Leaked Email Shows P65s Hard at Work
Posted on Sunday, November 12, 2006
Topic: Local News
by Phoenix Klaw and Kok Kok Kway
Contrary to beliefs that P65s are sitting back after their election, appearing only to dance hip hop and pose for photo ops at the opening of Parliament, a leaked email from MP Boey Cho See reveals that P65s are actually working very hard.
“Fellow important people,
Thank you for the great meeting! It was a fantastic idea to meet at the Singapore Island Country Club. After all, we need to make use of our new free lifetime memberships. Next time we do this, let’s accept that bottle of Chateau Petrus 1971 they offered us. We should get used to VIP treatment – after a hard-fought election, we earned it.
It’s good that we are meeting regularly to help each other. We don’t want to end up as 1 or 2- term MPs and then become Chairman of a Singapore shipping company, do we? We should also jointly plan our work – after all, as MPs, we can’t be expected to think independently.
Here are briefs notes of our meeting and agreed next steps:
Our Blog
- Goh Ah Brod will write another episode in our blog about her overseas travels, paid for by Gahmen scholarship money, to far-flung places where the average Singaporean will never be able to visit. Yeah, that really emphasizes our connection to the average Singaporean.
- Those who havenÂ’t blogged yet, when you do, please remember to tell people which expensive school you attended overseas. Also remember that people really care that we went to the optometrist recently, because it can radically change their lives.
- Our translation company reminds everyone who wants their English articles translated into Chinese that they donÂ’t understand Latin or French terms, so please avoid peppering your articles with them. Ditto for those who want their articles translated into Malay or Tamil.
- Ernest Gai suggested that we should put down our real political opinions and the policies we want to push. He is joking, of course. We donÂ’t want our Masters to think that we are people with opinions.
- Low Teck agreed to check if blogs can be read by everyone, or just personal friends.
- Our Masters reminded us to make sure our relatives donÂ’t make dumb-ass remarks on their blogs and get all of us in trouble.
Meetings with our Masters (IÂ’m referring to Cabinet and PAP Exco, not constituents)
- Sar Kah King will draw up a roster for who gets to sit next to PM in our next meeting with him to prevent fighting. Remember - no knee stroking allowed.
- Goh Ah Brod will also draw up a roster for who gets to join Minister for Foreign Affairs on his next foreign visit and MM on his next overseas board meeting. Just remember not to steal soap from the foreign government guesthouse.
Compensation
- Ho Tam Sum agreed to seek counseling to stop salivating when thinking about future company directorships. We noted that her private sector career wasnÂ’t going anywhere, but other P65s still couldnÂ’t understand her disorder. Since she already works for a large influential company with stock options, directorships that only pay $10K each should be small fry. Also, we get pension for life, so why worry?
- Teo Bay Pio agreed to get more information from Chief Whip on how much pension we are entitled to when we retire, and clarify whether this can be substituted with discounted loans to homes in Queen Astrid Park with security guardhouse outside.
- Another question was when we will receive that private letter from PSC assuring that our children will be awarded Gahmen scholarships, in return for our signed promise that our kids wonÂ’t blog.
- Meenoh Tyme will also check with Chief Whip what is the minimum number of times we have to show up at Meet the People sessions in order to give the impression that we are engaged with the masses. The meeting agreed that these Meet the People sessions and other grassroots activities detract from our real MP work.
Publicity
- Now that some of us have our faces plastered on Orchard Road and secured the hip hop slot at Chingay, we need to figure out what next. Hum Sup Lo agreed to set up a meeting with Chairman of Mediacock to see if we can appear in one of their new soap operas starring Zoe Tay.
- Will someone please get in touch with that blasted @#$%^ Colin Goh from TalkingCock to make sure they don't write anymore articles laughing at us? You can threaten that we will not allow the President to review his next movie or that we will give the impression that President did not actually watch it.
AOB
- Wee Ee Leet promised to remember that “elite” is pronounced “e-leet” and not “e-light”. If you want to be the elite, at least learn how to pronounce the word.
- Chris de Looza agreed to tell his wife to stop insisting that because her husband is in parliament, she is entitled to jump queues, win business deals and get extra baggage allowance on SIA flights when she goes shopping overseas.
- Remember our next hip hop lesson at the Pyramid Club. For those with difficulties, back rubs and bandages will be provided this time.
- Also, Meenoh Tyme promised to organize a course on hawker food, because most of us have forgotten by now.
Agenda items for our Next Meeting
- Dealing with Perm Secs and Heads of Stat Boards who donÂ’t respect us.
- Tekan-ing those people who bullied us in school because we liked to wear all white.
- Figuring out what our real work is.”
© http://www.TalkingCock.com 2001-2003. All rights reserved.
(If you're circulating this by email to your friends, please include this attribution. It's only polite, leh!)