes..now flippin thru most of those pattern books from stores, i couldn't find this....
Can send me a copy?![]()
You rang?Originally posted by Rhonda:NekoRin, welcome to Club 30!We're happy to have you here with us cause there are a handful of us in here who love craftwork.
BTW, what does the 'Rin' in your nick stand for? The Neko I understand to be 'cat', right?
jetta here spent a few years living in Japan.
I bought a taiwanese DIY pattern book & got the tools they featured in it but didn't succeed in following the patterns coz everything was in chinese 'old' characters + the patterns not really exciting lah.Originally posted by littlestream:Wow!!!! Nice........very nice, Cammy!!! And impressive!!! Do you have a pattern book or you just do it??
Yeap, it's true it takes away the fun when it becomes business eh? But then, can keep the options open, for future maybe?If got more pic, can share hor. I would love to see.

Thanx..Originally posted by CryoLind:Hey that's veri nice... really amazing..
I can't b creative like u only can follow some designs..![]()

rang?Originally posted by jetta:You rang?![]()