I can only compare the SD Sunday papers to places I've lived in. The coupons in the Seattle papers were more substantial when compared to Hawaii and here but I'm not complaining.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:* High fives jetta *
The advertising supplements containing the coupons in the Sunday papers here are fairly thick, but I must imagine they are even more substantial in a larger city like SD.
I only shop at the base commissary about twice a month. I make sure I have the coupon for the product I want before buying. I'll wait for two coupon cycles or until I can't wait anymore before buying it at retail. I cannot believe how expensive it is to shop off base. Places like Safeway and such are soooo expensive!Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Probably not as high as yours. I go grocery shopping about once a week and don't really purchase in large quantities, so my coupon savings per visit aren't that great.
The supermarket is close enough to my home that it's not inconvenient to make 'unscheduled' trips there to buy an item or two that I may suddenly find myself in need of.
Chicken wrap?Originally posted by littlestream:tough choice between amazon chicken wrap and turkey pot pie.
guess which i picked?
same here. i was in the washroom by the atrium when i heard them. i guess brazil scored?Originally posted by laurence82:hmm, judging from the lack of noise and the closing of shutters at around 2 am, i guess the kopitiam no longer screen the 3 am matches
they make hell of a ruckus everytime somebody score
pot pieOriginally posted by littlestream:tough choice between amazon chicken wrap and turkey pot pie.
guess which i picked?
its swiss cheese vs french wine nowOriginally posted by littlestream:same here. i was in the washroom by the atrium when i heard them. i guess brazil scored?
Originally posted by jetta:Chicken wrap?
Yo Bro! Was wondering when you'd pop up! Ho boh? *note to self: try safeway's cheesecake*Originally posted by Fatum:safeway's like a semi-upscale gourmet grocer or something ....
but I do love their cheese cakes though .......![]()
bingo!!!Originally posted by laurence82:pot pie
yay i guess correctOriginally posted by littlestream:i stood in line and when i was the second next, i stand out of line and went for the pot pie.
i read somewhere, the calories in pot pie are in the 500 zone.
what's for lunch? cooking for you and sonny? girl still at school, right?
Both kids still in school. I'm having leftovers. Made chicken rice and chicken curry last night.Originally posted by littlestream:i stood in line and when i was the second next, i stand out of line and went for the pot pie.
i read somewhere, the calories in pot pie are in the 500 zone.
what's for lunch? cooking for you and sonny? girl still at school, right?
how come we don't ahve safeway here? except the tour agency.Originally posted by Fatum:safeway's like a semi-upscale gourmet grocer or something ....
but I do love their cheese cakes though .......![]()
packing and cleaning up my old place .... handing over keys tomorrow ......Originally posted by jetta:Yo Bro! Was wondering when you'd pop up! Ho boh? *note to self: try safeway's cheesecake*
oh izzit? sorry, pai seh, wrong number.Originally posted by laurence82:its swiss cheese vs french wine now
brazil vs croatia at 3 pm
Maybe Safeway goes by another name there? I didn't know this until some time after we moved here that our Vons is actually a Safeway.Originally posted by littlestream:how come we don't ahve safeway here? except the tour agency.
hey, fatum. have you moved?
wah, mega chicken man!!!Originally posted by jetta:Both kids still in school. I'm having leftovers. Made chicken rice and chicken curry last night.
What a scam!!! You take it easy. Stressful and physically draining time for you. Hope you get your entire security deposit back.Originally posted by Fatum:packing and cleaning up my old place .... handing over keys tomorrow ......
the landlord's charging us for carpet dry-cleaning ! ....... I said, fark ! ... that was the condition we got it in ! ....
u mean people are allowed to skive off work and watch the matches?Originally posted by littlestream:oh izzit? sorry, pai seh, wrong number.
aiyah, the atrium is packed ah!!! want to walk also kang kor. the lounge room in the cafe also got tv but boh si mi lang one. they like to kuet sio.![]()
Too bad we're not neighbours. Can trade you mine for some of yours. Coupon sale on the chicken yesterday, that's why.Originally posted by littlestream:wah, mega chicken man!!!
kitchen was closed yesterday and will be again tonight. cook until don't knwo what to cook.
last weekend, cook mee siam. eat for two days!!!![]()
orh, i see. hmm........si supermarket si boh?Originally posted by jetta:Maybe Safeway goes by another name there? I didn't know this until some time after we moved here that our Vons is actually a Safeway.
over here, as long as you deliver, can liao.Originally posted by laurence82:u mean people are allowed to skive off work and watch the matches?![]()
Hmm... That's an idea. I'll look into that. Thanks! I'm a regular school volunteer too so I'll get back into that. I can't wait to settle down. But now my headache is how to squeeze our stuff into a much smaller house. *sigh*Originally posted by littlestream:orh, i see. hmm........si supermarket si boh?
eh, jetta......once u settled in, in your own home, and life more settled, u can start to give private tutoring again hor?
remember my s'porean friend in texas? that's what she's doing now. and she is also doing a bunch of volunteering work. good for her and her networking.