I've been eyeballing too. Who knows maybe he got a pm from the tua liap? We can ony hope.Originally posted by littlestream:Eh, jetta.......looks like the kiddo has a heart!! If you know what/who I mean.![]()
You and me. You too much Chinese. Me, not enough.Originally posted by littlestream:hee hee............![]()
*sigh* i cannot be effectively bilingual!!!
too much chinese liao![]()
Take no prisoners!!!!!Originally posted by littlestream:Oh oh......12 noon.........time for.........................shopping.![]()
Funny...........I had the same sentiments. I spotted the change in tone liao, erm, since a couple of days back (or more?).Originally posted by jetta:I've been eyeballing too. Who knows maybe he got a pm from the tua liap? We can ony hope.
Originally posted by jetta:Bo leh... American Top 40 mah. Current music mah...
Originally posted by littlestream:Funny...........I had the same sentiments. I spotted the change in tone liao, erm, since a couple of days back (or more?).
Have you heard of Katie Melua? I only caught her tv promo. Sounds quite Nora Jones-like. I like!Originally posted by the Bear:but a lot of the current "music" really sucks...
morons like 50 cent, and the other rap idiots, the pop crap like Britneeeeeeeeee... just grates
still haven't gotten around to getting Pearl Jam's new album.. that's good
Some jerk.Originally posted by the Bear:huh?
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:It's the Ah Lau and Killstyle Show over in SB.
You will laugh. When I was growing up, speaking Mandarin/Dialect is SO NOT COOL!!!! I refused to speak it and was very pseudo western. Very ang moh pia as my grandma said.Originally posted by jetta:You and me. You too much Chinese. Me, not enough.![]()
Oh, you may have gone off when jetta wrote about a nick who was bugging her.Originally posted by the Bear:huh?
Hee hee................MG..........ssshhhh.............Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:It's the Ah Lau and Killstyle Show over in SB.
You slay me, you know streamie.Originally posted by littlestream:You will laugh. When I was growing up, speaking Mandarin/Dialect is SO NOT COOL!!!! I refused to speak it and was very pseudo western. Very ang moh pia as my grandma said.
Sekali, went to live in Canada, slowly, slowly became more Chinese.And reading skills improve some more. It used to be like my voicebox got choked if I wanna speak Mandarin. Now? It comes off like silk. Chinese grocers, stores, restaurants, I use Mandarin.
Even I call up the radio station during their talk shows? It is a Cantonese program but I speak Mandarin.
So, I guess, I've really morphed!!!Know what hubby said? He said in Canada, I am stylish (dressing) but if I am in S'pore, I would stand at the borderline of ah lian.
Originally posted by jetta:You slay me, you know streamie.![]()
But I can relate. I hated all things Chinese, solidifying that sentiment with F9s all through Secondary school.
Only after I left Sg did I start to have a change of heart. Give me any excuse to speak Mandarin and I'll take it.
What's funny is, when we were stationed in Sg, Hubby liked rosewood furniture and to my horror, we bought a couple of pieces. You should see my place now. If anyone asks where the nearest Chinatown is, it's my place.
Isn't it ironic that you would "discover your Chinese roots" only after you go overseas?Originally posted by littlestream:You will laugh. When I was growing up, speaking Mandarin/Dialect is SO NOT COOL!!!! I refused to speak it and was very pseudo western. Very ang moh pia as my grandma said.
Sekali, went to live in Canada, slowly, slowly became more Chinese.And reading skills improve some more. It used to be like my voicebox got choked if I wanna speak Mandarin. Now? It comes off like silk. Chinese grocers, stores, restaurants, I use Mandarin.
Even I call up the radio station during their talk shows? It is a Cantonese program but I speak Mandarin.
So, I guess, I've really morphed!!!Know what hubby said? He said in Canada, I am stylish (dressing) but if I am in S'pore, I would stand at the borderline of ah lian.
Goodnight bear. Take care and have a great weekend too!Originally posted by the Bear:i'm burnt out.. i'm going to sleep..
goodnight everyone
have a great weekend yah?
Heng ah, no rosewood settee here. How do people get comfy sitting on something that'll give you a hemmarhoid? I only have a tv unit and two nest of side tables, heng ah. But this poor tv unit, doesn't like the cold, like me. When we moved to Japan, the poor thing "shrank". Now there is an obvious split in one joint. The place where we bought it from in Sg, gave us two pumpkin stools, just because. Even though they're small and yet so tiang tor.Originally posted by the Bear:i hate rosewood furniture... if i could, i'd take an axe to the set i have in the house
Hee hee...........high 5s. Yeah, let's start a Overseas Chinese huai kuan (association). Used to have these (dialects) type of association in S'pore too eh?Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Isn't it ironic that you would "discover your Chinese roots" only after you go overseas?
When I was growing up in Singapore, I would, like you, shun speaking Chinese at home. My parents would converse in Cantonese and I would reply in English. Others witnessing this strange interaction would also label me as 'pseudo-western.'
However, I have not felt the need to 'go Chinese' since moving here. Which isn't to say I won't feel compelled to 'rediscover my roots' at some future point in my life here.
Eh Bear, you're quite eloquent what. What's keeping you from pm'ing BabyRS?Originally posted by the Bear:before i go sleep, chinese.. maybe it's how my brain is wired... i can't read or write.. not for lack of trying.. i just cannot...
i think it's coz of my low IQ or something
okay.. time to go sleep...
goodnight.. part deux
still missing...