and its even more enjoyable for them when everything gets charged to their bf/hubby credit cards..Originally posted by the Bear:it's only less enjoyable shopping for ladies if you go out with a plan and come back with exactly what you need...
to ladies, enjoyable shopping is to go out, planning to window-shop and come back with a banana republic's GDP of crap they'll never use but they bought because it was on sale..
(dons fire-proof suit and goes to watch Green Wing)
Actually if I was in USA I would be going crazy in a Banana Republic BoutiqueOriginally posted by the Bear:it's only less enjoyable shopping for ladies if you go out with a plan and come back with exactly what you need...
to ladies, enjoyable shopping is to go out, planning to window-shop and come back with a banana republic's GDP of crap they'll never use but they bought because it was on sale..
(dons fire-proof suit and goes to watch Green Wing)
Originally posted by stellazio:and its even more enjoyable for them when everything gets charged to their bf/hubby credit cards..![]()
Yeap, we shut off our furnance a couple of weeks ago, I think. Heating bills? Aiyoh, hubby does all the payment leh but I should think it's over a hundred and under 200.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:No kidding! I've shut my furnace off for the season, so at least I'll get a reprieve from the outrageously high heating bills incurred over winter. How have your winter heating bills been like?
It rained continuously over this last weekend (very heavily at times too), so the spring growing season has gotten off to a pretty good start. The saturated soil drove an incredible number of earthworms to the surface--you should have seen them on my driveway last weekend! I could have shoveled them into buckets and sold them as live bait to fishermen.
It's supposed to be in the 70s today, so I'll be heading to the outdoor range after work. However, the forecast calls for strong storms with possible accompanying hail after midnight tonight.
Here's hoping the OPP catch the wayward sex offender soon.
I'm reformed liao!Originally posted by the Bear:if you know the bill is going to come, why bother to collect crap?
which you will never use?
that you'll eventually throw away?
seems like pointless waste of money
Originally posted by elindra:Actually if I was in USA I would be going crazy in a Banana Republic Boutique![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm reformed liao!![]()
Buay lah, ah niah. I think Melbourne still okay bah. Got satellite ley.Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, it depends on what your salary is like, I guess. But generally, costs for most services and goods are definitely lower for us.
To be honest, looking at the situation these days, the US doesn't seem to be as attractive a place to move to as it used to be a few years back.
Oh well, soon, I'll be moving over to a place with much higher taxes, less up-to-date movie and US TV Series offerings, and less enjoyable shopping.![]()
*waves* I'm here, I'm here.Originally posted by Rhonda:Where's our littlestream?![]()
Perhaps it is more accurate to say that the cost of living in the US varies considerably by region. If you are intent on living in heavily populated urban areas by the coasts, be prepared to pay through your nose, especially for housing.Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, it depends on what your salary is like, I guess. But generally, costs for most services and goods are definitely lower for us.
To be honest, looking at the situation these days, the US doesn't seem to be as attractive a place to move to as it used to be a few years back.
Oh well, soon, I'll be moving over to a place with much higher taxes, less up-to-date movie and US TV Series offerings, and less enjoyable shopping.![]()
Originally posted by littlestream:Yeap, we shut off our furnance a couple of weeks ago, I think. Heating bills? Aiyoh, hubby does all the payment leh but I should think it's over a hundred and under 200.
Oh, rain? Ah.....you're gonna get a beautiful green lawn. But lucky you. You get your common grounds done by the corporation eh?
Well, we christianed our spanking new stainless steel bbq last weekend! Time to dig out my grilling cookbook liao.![]()

Originally posted by Rhonda:Yippee!! BBQ!!
This book had rave reviews when it was first published.
Originally posted by the Bear:sold the 3 tonnes of "cookbooks" to the recyclers huh?
I do not have that book!Originally posted by the Bear:was it one of those thrown out?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:today a small sized uncle taught me how to put the bike on main stand and bring it down the correct way.
so now after riding, i don't end up getting hot and sweaty from trying to park the bike![]()
Why pay more for the name, when you could pop into a Wal Mart and pick up the same "Made in China" item of clothing (sans the label) for much less?Originally posted by elindra:Actually if I was in USA I would be going crazy in a Banana Republic Boutique![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:today a small sized uncle taught me how to put the bike on main stand and bring it down the correct way.
so now after riding, i don't end up getting hot and sweaty from trying to park the bike![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I do not have that book!
partially brute forcing.Originally posted by the Bear:i think got method one.. use momentum or something like that...
you mean you were brute-forcing it?
Hee hee............Originally posted by Rhonda:Yippee!! BBQ!!
This book had rave reviews when it was first published.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:partially brute forcing.
does that mean i'm strong?![]()
Nope! Just making myself mentally prepared for what I'll be facing over there!Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:(With regard to your last comment, are you having second thoughts about moving to Australia?)