oh.. no lar they not around.. tts why these days i everyday so free mahOriginally posted by av98m:orh..liddat ah, then send email lor. I thought they're around.![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:bloody heck.. print powerpoint notes pages stalled my PC for ages
stupid tech side, dunno what those idiots are thinking.. i have a P4 with 256MB RAM!!
only 256!! and they expect me to touch up pictures and god knows what else
they're right u noe...Originally posted by the Bear:they won't even give me anything close to a proper program to do the pictures!
so i'm stuck with photo editor!
what pisses me off is that the vendors sometimes give us .psd pictures and we cannot even open the bloody file!
most stupid is that i have a DVD writer sitting idle at home, i want to bring it into the office since my section is sharing a CD writer and i have to get it from my colleague's desk if i want to burn anything.. my PC has Nero...
i was told "buy one and claim"
i'm helping them save money by using my own stuff and they want me to "buy one can claim" ??
here, the bean counters have taken over... people are made to serve policy and not the other way around...
Originally posted by shinta:they're right u noe...
cos if u use ur writer... den if ur writer's spoilt or what u dun get to have it back =X
hmmmOriginally posted by the Bear:i don't really care anymore about that writer.. it's redundant in my house... my iMac has a dual layer DVD writer.. this is a single layer DVD writer which is not compatible with OSX...
so it's just sitting idle..
if spoilt, i'll just throw it away...
Everytime I think the IT situation at my office is bad, you somehow find a way to make me a lot feel betterOriginally posted by the Bear:they won't even give me anything close to a proper program to do the pictures!
so i'm stuck with photo editor!
what pisses me off is that the vendors sometimes give us .psd pictures and we cannot even open the bloody file!
most stupid is that i have a DVD writer sitting idle at home, i want to bring it into the office since my section is sharing a CD writer and i have to get it from my colleague's desk if i want to burn anything.. my PC has Nero...
i was told "buy one and claim"
i'm helping them save money by using my own stuff and they want me to "buy one can claim" ??
here, the bean counters have taken over... people are made to serve policy and not the other way around...
what happened?Originally posted by laurence82:
I keep forgetting that there is a ST journalist in our midst
Originally posted by laurence82:
I keep forgetting that there is a ST journalist in our midst
no larOriginally posted by shinta:what happened?
ur comment got into web threads again?![]()
ahhhhhhh i send eps to ppl lehOriginally posted by av98m:Everytime I think the IT situation at my office is bad, you somehow find a way to make me a lot feel better![]()
Even with 512mb of ram, my PC will crash running photoshop 6.0...dun even need to talk about photoshop CS. I hate photo editor, by default it compresses any pic I open and save.
when are you PCs due for replacement? if its soon, ask your IT procurement people if they will come standard with cd burners. At least our new PCs come with them so I can retire my old bulky external burner.
Oh, and can't your vendors give you jpegs? It's retarded to send psds to people.
Originally posted by av98m:Everytime I think the IT situation at my office is bad, you somehow find a way to make me a lot feel better![]()
Even with 512mb of ram, my PC will crash running photoshop 6.0...dun even need to talk about photoshop CS. I hate photo editor, by default it compresses any pic I open and save.
when are you PCs due for replacement? if its soon, ask your IT procurement people if they will come standard with cd burners. At least our new PCs come with them so I can retire my old bulky external burner.
Oh, and can't your vendors give you jpegs? It's retarded to send psds to people.
hw u noe?Originally posted by laurence82:no lar
u dont know that there is no more webthreads liao?
i was referring to the military nuts forum
got one journalist who writes on defence articles lurking there
TryOriginally posted by shinta:hw u noe?
i dun read straits times de
anything newsworthy will get mentioned in sgf or that sgfunds forum
btw, what do u put for the subject ar?
writing a resignation email right now =X
go overclock ur cpuOriginally posted by the Bear:it's not really retarded because we do ask for the softcopy of the final... so they just send that in to us because it's the file they send to the printers...
can i make my PC "due for replacement" by blowing it up?
it happened the last time i was at stationed here in another section.. it was the "what's that smell?" type of blowing up..
the HDD was slightly charred
Originally posted by shinta:go overclock ur cpu
dunno leh they keep askin me for eps so the default now is eps lor...Originally posted by av98m:I thought the industry standard for large prints is tiff? Oh well, I'm probably wrong
btw, I ever send a .psd file to vendor before. The vendor(printer) tell me they dun have photoshop. Can only read jpegs, gif etc. It was a real low budget operation![]()
Get your IT guys to look at it. There's likely some setting they need to change. The hdd spinning other is programs running in the background because of your settings.Originally posted by the Bear:can't do that.. actually, i think it's due to die soon.. whenever i open up Lotus Notes, the HDD spins like mad...
in fact, the HDD spins like mad for no reason sometimes..
but then, it's on XP so being crap is pretty normal
try downloading all sorts of virusOriginally posted by the Bear:can't do that.. actually, i think it's due to die soon.. whenever i open up Lotus Notes, the HDD spins like mad...
in fact, the HDD spins like mad for no reason sometimes..
but then, it's on XP so being crap is pretty normal
u just reminded me to dl operaOriginally posted by av98m:but remember to do cd backups of everything first hor, including your lotus notes archive![]()