The fast AF of the camera is actually wasted on me. Since I use manual focusing almost all the time. Great thing is, now I can go buy old AIS lenses which are dirt cheap these days, not to mention built like tanks. The much bigger viewfinder is a gift from heaven after squinting through the D70s. And mirror lockup! Yay!Originally posted by the Bear:hmm...
i guess i would need.. maybe.. nearer, $7.5k
i like wide angles.. and for the speed of the camera, i'm getting a long lens.. coz it'll be great for football and stuff like that..
but i think i'll stick to my little F717 for the time being
Originally posted by Fatum:mako's definitely not cheap ... though they do have a reputation ... I've only dived with them a couple of times ... but the peeps are quite professional, their safety briefs border on the anal, which is good ....
it may not be a bad idea to get your lessons from them ... there are too many fly-by-night schools these days ....
Originally posted by Rhonda:Man, seeing all you photography experts in here, makes me kinda pai seh to admit that yesterday evening, I stood at the kitchen window, patiently waiting for lightning to appear so that I can capture it with my digicam but siiiiiigh... stood there poised so long until arms and legs sore liao... and kept missing the lightning too!![]()
you know .... those dive boat bunnies ..... they are usually in bikinis on the boats ......Originally posted by the Bear:knowing a whole lot of them, i think i can get it really cheap.. if i want to
but really, i can't be bothered to
Originally posted by Rhonda:Man, seeing all you photography experts in here, makes me kinda pai seh to admit that yesterday evening, I stood at the kitchen window, patiently waiting for lightning to appear so that I can capture it with my digicam but siiiiiigh... stood there poised so long until arms and legs sore liao... and kept missing the lightning too!![]()
ah yes...the fly by night outfits with all the yaya papaya instructors and divemasters. I've seen those in actionOriginally posted by Fatum:it may not be a bad idea to get your lessons from them ... there are too many fly-by-night schools these days ....
tanned, sporty...and not at all shyOriginally posted by Fatum:you know .... those dive boat bunnies ..... they are usually in bikinis on the boats ......![]()
tanned sporty babes .... it doesn't get any better eh .... right AV ? ...
I was out at pulau pemanggil once .... there was a dive boat chartered by a rather infamous outfit (popular with NUS chicks and ang moh expats .... know which one I'm talking about ? ...Originally posted by av98m:ah yes...the fly by night outfits with all the yaya papaya instructors and divemasters. I've seen those in action![]()
Originally posted by choco B:heheheh I can just imagine the fustration...
*click ....Damn missed!
*click ....Drats missed again!
Originally posted by Fatum:I was out at pulau pemanggil once .... there was a dive boat chartered by a rather infamous outfit (popular with NUS chicks and ang moh expats .... know which one I'm talking about ? ...)
the boat was definitely overcrowded, we counted more tha 20 bods on board when those malaysian fishing boats are licensed for 12 usually .... you know what happened ? ... they left two divers behind ! ... the boat left as we pulled into the spot, then 1 minute later, two lost and very confused divers surfaced 30 feet from us ! ....
wah piang ! .... they didn't even do a head count before moving off ! .....![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:![]()
Yeah, boss!![]()
In the end, I thought, better to get a boyfriend who's good at photography so whatever photos you want taken, just ask 'honey' to do it!![]()
.Originally posted by blackchickenahkai:
that's ......![]()
Without mentioning any names, yes I think I know who they are.Originally posted by Fatum:I was out at pulau pemanggil once .... there was a dive boat chartered by a rather infamous outfit (popular with NUS chicks and ang moh expats .... know which one I'm talking about ? ...)
the boat was definitely overcrowded, we counted more tha 20 bods on board when those malaysian fishing boats are licensed for 12 usually .... you know what happened ? ... they left two divers behind ! ... the boat left as we pulled into the spot, then 1 minute later, two lost and very confused divers surfaced 30 feet from us ! ....
wah piang ! .... they didn't even do a head count before moving off ! .....![]()
Uhhmmmm...yes. And you'll need to put more pices of weight on your weight belt than other people to help you to descend too.Originally posted by Rhonda:May I ask a silly silly question?![]()
Diving suits... they're tight and all... does it mean that if you're naturally well-padded by lipids![]()
, it'll all show when you get into a suit?
*cringes...Originally posted by av98m:Uhhmmmm...yes. And you'll need to put more pices of weight on your weight belt than other people to help you to descend too.
I've actually stopped using wetsuits, opting instead for neoprene pants(like bicycle pants) and a rashguard. Comfy and convenient. Tropical waters are warm anyway.![]()
What! Everyone dies?! How come my comic book they live happily ever after leh? Kaoru even bore him a baby boy!Originally posted by Rhonda:Last evening, I finally watched the Kenshin Reflections DVD.
I put off watching it for a long long time because Bear said, "Everybody died in the end" and I didn't wanna deal with that!
Biangz... started crying from Episode 1, all the way to the end of Episode 2!![]()
So worried that parents will come back halfway and wonder what in the world happened to me!
But after watching it, have been feeling quite moody... I wish Kenshin didn't have to grow so old and sickly and frail ... and die!![]()
BTW, how come both Kenshin and Kaoru have similar-looking scars on their bodies??![]()
Yeah! I think 'Reflections' covers the period after that, when Kenshin is in his 40's and Kaoru already in her 30's.Originally posted by av98m:What! Everyone dies?! How come my comic book they live happily ever after leh? Kaoru even bore him a baby boy!![]()
animes usually have ovas and oavs which are fillers..not in comic..Originally posted by av98m:What! Everyone dies?! How come my comic book they live happily ever after leh? Kaoru even bore him a baby boy!![]()
I need to ask, when he returned, did he have his sword with him?Originally posted by Rhonda:Yeah! I think 'Reflections' covers the period after that, when Kenshin is in his 40's and Kaoru already in her 30's.
Not 'everyone' died... but Kenshin did, and it was implicated that Kaoru would, soon after.
There's something special about 'Reflections'... an air of impending doom and calamity throughout... it took on a slow, meditative pace...
Kenshin returned to the arms of Kaoru in the end, after a long, hard journey of wandering, lost and alone, wasted and sickly... he returned and as promised, Kaoru called him by his real, non-warrior name, Shinta...
It was sooooooo touching!! I cried all the way through the movie!!![]()
You wanna ask Bear if you may borrow it?