dun remeber tt. earliest shows i remember are the mickey mouse club. scooby doo in the afternoons n the local xiao didi series...Originally posted by jetta:You remember the kids' programme, Caldecott Corner?
They're all indoor kids these days. Poor things don't know just how much fun they're missing. We used to go out and play and not go home until it got dark. Fun! You must be in your late 30s or in the 40s?Originally posted by skeujin:days of police catch theif n lau ying zhuo xiao chi r long gone...
used to have like a stable of spiders in matchboxes. i dun think kids these days knw anythg bout fighting spiders. mayb they nvr even heard of matchsticks...
duhz...Originally posted by alexkusu:/rolls in
*cough cough*
ahem.. so sicckkkkk
where i motherly love???
*spits mucous*
/rolls out
You absolutely should. Order the chiilli dog and the chicken wings. I love both washed down with some peach cooler. Ahhhhhh........ heaven!Originally posted by skeujin:ok mus go try it one day if charlie's is stil around... heard of the plc many times bt its so outa the way...
early 30s...Originally posted by jetta:They're all indoor kids these days. Poor things don't know just how much fun they're missing. We used to go out and play and not go home until it got dark. Fun! You must be in your late 30s or in the 40s?
Then you must be in your mid 30s I'm guessing.Originally posted by skeujin:dun remeber tt. earliest shows i remember are the mickey mouse club. scooby doo in the afternoons n the local xiao didi series...
most of the other times r spent watchg p ramlee movies w my grandma...
but changi end is hell of a far away.... n recently i found out how to make the spicy sause for bufflo wings. its jus tabasco sauce w salt n smother it on some wings n yr done.Originally posted by jetta:You absolutely should. Order the chiilli dog and the chicken wings. I love both washed down with some peach cooler. Ahhhhhh........ heaven!
Come, I'm making chicken rice now.Originally posted by alexkusu:/rolls in
*cough cough*
ahem.. so sicckkkkk
where i motherly love???
*spits mucous*
/rolls out
It is. Bus #9 will get you there. Worth the trip. Sitting under the stars, good food, good company. Stay long enough to catch that famous nasi lemak stall open shop, kill two delicious stones with one throw.Originally posted by skeujin:but changi end is hell of a far away.... n recently i found out how to make the spicy sause for bufflo wings. its jus tabasco sauce w salt n smother it on some wings n yr done.
thn again who knws i mite go ther for a quiet romantic get away if i have the chance...![]()
im hitting mid 30sOriginally posted by jetta:Then you must be in your mid 30s I'm guessing.Those p ramlee movies were sometimes funny. Those were the days huh? Loved watching the Mickey Mouse club too. There was a Spanish boy named Angel. It floored me, made me wonder, who in heck would name a guy Angel?
m not a bus person lah. ill probably end up in JB. my last trip alone in a bus as from depot road to marina square n even with directions from a fren. i got lost...Originally posted by jetta:It is. Bus #9 will get you there. Worth the trip. Sitting under the stars, good food, good company. Stay long enough to catch that famous nasi lemak stall open shop, kill two delicious stones with one throw.![]()
Wah! Memory Lane just got longer! Loved Scott Baio. Happy Days to Charles in Charge. Yum! Yum!Originally posted by skeujin:im hitting mid 30s
u mus b like my sis... swooning at scott baio from charles in charge...charles in charge of our days n our nights.... omg i stil remeber the song...
i was privellaged to b able to stay up late at ngt. luved to watch solid gold w dione warrick and the solid gold dancers....![]()
So funny you!Originally posted by skeujin:m not a bus person lah. ill probably end up in JB. my last trip alone in a bus as from depot road to marina square n even with directions from a fren. i got lost...
bike bike bike all the way unlessi can get a loaner car from my neighbour...![]()
ya i remeber my sis buyg those teen mags n cutg out scott baio's pics n stickg them on her file... the trend back then...Originally posted by jetta:Wah! Memory Lane just got longer! Loved Scott Baio. Happy Days to Charles in Charge. Yum! Yum!
Those Solid Gold dancers were okay lah. Didn't like the black dancer though, she irritated me. Can't stand Dionne Warwick either. When she sings you have a bird's eye view of her nostrils.
i used to have a aussie collegue (who like migrated here for 6mths) n one day we decided to go out. he had to lead me wen we took the mrt. i was like 'errr whr do we go now? left? right? which station do we change rides?"Originally posted by jetta:So funny you!I only enjoy bus rides when it's not crowded and when there's no annoying tv blaring all that noise. Each time I return for a visit, I have to get used to so many changes.
Aiyoh!!!! Buey tahan all these memories!!!Originally posted by skeujin:ya i remeber my sis buyg those teen mags n cutg out scott baio's pics n stickg them on her file... the trend back then...
i hate dionne warrwick so nasal n screamg her lungs out. same goes for her niece wats her name n celine dion
n another of my granny's fav sohws was oshin... or ah xin... tt super long winded tear jerker. i tink tt was the 1st ever jap series in sg...
Originally posted by skeujin:i used to have a aussie collegue (who like migrated here for 6mths) n one day we decided to go out. he had to lead me wen we took the mrt. i was like 'errr whr do we go now? left? right? which station do we change rides?"
dang if i din feel like a tourist..
amazingly. giv me a bike n ill lead u to the ends of thailand w/o a hitch...
dunno fanfare but in knw got tiger beat n superteen n radio & tv times...Originally posted by jetta:Aiyoh!!!! Buey tahan all these memories!!!
That time there was a Sg tabloid called Fanfare. You remember? I was also a big fan of Tiger Beat and Super Teen. Had posters of all the hunks plastered all over my bedroom wall.
I don't like Celine Dion too!!!! Hi 5! I feel bad because she's a nice person and all but I just cannot tahan her singing.
Oshin, I definitely remember. The first time it was shown on Channel 8, I couldn't understand everything cause my Mandarin's so bad. Then about 13 years ago SBC started showing it in the afternoons, dubbed in English. Wah! At that time we were stationed in Sg and I was pregnant with my daughter. Both of us were hooked man. Cry, cry, cry!
now u reminded me tt i was supposed to scan my cambodia pics into my comp....Originally posted by jetta:![]()
Would love to look at your travel pics man!
Our last trip to Sg, we had to ride on the new MRT line. Got lost man. Got hubby to ask for directions since ang mo asking not so embarassing.![]()
Ask your sister about Fanfare. Sure to remember one. Toh Paik Choo was the Editor if I remember right. Do you remember this little B5 size magazine they used to sell in schools called Student Pal?Originally posted by skeujin:dunno fanfare but in knw got tiger beat n superteen n radio & tv times...
me no like hunks... i was infatuated with debbie gibson and tiffany. n also allysa milano from whos the boss...
did u watch the movie how to lose a guy in 10 days? the part whr the gal dragged the guy to a celine dion concert was classic. his pityful face in the i luv celine t shirt said it all....
my grandma the same lah see liao cry cry cry... see untli so cham for wat...thou later on ther was this korean or jap show called heaven's coins wich was equally long winded n soppy but i was n addict...
Scan! Scan! Hubby so funny. Loves to spiak Singlish. You should see the reactions he gets when he asks for directions in Singlish.Originally posted by skeujin:now u reminded me tt i was supposed to scan my cambodia pics into my comp....how cld u do tt to yr hubby. guys do NOT ask for directions! we ive them!
will ask my sis wen she's in town.Originally posted by jetta:Ask your sister about Fanfare. Sure to remember one. Toh Paik Choo was the Editor if I remember right. Do you remember this little B5 size magazine they used to sell in schools called Student Pal?
You know, my first concert was a Debbie Gibson concert when I was in my 20s.I liked her and Tiffany too. I was such a Donny and Marie fan too. Never got to see them when they visited Sg though.
You know, when I lived in Japan for 6 years and I visited Sg? My friends were telling me about this Jap drama series, that Jap drama series, and I was clueless! They don't dub anything in Japan and I didn't have a bilingual TV. Apparently, I missed out on alot.![]()
i can imagine...Originally posted by jetta:Scan! Scan! Hubby so funny. Loves to spiak Singlish. You should see the reactions he gets when he asks for directions in Singlish.![]()
So lucky you got to see Donny and Marie. I was very religious, watching their show. Bought almost all of their cassette tapes. Pirated back then only $2.50.Originally posted by skeujin:will ask my sis wen she's in town.
i went for the donny n marie concert. n now i tink i remeber they had a series called the donny n marie show whr they cheesyly added a twinkle to their teeth wenever they smiled. no idea wat the show was about thou.
n i remeber watchg the movies going coconuts n gong coconuts 2 w my sis at kallang leisure drome whil my dad playd bowling... the lace had a ice skating rink tt converted to a roller skating rink n then a in line skate rink n now back to n ice skating rink...the old mph on the ground floor was my library, will sit there for hours readg...
n in those days there was a permanent fun fair next to leisure drome. i luved the fake birds nest drink whose signboard had fake mickey n minney mouse pics...