I would imagine not just Mexicans are here illegally. This country is really too big. So diff to manage border and immigration control.Originally posted by littlestream:Yah..........that's why there was this guy right...I was watching CNN. He said "Bush by doing that sort of like send out signals that it is okay to do this crime like that" I don't know how to put it so technically correct lah hor.
But you know? I heard in NYC also know? Many of the Chinese also II leh. Like in restaurants and those low paying jobs ah.
Hmm....good thing you've already decided to retire in Seattle eh?
She says she cannot get in. So she's going night night.Originally posted by littlestream:Eh.......what happened to Rhonda???![]()
Those protesting students say that they are protesting because many in their families are here illegally.Originally posted by jetta:I would imagine not just Mexicans are here illegally. This country is really too big. So diff to manage border and immigration control.
So late? Harro!Originally posted by Ferret:Elloz folks![]()
Just came home. Todae's stock take day. Havent finished...Originally posted by jetta:So late? Harro!
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:AAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa......
Good night!<-There, I included an emoticon!
They might be doing the jobs that no Americans want to do, but they are also a huge burden on the American taxpayer in terms of the social services that they (the illegals) use and do not pay for. Hospitals and social welfare organizations along the border and in cities with large illegal populations are being stretched to almost breaking point from the lack of funds and staff.Originally posted by littlestream:Yah, but I thought Bush was going to give them money to "own up"?
It's also true that these Mexicans or the latinos are taking on jobs that the "Americans" do not want to do, right? So, nobody is taking away jobs.
They interviewed many business owners and they said "without the illegal immigrants, their business would have close shop."
i know what you mean. it's like wanna get over and done, right?Originally posted by jetta:I would imagine not just Mexicans are here illegally. This country is really too big. So diff to manage border and immigration control.
I'm glad we've decided not to remain here. To tell you the truth, now that we've made up our minds, I cannot wait to move back up to start our new life. Hubby's cousin has a small cafe there. I told our cousin that I want to work for tips.
You tell me when you're visiting Seattle and I make sure you got room to sing.Originally posted by littlestream:i know what you mean. it's like wanna get over and done, right?
ah, it's good ah, you wait at tables for your hubby's cousin. so you learn the ropes and then you can open your own.
actually, having a cosy night cafe is my dream too. but i don't want the work and responsibility. i just wanna sing in the cafe.![]()
So true. Take here in San Diego for example. There are sooooooooo many Mexicans here. They don't speak English which is very annoying. But then why should they when there are so many of them here? Heck even the forms my kids bring home from school are in English and Spanish. They are so comfortable with the status quo. Too comfortable. Something's got to give.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:They might be doing the jobs that no Americans want to do, but they are also a huge burden on the American taxpayer in terms of the social services that they (the illegals) use and do not pay for. Hospitals and social welfare organizations along the border and in cities with large illegal populations are being stretched to almost breaking point from the lack of funds and staff.
Corporate America must also bear some of the blame for this illegal immigrant crisis, as they have no qualms about hiring the lowest-paid workers in order to maximize profits. As long as there is a "market" for illegals, they will continue to stream across the border unchecked.
Hmm...i wonder if it is the same here. lately many II have been deported. i think mostly from portugal. they work in constructions. when i saw them on tv, i sort of felt pity for them 'cos they ahve to dispose all their assets in a matter of a week or so.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:They might be doing the jobs that no Americans want to do, but they are also a huge burden on the American taxpayer in terms of the social services that they (the illegals) use and do not pay for. Hospitals and social welfare organizations along the border and in cities with large illegal populations are being stretched to almost breaking point from the lack of funds and staff.
Corporate America must also bear some of the blame for this illegal immigrant crisis, as they have no qualms about hiring the lowest-paid workers in order to maximize profits. As long as there is a "market" for illegals, they will continue to stream across the border unchecked.
Hee hee...........Originally posted by jetta:You tell me when you're visiting Seattle and I make sure you got room to sing.![]()
In today's papers, they just arrested some people in LA for running an illegal ID ring. The govt should really crack down on this illegals problem. Enough is enough.Originally posted by littlestream:Hmm...i wonder if it is the same here. lately many II have been deported. i think mostly from portugal. they work in constructions. when i saw them on tv, i sort of felt pity for them 'cos they ahve to dispose all their assets in a matter of a week or so.
but over here, without an insurance card, one can't see doctor or milk the medical system. but i guess there's always loopholes.
But Mexicans make up the overwhelming majority of the over 7 million illegals that the INS claims are in this country.Originally posted by jetta:I would imagine not just Mexicans are here illegally. This country is really too big. So diff to manage border and immigration control.
I'm glad we've decided not to remain here. To tell you the truth, now that we've made up our minds, I cannot wait to move back up to start our new life. Hubby's cousin has a small cafe there. I told our cousin that I want to work for tips.
Your answer should be "yes".Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee...........
paid or not?just kidding..........
alternatively, i was thinking of running an events company. but i think too big budget and too reliant on external companies. otherwise, i would love to mc at weddings, birthdays or parties.it's more an interest thingy rather than $$$ but hubby said "jiak pah ka eng ah?"
You're right. Stinks, doesn't it? This lax attitude has gone on for too long. They should do it now because everyday that passes only brings more illegals into this country.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:But Mexicans make up the overwhelming majority of the over 7 million illegals that the INS claims are in this country.
Securing the borders would be a piece of cake: just redeploy a small portion of the troops currently in the Mideast to carry out border security duty, and tighten up immigration and security checks at existing border checkpoints and points of entry.
This country has the resources to completely secure its borders. The problem, as I see it, is that it lacks the political will to implement such drastic measures. It would be political suicide for any politician to even hint at increasing border security.
Speaking of music, were you shocked to see McPhee in the bottom 3? How can people like Bucky more than her? She has a much better voice, hands down. I didn't vote this week so die die must vote for her next week.Originally posted by littlestream:me ah? hmm.....i guess singing slow number can showcase my *ahem* voice quality but fast number i also like lah. i like rock but i suck at it![]()
We can help you stay awake.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Blardy hell... have to go attend the stupid team status meeting at 1 p.m...
Hope I can blardy stay awake...
(Hmmm.... I seem to have developed an affinity for the word blardy.)
wa keOriginally posted by jetta:Wei wei wei. Lang leh? Talking to myself ah?
but i'm back now.