Well... I have to say that it has alot to do with the child's personality and temperament. Corporal punishment may work for some kids but let me cite from my own experience and circumstance. I am very lucky to have been blessed with even tempered kids. All it takes is talking to them and at the absolute most, raising our voices at them. Mind you, when I was a kid, I knew Mr Rotan very well. I cannot imagine taking the rotan to my kids. If I had super naughty kids, well then, I think I would if I wasn't in the States.Originally posted by choco B:Yeah the mindset is very different
Having been through all that, which do you think is a better way of bringing up a kid? Sg or US style?
"NORMAL" volume does not reach some crescendo cause we're not talking about Symphonic Orchestras here!Originally posted by The man who was death:everyone talks in normal volume, the crescendo of noise will just go on until u need to scream. plus everyone sits by classes so u need to shout across to your friend in another class.
Originally posted by jetta:Well... I have to say that it has alot to do with the child's personality and temperament. Corporal punishment may work for some kids but let me cite from my own experience and circumstance. I am very lucky to have been blessed with even tempered kids. All it takes is talking to them and at the absolute most, raising our voices at them. Mind you, when I was a kid, I knew Mr Rotan very well. I cannot imagine taking the rotan to my kids. If I had super naughty kids, well then, I think I would if I wasn't in the States.
You're absolutely right... depends on the kids' temperament.Originally posted by jetta:Well... I have to say that it has alot to do with the child's personality and temperament. Corporal punishment may work for some kids but let me cite from my own experience and circumstance. I am very lucky to have been blessed with even tempered kids. All it takes is talking to them and at the absolute most, raising our voices at them. Mind you, when I was a kid, I knew Mr Rotan very well. I cannot imagine taking the rotan to my kids. If I had super naughty kids, well then, I think I would if I wasn't in the States.
i dun see it as a misdeed, definietly not misbehaviour. it's really more worrying when u dun see teens being excited and shouting and all that.Originally posted by Rhonda:"NORMAL" volume does not reach some crescendo cause we're not talking about Symphonic Orchestras here!![]()
It's just plain misbehaviour that you have come to accept as the 'norm' because the misdeed is so widespread liao.
Whoa!!!!Originally posted by Fatum:Ahhhhh ................
KFC means fine food .....
today's $2 special day .... 2 pieces of chicken plus fries ......
whacked 4 boxes of the stuff .....![]()
DArnit... gave my Pediatrics Nursing book away liao.Originally posted by choco B:Even when they were toddlers?
I thought that below a certain age they would be unable to reason nor use logic thus talking isn't much use...
But yeah some kids are easier to handle than others.
So the question is, how to produce an even-tempered baby?
but very entertaining ....Originally posted by The man who was death:Public corporal punishment is evil![]()
Originally posted by jetta:Whoa!!!!
Originally posted by Rhonda:I think you can't exactly choose to produce an even-tempered baby cause it's kinda wired into the genes liao! If you and your husband were both even-tempered babies, the chances of you having one is then, much higher!![]()
Excited and screaming don't have to be synonymous!Originally posted by The man who was death:i dun see it as a misdeed, definietly not misbehaviour. it's really more worrying when u dun see teens being excited and shouting and all that.
We are so blessed in that department. I cannot thank God enough. We don't know what we've done for him to bless us with such even tempered kids. But the teen years are almost upon us so who knows what lies in store?Originally posted by choco B:Even when they were toddlers?
I thought that below a certain age they would be unable to reason nor use logic thus talking isn't much use...
But yeah some kids are easier to handle than others.
So the question is, how to produce an even-tempered baby?
entertaining?? using humiliation to punish people is just evilOriginally posted by Fatum:but very entertaining ....
courtroom's the poor man's theatre, all over the world ....![]()
Ahhhhh I had you tagged as an evil toddler. I was right!Originally posted by elindra:I was the naughty child in the family. My brother have a much sweeter temperament and my mum is always saying that it be so nice if we can switch personalities. I'm the one who is always getting him into trouble and teaching him and my cousin naughty things. Eg. Flooding the toliet, Water bombs, Saboing someone by adding salt in the water
as well as water bomb on top of the door
and other tricks
Growing up with 2 guys (my brother and my cousin...mum was helping to look after cousin) we had our share of fights and I was the big bullyWas the stubborn one too
but funny thing was I was a shy baby.
Originally posted by elindra:![]()
I think I dun wanna have kids liao![]()
I was a monster when I was a kid and so was SO!!!!!
Originally posted by av98m:Ahhhhh I had you tagged as an evil toddler. I was right!![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:i was a true monster as a child
no one knew how horrifically evil i was
and i was never found out
Originally posted by Rhonda:![]()
Me leh? Me leh??![]()
Tempermental but not evilOriginally posted by Rhonda:![]()
Me leh? Me leh??![]()