Christmas in June?Originally posted by Ferret:ho ho ho
Originally posted by jetta:Streamie, your pot pie, is the filling very thick? If I'm not wrong, they use cream of mushroom for the filling. But never mind, do like the Japanese, if you eat too much today, cut back tomorrow.
Yah, no kidding on the calories in the pot pies. I bought some microwaveable chicken pot pies a few months back when they were on sale at the supermarket, and recall being shocked by the fat content and calorie count of a single pot pie.Originally posted by littlestream:oh no....don't cry. at least i think yours is a healthy choice. i read somewhere, pot pie has over 500 calories.![]()
always eat already regret. maybe i should walk over to jetta's thread about regrets...........i have a few.........wah, sounds like who's song ley?
but hey, how come no soup to go with yoru sandwich? and wow! only $2.22. cheap cheap.
why? you betted ah?Originally posted by laurence82:looks like a draw
sigh
Watch out for the sodium content too. If you're inclined to make your own, I have a great pastry recipe.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Yah, no kidding on the calories in the pot pies. I bought some microwaveable chicken pot pies a few months back when they were on sale at the supermarket, and recall being shocked by the fat content and calorie count of a single pot pie.
Nope, no soup today. My stock of New England clam chowder has been depleted. I'll need to drop by Sam's Club to pick up another ten-pack of it soon.
I find making Asian food more difficult than Western fare. If you want easy ang mo recipes, I can email some to you?Originally posted by littlestream:i think i say that EVERYDAY
hmm...........filling ah? hmm....the pastry more than filling leh. although turkey pot pie but i didn't get that many meat pieces.
hey, i was thinking of going western for my christmas dinner but each time, i back out and do something asian. i've got thai, japanese, s'pore but dare not try western. the only think i know is quiche. i wanted to make chicken pot pie but the last time i did it, wah lau, sucks real bad.
have you thrown a party and serve western before?
oh no...........you confirmed it. no more pot pies for me.........ever!!!Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Yah, no kidding on the calories in the pot pies. I bought some microwaveable chicken pot pies a few months back when they were on sale at the supermarket, and recall being shocked by the fat content and calorie count of a single pot pie.
Nope, no soup today. My stock of New England clam chowder has been depleted. I'll need to drop by Sam's Club to pick up another ten-pack of it soon.
I'm thinking of giving Costco up too. We have a tendency to overspend while there. These days, whenever we go, we never take a cart into the store. We just go in, get what we want. If we can't carry it, we're not buying it.Originally posted by littlestream:oh no...........you confirmed it. no more pot pies for me.........ever!!!
you will laugh, MG. i used to keep a journal of my calories intake. my target then was to have max 1500 calories. but now?
oh, you are sam's club too? we got both sam's and costco but hubby giving up costco.
huh? izzit? i find making asian food easier leh. i think 'cos my friends are good with western food eh, so got pressure.Originally posted by jetta:I find making Asian food more difficult than Western fare. If you want easy ang mo recipes, I can email some to you?
hahaOriginally posted by littlestream:why? you betted ah?
orh, u went to watch soccer. i tot i bore you with my posts.and you escape.
Just remember ah, when you cheat, dab some flour on your face, arms and hands.Originally posted by littlestream:huh? izzit? i find making asian food easier leh. i think 'cos my friends are good with western food eh, so got pressure.
i don't know how to make good pasta. my friend do a fantastic seafood angel's hair pasta. i love it but i don't know how. and another do her pot pie, her quiche, her roast. all these eh, i got tons of recipes from canadian living but i am clueless. i don't know how to roast.
sometimes i feel like cheating and just get it from the supermarket and stuff them into the oven![]()
Originally posted by jetta:I'm thinking of giving Costco up too. We have a tendency to overspend while there. These days, whenever we go, we never take a cart into the store. We just go in, get what we want. If we can't carry it, we're not buying it.![]()
Originally posted by jetta:Just remember ah, when you cheat, dab some flour on your face, arms and hands.![]()
wah, shiok lah. meaning u wanna sleep already ah?Originally posted by laurence82:raining!
and at night somemore
so nice to sleep
Yah, it's the flaky kind. You can use this to make curry puffs, etc. I like to use this to make fruit cups. Cut them down to size to line a mini muffin pan and bake at 350F for about 10 mins or until golden brown. Then make a fruit cocktail and use that as your filling. Voila, fruit cups.Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
hee hee...
eh, jetta......how to use phyllo pastry? is it the flaky kind? i tell you. even that i can goof up. i once bought the frozen pastry for the pie, right? failure.![]()
Accept graciously.Originally posted by littlestream:![]()
aiyah, wait next time they come, instead of bringing me wine, they bring me foundation or cosmetics ah. they may think i don't have the money for it.![]()
orh, okay. maybe i try for curry puffs 'cos actually, i make my own pastry also. a lot of work.Originally posted by jetta:Yah, it's the flaky kind. You can use this to make curry puffs, etc. I like to use this to make fruit cups. Cut them down to size to line a mini muffin pan and bake at 350F for about 10 mins or until golden brown. Then make a fruit cocktail and use that as your filling. Voila, fruit cups.
Or you can use it as an appetizer. Instead of a fruit filling, make a shrimp cocktail for your filling.
Remember ah. Not for frying, only baking hor.Originally posted by littlestream:orh, okay. maybe i try for curry puffs 'cos actually, i make my own pastry also. a lot of work.
thanks jetta.
p.s. i threw a gas bomb into SB![]()
Oh, thanks for the important tip. Okay, for baking. kum siah.Originally posted by jetta:Remember ah. Not for frying, only baking hor.
Gas bomb?![]()
Fatum's got competition.
Update: Skeu proposed to Ferret last night. She accepted. Skeu currently drunk from celebrating.Originally posted by laurence82:how come ferret and skeujin, more often than not, appear and disappear together?![]()
hanor hanor........Originally posted by laurence82:how come ferret and skeujin, more often than not, appear and disappear together?![]()
Originally posted by jetta:Update: Skeu proposed to Ferret last night. She accepted. Skeu currently drunk from celebrating.![]()