what purpose is creative trying to show?Originally posted by the Bear:the Zen ad with the panda is very cute
Originally posted by stellazio:what purpose is creative trying to show?
i figure that since panda's are an endangered species, the zen is a similar breed..Originally posted by the Bear:cruelty to pandas...
and that they've fed the panda some drugs...
That's interesting. I wonder if Canada intentionally scheduled its public holidays to nearly coincide with ones in the US. The Victoria Day weekend happens just a week prior to Memorial Day here, and Canada Day takes place just before the Fourth of July.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee...............Canada, Canada........never been to Hawaii and it is in my To-Do List.
Good morning MG. Victoria Day? Did planting. So happy. Although, they are still babies but the backyard look so neat and pretty. I planted 12 pots of cayenne chillies. Woohoo........and know what? I still have two bags of green chillies from last year's harvest in my freezer chest.
*sigh* Canadians are hardworking lot eh? We only have 11 public holidays. The next one is not until July 1, Canada Day. A whole month of June without stat hols.
And you? What have you been up to lately?
Hee hee.........no, actually we slot our stat hols for Mondays to make it a long weekend, unless of course the date in itself is significant.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:That's interesting. I wonder if Canada intentionally scheduled its public holidays to nearly coincide with ones in the US. The Victoria Day weekend happens just a week prior to Memorial Day here, and Canada Day takes place just before the Fourth of July.
Nothing much happening here--just working and paying the bills, which seem to always be increasing.Gas prices have eased slightly (it was around $2.53 this morning), but it's almost a certainty that the @#$%&*! oil companies will increase it by this Friday to take advantage of the Memorial Day long weekend.
Oh, so Victoria Day is in observation of Queen Victoria's birthday, and not the opening of the first Victoria's Secret store in Canada. That makes sense now.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee.........no, actually we slot our stat hols for Mondays to make it a long weekend, unless of course the date in itself is significant.
Like Queen Victoria's birthday? It is actually May 24 but we make it a Monday.
Hey, you should be fattening up. Got your tax rebates, right?![]()
Don't scare this soon-to-be homeowner leh.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Yah, I got my state and federal tax refunds some time back and have already spent them paying (what else?) bills. The first installment of my 2006 property tax bill soaked up most of the refunds--talk about the government giving with one hand and taking away with the other!![]()
Any word? I hope he's fine. I had a colonscopy done a couple of years ago just to be sure.Originally posted by littlestream:You on a fitness run? Hubby bugs me that I should too, for health reasons. So sad to hear my friend who went for colon cancer ops take a not so good turn. I am praying for him. Talking about it, I should call his wife.
Okay, bye for now. Let me go make that call.
Not yet. When we visited him in the hospital, he looked fine. Now he throws up everything.Originally posted by jetta:Any word? I hope he's fine. I had a colonscopy done a couple of years ago just to be sure.
Scary.Originally posted by littlestream:You know? This friend is the third person we know who has colon cancer.![]()
I know.Originally posted by jetta:Scary.
I always thought Victoria's secret was that she was actually... a he! If this secret were revealed, it would make it easier for them to introduce a line of mens' undergarments, don't you think? Talk about a lost business opportunity!Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee.............yah.....do you know the meaning of Victoria Secret? Actually, Queen Victoria has a secret. And the secret is her hus........aiyoh, si ah, I heard it early this week and it's only Wednesday and I forgot!!!
Hmm......can't be that bad, MG!!! Don't bluff me. They said if wanna make money, go south. Over here, it's only a relax life. Wanna make big bucks, bu ke nen.So, you folks are the ones making the money and then bringing it to Oh Canada to retire.
Huh? Burn calories ah? I don't know leh. I not that fitness freak lah. But I can check with my sister. She is a certified trainer but then I've not exchange emails with her for a while now. Let's see if she responds, okay? How's that?
You on a fitness run? Hubby bugs me that I should too, for health reasons. So sad to hear my friend who went for colon cancer ops take a not so good turn. I am praying for him. Talking about it, I should call his wife.
Okay, bye for now. Let me go make that call.
Good news: personal property tax can be itemized as a deduction on Schedule A of Form 1040.Originally posted by jetta:Don't scare this soon-to-be homeowner leh.
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Thanks MG!
[b]Good news: personal property tax can be itemized as a deduction on Schedule A of Form 1040.
Bad news: property taxes are usually a percentage of the municipally appraised value of your home. Cash-strapped municipalities are finding creative ways to generate more income, including inflating the appraised value of your home beyond the market worth in order to collect more property tax.
Moral of the story: when you receive your Notice of Proposed Property Taxes at the beginning of the year, pay careful attention to the line items that the city feels adds value to your home. For example, if the notice lists your home as having a finished basement when in fact you don't, make sure you have the city do a reappraisal. They did this to me once.[/b]

Alamak! You again!Originally posted by laurence82:![]()