don is catbert, evil HR person!Originally posted by the_don:if not, please dun bother. when i was in recruitment, u got no idea how many times i laff at resume with photos![]()
Well, not for singapore. After a billion phone calls, I was just so sick and tired of the standard old questions, that I included in my marital status, (no kids) & whatever crap I have.Originally posted by the_don:dude, if others dun bother, that is their lost. it is good that you bother to dress up. btw, photos, unless professionally taken, are often used for jokes and for HR pple to laff at.
in some countries, photos and any mention of age, gender, race are banned.
in sg however, they like to know everything. do u need help with your resume? i can try to vet for you if u wan. hopefully my resume skills r still ok tho![]()
any sane person should be.Originally posted by elindra:I'm afraid of the sea too![]()
i dun like the sea when i can't see land. i think the movie "titanic" was too scaryOriginally posted by elindra:I'm afraid of the sea too![]()
professionally taken? hmm, i am not sure, mine take at this photo studio in IMM...Originally posted by the_don:dude, if others dun bother, that is their lost. it is good that you bother to dress up. btw, photos, unless professionally taken, are often used for jokes and for HR pple to laff at.
in some countries, photos and any mention of age, gender, race are banned.
in sg however, they like to know everything. do u need help with your resume? i can try to vet for you if u wan. hopefully my resume skills r still ok tho![]()
I'm freaking paraniod about stepping on the sea bed wondering if the next step will land on a stonefish or a cone or something more scaryOriginally posted by av98m:any sane person should be.
I like diving and looking at marine life, but I also think the sea is a fucking dangerous place.![]()
Originally posted by av98m:don is catbert, evil HR person!![]()
heeheeOriginally posted by the_don:photos should be professionally taken. not make overs hor. i mean those taken for work purpose. (esp for ah lau who wans to go banking line)
if not, please dun bother. when i was in recruitment, u got no idea how many times i laff at resume with photos![]()
Thats the spirit!Originally posted by laurence82:professionally taken? hmm, i am not sure, mine take at this photo studio in IMM...
neat and proper..nuthing fancy
yeah, which remind me, this one i applied for is a korean bank and they can be very personal with you, for example, they asked me about my religion...
its ok lar, my resumes has been vetted and changed for umpteenth time, so far nobody has issue with it..hehe..i just only pray for more interviews
That's the correct thing to do.Originally posted by elindra:I'm freaking paraniod about stepping on the sea bed wondering if the next step will land on a stonefish or a cone or something more scary
I tell you I always go in with my sandals firming strapped on
Originally posted by elindra:I studied HR but ended up in Marketing
YAHHH my boss just said that I don't have to come to work
LALALALLALA
Tis the season to be jolly![]()
thanks very muchOriginally posted by the_don:no la, i very nice one. i always get pple telling "wah u r really a v nice person." dun know if they r trying "tripod" me
anyway just sharing some of my experience in recruitment, hope that would help ah lau find his dream job![]()
kitty! haha *shake hand* same same i also was employment agent before.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Well, not for singapore. After a billion phone calls, I was just so sick and tired of the standard old questions, that I included in my marital status, (no kids) & whatever crap I have.
Still, I got agents calling me trying to lecture me about having too many things on the resume which can potientially terrify the empolyers.
My only tot was; You got a job, then you put me thru, you dont have or dont thik its suited, dont need to tell me, I know.
I was a employment agent once, and I freaking hell got my HR certs.
You want to tell me what I do know about the realities of employers in Singapore?
I didnt study for anything. Ended everywhere but marketing.Originally posted by elindra:I studied HR but ended up in Marketing
LALALALLALA
I developed this paranoia when I was I think 10 or 11 years old when I did a school project in Primary school about venomous creatures in the sea and apparently alot of them liked to hide on the seabedOriginally posted by av98m:That's the correct thing to do.
unlike that bonehead that tried to sue sentosa when he stepped on some stonefish or whatever while barefoot.
and don't get me started on people who insist on swimming in the sea. evey year we get a few drownings at east coast and idiots still persist.
the only time you see me floating on the sea at eastcoast is with mask, snorkel and fins (last time when I help with stress and rescue training)
humm...... from wat i know banks r particular abt how pple carry themselves. anyway, if your pic looks good and proper, should be fine.Originally posted by laurence82:professionally taken? hmm, i am not sure, mine take at this photo studio in IMM...
neat and proper..nuthing fancy
yeah, which remind me, this one i applied for is a korean bank and they can be very personal with you, for example, they asked me about my religion...
its ok lar, my resumes has been vetted and changed for umpteenth time, so far nobody has issue with it..hehe..i just only pray for more interviews
there was this time, I found a large lone barracuda beside me on a dive.Originally posted by elindra:I developed this paranoia when I was I think 10 or 11 years old when I did a school project in Primary school about venomous creatures in the sea and apparently alot of them liked to hide on the seabed
Ever since then, I refused to go into the water barefooted![]()
You know the wrose part? I went for interviews and the interviewer was not even aware of what was in my resume. Lots of items was taken out cos it will terrify the employer.Originally posted by the_don:kitty! haha *shake hand* same same i also was employment agent before.
hummm usually i will "help" potiental candidates "amend" their resume before i send it off to the employing manager. some people really CMI when writing resume.
imp (in my opinion) employers in sg r quite... erhm..... "traditional". esp for local firms. so to get in, resume gotta be more "traditional". for non-local (ang moh) companies they r more open
actually some places advise you to put dear sir/madamOriginally posted by laurence82:heehee
i once picked up a women's mag, inside got an advice column on resumes
some of the things they highlighted were hilarious, like if you put Dear Sir/Madam, they circled it and write 'hey i am not a trans!'![]()
It was never safe to be walking on Singapore beaches what. Too many broken glass bottles.Originally posted by elindra:I developed this paranoia when I was I think 10 or 11 years old when I did a school project in Primary school about venomous creatures in the sea and apparently alot of them liked to hide on the seabed
Ever since then, I refused to go into the water barefooted![]()
woohoo! holiday! time for PEEVEEPEEEOriginally posted by elindra:I studied HR but ended up in Marketing
LALALALLALA
Hmmm..forgot to ask.Originally posted by av98m:there was this time, I found a large lone barracuda beside me on a dive.
my manhood shrunk immediately.![]()
barracudas hunt alone but travel in schools. if you see a lot of them at once its fine.