Originally posted by kopiosatu:i don't care about the government. i just want my thai massage, cheap food and partying.
they can fight a war out there, i'll be minding my own business![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:Thaksin is kicked out from power
Now the military has taken over, luckily there's no bloodshed unlike in 1992
Apparently, over Thai South, Shin Corp and the election scandal led to this...
Now the wife has left for Singapore, Thaksin no idea...
Anyway, the Finance Minister left the IMF meeting this morning as well cos he's no longer the FM
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiindrrrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!Originally posted by elindra:![]()
I go away for a meeting and Missy comes on
Sian regarding the coup in Thailand
There goes my yearly Bangkok trip
I'm interested in going to Beijing though to take that train to TibetLooks really interesting
Actually I think Thai politics is really interesting because they are always ping ponging between the military and non-military government.....I think it's a cycleOriginally posted by sbst275:Thaksin is kicked out from power
Now the military has taken over, luckily there's no bloodshed unlike in 1992
Apparently, over Thai South, Shin Corp and the election scandal led to this...
Now the wife has left for Singapore, Thaksin no idea...
Anyway, the Finance Minister left the IMF meeting this morning as well cos he's no longer the FM
oooh, no idea. but i'll try take note and try it when i get there... hahahaha~ after that i'll come back and tell u the name.Originally posted by choco B:Hey kopi, obscure question but I'll try anyway..
Are you familiar with this chain of restaurants selling Boat noodles? In MBK alone there are 2 outlets - one in basement the other around 3rd fl. The decor of the restaurant usually has a big junk-like boat in it.
They serve noodles, rice, and in particular dry noodles with pork in this tangy spicey blackish sauce, and mixed pork dishes. I was wondering what that noodle dish was called? Come to think of it I can't figure out what the restaurant name is either, it's in Thai.
Cos I try to get that same noodle elsewhere but can't find from hawkers
YeahOriginally posted by elindra:Actually I think Thai politics is really interesting because they are always ping ponging between the military and non-military government.....I think it's a cycle![]()
Well, it will soon be buried under a pile of bones and the opposition will dig it up to pick when it is time for the next electionsOriginally posted by sbst275:Yeah
But I wonder what happens to the Shin Corp deal?
Originally posted by elindra:Rhonda, Singapore gets very good international news
Our PAP times report alot of worldwide news but local news....read the foreign papers![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:oooh, no idea. but i'll try take note and try it when i get there... hahahaha~ after that i'll come back and tell u the name.
die liaoOriginally posted by elindra:Well, it will soon be buried under a pile of bones and the opposition will dig it up to pick when it is time for the next elections![]()
Oh yeah! Singapore has great coverage for internationa news! Here, I feel like a "frog in the well", very myopic.Originally posted by elindra:Rhonda, Singapore gets very good international news
Our PAP times report alot of worldwide news but local news....read the foreign papers![]()
thanksOriginally posted by Rhonda:Wah! Belated Congrats!
You should do that when the time is right. Afterall, you sacrificed so much to get your qualification! It's time you reap the fruits of your labour after you've gained the necessary exposure and experience!![]()
There used to be one of those honey roast duck near the Westin Grand Hotel in Sukhumvit but the last time I went they were closed coz of the bird fluOriginally posted by choco B:Gaaah !
I tried to get it from street stalls over the last couple of days there but can't find leh, and forgot to eat at MBK... I'm so craving for it T__T
Heh OK you try I'm sure you'll love it. Rem it's the dry noodles in black sauce!
i think u can't get any ticket for the train liao, the chinese govt put a cap on the no. of tickets to be sold to foreigners.Originally posted by elindra:![]()
I go away for a meeting and Missy comes on
Sian regarding the coup in Thailand
There goes my yearly Bangkok trip
I'm interested in going to Beijing though to take that train to TibetLooks really interesting
I don't mean now laOriginally posted by Kenashi:i think u can't get any ticket for the train liao, the chinese govt put a cap on the no. of tickets to be sold to foreigners.
some of the local tour agencies oso can't get their allotment.
Originally posted by elindra:There used to be one of those honey roast duck near the Westin Grand Hotel in Sukhumvit but the last time I went they were closed coz of the bird flu
I always go to Bangkok to eat
1) Oyster omelet in Chinatown.
Makes the ones we ate at Newton seem ok only
2) Their braised pig trotter
Always tender and melt in the mouth
3) Their Zhu Za Soup coz there is pig's blood
4) Their roasted pork knuckles
5) Honey Roast Duck
6) Thai Tea
7) Thai Green CurryThai Satay
Acckkkk just way too many to list!!!!!!
Originally posted by sbst275:Tibet one think now got quota
Unlike the HK Disneyland, that one ticketing system is total screwed up
Courtesy of Mrs TeoOriginally posted by sbst275:Sooner or later, NTUC is going to get lots of complains
The way on how they price their goods really cmi cos of them 'willingness' to give 'value' by introducing housebrands