Originally posted by Fatum:aiyah ... being born in Singapore makes us all food snobs mah ...![]()
In Perth I didn't eat Chinese Food tooOriginally posted by the Bear:when i was in melbourne, i only ate "chinese food" when forced to...
too much yummy food out there like cheap pizzas from wood-fired ovens, greek food, and stuff from the local greasy spoons like steak sandwiches..
why would i want to go get ripped off blind for crap they call "chinese food" ?
Originally posted by the_don:thickyellow noodles (the kind in our prawn noodles) fried with some meats then u dump a handful of curry powder on it. fry for 1 min and mix well.
the end result is yellow noodles coated with curry powder. one word - SUCKS
tis alright ... they'll think of China anyways ...Originally posted by elindra:OMG that sounds awful
YUCKS
How can they associate such an awful dish with Singapore![]()
souvlaski? is that how it's spelt? anyway it is GOODDDDD..... i still got pics of TX chomping on them during our melb2005 trip. oooooohhhhhhh hungry just thinking about itOriginally posted by the Bear:when i was in melbourne, i only ate "chinese food" when forced to...
too much yummy food out there like cheap pizzas from wood-fired ovens, greek food, and stuff from the local greasy spoons like steak sandwiches..
why would i want to go get ripped off blind for crap they call "chinese food" ?
TrueOriginally posted by Fatum:tis alright ... they'll think of China anyways ...![]()
whoever created it must be jealous of all the good food sg has. i wish i know who invented it so i can throw rotten eggs at himOriginally posted by elindra:OMG that sounds awful
YUCKS
How can they associate such an awful dish with Singapore![]()
We must protect our national identity!Originally posted by choco B:We're only snobbish about our local cuisine !
if they did that, they would have messed it up too. the curry there is like coconut juice blended with curry powder. not like those we get in sg. i ended up eating ang-moh indian curry when i have curry cravingOriginally posted by choco B:I think they went wrong with the curry power
They should just make curry and drench noodles with it
ermmmm ..... before we get too complacent in Singapore ... things are changing rapidly liao hor ... this beijing chick they just hired down in accounting has an impeccable accent ... people thought she was CBC ....Originally posted by elindra:True
And there are some who think that Singapore is in Papau New Guinea
I got that reply before
Best replies are:
If you are from China, how come you speak such good English![]()
ya, many people have not heard of singapore or think we are a part of some ulu country. it's ok, we got more reserves in world bank than most of themOriginally posted by elindra:True
And there are some who think that Singapore is in Papau New Guinea
I got that reply before
Best replies are:
If you are from China, how come you speak such good English![]()
there r some peeps from china who r different - cultured, speaks good BBC english etc. these r usually the rich upper class elites in china. try going to china (the country) on a tour to see the real china peopleOriginally posted by Fatum:ermmmm ..... before we get too complacent in Singapore ... things are changing rapidly liao hor ... this beijing chick they just hired down in accounting has an impeccable accent ... people thought she was CBC ....
then someone from school sent me a video of an NUS presentation on some VR goggles thing and I cringed so much I couldn't finish watching ....![]()
*looks at armpit .....Originally posted by the_don:ya, many people have not heard of singapore or think we are a part of some ulu country. it's ok, we got more reserves in world bank than most of them
and pls we r not from THAT country. i refuse to associate myself with a country that spits and dun shave their underarms
*hands kitty hot wax*Originally posted by Fatum:*looks at armpit .....![]()
*squeals and wriths ........Originally posted by the_don:*hands kitty hot wax*
*passes the waxing strip to elindra*
*gets bear to strap Fatum to chair*![]()
it's ok to squeal in pleasureOriginally posted by Fatum:*squeals and wriths ........![]()
I agree with youOriginally posted by the_don:there r some peeps from china who r different - cultured, speaks good BBC english etc. these r usually the rich upper class elites in china. try going to china (the country) on a tour to see the real china people![]()
Originally posted by elindra:I agree with you
In other news, this sales person trying to sell me something kept asking me if I'm from China. I replied in English, no I'm not
She persisted and said I look PRCFelt like slapping her
Originally posted by elindra:I agree with you
In other news, this sales person trying to sell me something kept asking me if I'm from China. I replied in English, no I'm not
She persisted and said I look PRCFelt like slapping her
I still don't think I look KoreanOriginally posted by the Bear:yeah!
you don't look like you're from PRC... you look Korean!
Haha maybe. However the scales might tilt towards India than you see everyone scrambling to learn Tamil or HindiOriginally posted by Fatum:.....
who knows ... in a couple of decades, we'll think it's a distinction instead ...
you know ... lots of people are signing up for Mandarin courses everywhere now ... especially the ang mohs, cos they are betting that it'll be the sophisticates' language in the future ...![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:argh!!
damned fricken sleepy..
overate for lunch.. had chicken + roast pork rice and an order of bittergourd and pork rib soup