If your aim is to own a nice-looking vehicle, that '69 'Vette is the way to go.Originally posted by the Bear:if i lived there, i'd have a 1969 Corvette Stingray..
i'd put a 429 V8 in it.. or maybe even a 454 big block V8
chop the top...
isn't the car nice?
Haha, I can join you guys there after my bug hunting trips.Originally posted by the Bear:how about one of these days, we wander over to "serial killer territory" in Dempsey Road?
there are 2 places in there, The Wine Network and The Wine Company...
The Wine Network is nice, been there twice... reasonable prices, good wine... the other place has a similar reputation
i like the cheese platter in the network... got the smelly and yummy blue cheese
I already missing my sec sch days liao.. i onli dun like the lame games of orientation..Originally posted by av98m:Zhen de....I really enjoyed my student days and miss them...![]()
Auto insurance premiums are generally keyed to the 'loss experience' of a particular geographic area. They are usually higher in urban areas where the likelihood of getting into an accident is greater. You live in Toronto, which is an urban area, whereas Fatum lives out in the boonies with lower traffic densities.Originally posted by littlestream:Wah lau eh?????![]()
How come your rates SO CHEAPPPPPP??????![]()
I am a level 6 driver and yet I pay about C$130 a month!!!!!![]()
NOT FAIR, NOT FAIR................
Yeah, yours VERY cheap.
Eh, so you really don't want ah? No need pai seh lah. But if you are driving to Calgary, yah, Calgary sure got one!!!
You got your red hot car already ah?
it also depends on the type of car that you drive too .....Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Auto insurance premiums are generally keyed to the 'loss experience' of a particular geographic area. They are usually higher in urban areas where the likelihood of getting into an accident is greater. You live in Toronto, which is an urban area, whereas Fatum lives out in the boonies with lower traffic densities.
(By the way, you don't want to know how much I pay for auto insurance on my vehicles.)
Good point. I forgot that LS recently bought a brand-new Mazda 3, so she's probably paying a bit more for auto insurance on that.Originally posted by Fatum:it also depends on the type of car that you drive too .....
I was driving a geriatric toyota tercel, and now a staid sedan, so the rates are lower for me .....
oh the other hand, if i had gotten that firebird though .... it'll be quite a different story ....![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Auto insurance premiums are generally keyed to the 'loss experience' of a particular geographic area. They are usually higher in urban areas where the likelihood of getting into an accident is greater. You live in Toronto, which is an urban area, whereas Fatum lives out in the boonies with lower traffic densities.
(By the way, you don't want to know how much I pay for auto insurance on my vehicles.)
I got myself a late model plymouth acclaim .... just before they went extinct ...Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Good point. I forgot that LS recently bought a brand-new Mazda 3, so she's probably paying a bit more for auto insurance on that.
Which sedan are you currently driving again?

Actually, quite the opposite. My vehicles have been insured through the same company (State Farm) since 1991 and I haven't made any claims since then, so my premiums are quite reasonable: US$420/year for my "winter beater" and about US$700/year for my summer vehicle.Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
Actually, yah.......my rates are considered reasonable liao. Aiyoh, you must pay through your nose your your sports (summer) car is it?![]()
You can borrow mine if you use it any day other than Saturday.Originally posted by the Bear:i really should get a tripod and go shoot stuff
You lucked out: the Plymouth Acclaim and its twin, the Dodge Spirit, were actually reasonably reliable offerings from Chrysler back when they (and the other two of the "Big Three" auto manufacturers) were churning out junk in the late-80s/early-90s. I actually rented an Acclaim back in college when my roomie and I drove from Iowa to Washington and back during one summer vacation; as I recall, it was actually a pretty comfortable vehicle with a decent ride.Originally posted by Fatum:I got myself a late model plymouth acclaim .... just before they went extinct ...
automatic ... got it cheap cos the chap that sold it to me has an expiring visa, he's returning home right after finals, and we had a mutual friend, so he off-loaded it to me cheap ....
it's not exactly a car that'll pull in the girlies .... more like something old ladies would drive to the church and the grocery store on sundays ... but I guess it's a more practical car than that pontiac firebird ......![]()
Nitex bearOriginally posted by the Bear:time to sleep..
goodnight everyone