everytime i meet those screaing toddlers i wish self-defense included saving one's ear-drums and peace of mind so i can strangle them or sew their mouths shutOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:I was too, when I was with my neice at the Kohl's shopping mall.
She was refusing to leave the pretty greeting cards on display alone, so i had to pick her up and away. She screamed all the way out of the shopping mall.
I was embraressed cos a lot of people were staring at me....but one angmoh lady starts talking to the little gal and she becomes quiet and shy.
She was very understanding to explain to me that toddlers at this stage will do a lot more screamings and its actually okay and a good sign that the child is testing her lungs.
I never leave home without my noise isolating earbuds and ipod.Originally posted by elindra:I think as parents you develop thick skin?
I was so embarressed the last time Kan_i's kid screamed his head off in public
Nah. You dont need corningware, I just finds it fascinating to see the soup boiling.Originally posted by choco B:Hi VK
Hehehe well I think I have the pots requirement settled. There's a maggi mee small pot and a big soup pot, although, they're stainless steel..... but I don't really need corning ware for now, do I?
As for the wok, I spoke to the mom last night and she told me to go get an iron one, and to get rid of the nonstick onesShe said there's a shop in somewhere around Mosque Street, I'll have to go check it out.
Wok size is tricky leh. Too big and it's cumbersome, too small and the plate can't fit in to steamWe likes our steamed fish.
Cleaning after frying is hell ! I avoid that most of the time. I'd prefer to get a bigger oven rather than a fryerBut that'll be for the future too.
wait the wind blowing in and bring all the oil inOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:Nah. You dont need corningware, I just finds it fascinating to see the soup boiling.
Then go for the less then 30inches ones, And yah...chinatown gots lots of those black traditional woks. You just need to rinse it with water, and get those disposable kitchen tissue towels. Dip the kitchen towel with oil and coat the interior of the wok when you want to store it.
For me, cos I use it everyday now at my sister's place, so I just rinse it with water and soap when I am done and let it dry at the stove.
Get those electric steamer lah. If you got kitchen top space at your kitchen, place it near the sink so you can turn the tap to fill up with water everytime.
Steam rice is better so you wont have rice sticking into your rice cooker and waste so much good rice. Or you can steam fish with your rice cooker. Bottom layer cooked rice, top layer steam fish.
Deep fryer only if you living in crampy, hard to clean up apartment kitchens lah. Put it near a window with the wind draft blowing the oil smells away.
Hi fatum, apa ini?Originally posted by Fatum:*looks out for pinky .....
*gingerly steps into crap box ....![]()
Was on a bus tour thingy last year in USA.Originally posted by Wanda:My mom passed me her well-used wok when I moved out, but sadly, it rusted due to lack of use, and I had to throw it away.![]()
And do you know what is natural, biodegradble & non commercially produced liquids to clean your kitchen?Originally posted by hisoka:wait the wind blowing in and bring all the oil in![]()
Ahh...good idea, but I prefer to get my iron from food source, thank you.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Was on a bus tour thingy last year in USA.
The last tour group did not season the wok and it was rusted.
My tour driver merely throws in lots of salt, sort of dry fry the salts on the fire and dump out the salt.
And we continue cooking with some rust still at the bottom of the wok.
As a a travelling lady commented (She is a 36 year old single briton school teacher): We could do with some with some Iron in our diet.![]()
I hate going to wet markets. Overcrowded and getting elbowed by all the crankly old women and aunties (why are women past a certain age all so angry?). Not a very pleasant experience.Originally posted by elindra:SO & I liked our food baked or grilled
so we use our oven lots
Thing is there is no wet market at our place so we can't have steamed fish as often as we like
I like to use the oven too, especially for grilling meats and baking cakes. Nice.Originally posted by elindra:SO & I liked our food baked or grilled
so we use our oven lots
Thing is there is no wet market at our place so we can't have steamed fish as often as we like
We don't like to fry stuff
The only thing we fry at home is stir-fry veggies but being lazy what we do is make a saladWe love salads anyway and we don't go for those oil laden dressings.
Usually if we cook we dump the meat into the oven and make a salad and we eat
If not it's pasta
Get those supermarket cod fish fillets. No cleaning needed.Originally posted by elindra:Thing is there is no wet market at our place so we can't have steamed fish as often as we like
We buy cod but we like it Teriyaki styleOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:Get those supermarket cod fish fillets. No cleaning needed.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Get those electric steamer lah. If you got kitchen top space at your kitchen, place it near the sink so you can turn the tap to fill up with water everytime.
Am going to attempt to make those steamed cakes again. The chinese 'Mala Kao' or the Peranakan's 'steam cup cakes'.Originally posted by honeymouse:I like to use the oven too, especially for grilling meats and baking cakes. Nice.![]()
erm whats that??Originally posted by viciouskitty74:And do you know what is natural, biodegradble & non commercially produced liquids to clean your kitchen?
Any reason why you don't go for non-stick? Nowadays there are many different types of non-stick woks other than Teflon (if you're worried about the cancer issue). Save you a lot of time scrubbing off the food on the wok.Originally posted by choco B:Hi VK
As for the wok, I spoke to the mom last night and she told me to go get an iron one, and to get rid of the nonstick onesShe said there's a shop in somewhere around Mosque Street, I'll have to go check it out.
Wok size is tricky leh. Too big and it's cumbersome, too small and the plate can't fit in to steamWe likes our steamed fish.
Cleaning after frying is hell ! I avoid that most of the time. I'd prefer to get a bigger oven rather than a fryerBut that'll be for the future too.
You mean the oval shaped steamer??? That one needs a oval shaped plate, which frankly is hard to find. I have no idea why they do it oval shaped though. Not egonomical.Originally posted by choco B:Electric steamer can't fit a whole pomfret in leh >.<
My steaming requirements are fulfilled for now.
My rice cooker is easy to clean. Haven't tried steaming with it yet though it can steam.
Originally posted by Wanda:8 course dinner?? Haha...that's fun-ny!
You're quite well-equipped eh? I only have this old one-tier electric steamer donated by an aunt (it's her white elephant) - i use it for cooking rice and steaming fish...not bad.![]()
can lah my hosue one the steamers is big and round one, can steam whole chicken with space to spare de, but its only single layerOriginally posted by choco B:Electric steamer can't fit a whole pomfret in leh >.<
My steaming requirements are fulfilled for now.
My rice cooker is easy to clean. Haven't tried steaming with it yet though it can steam.
Problem with non stick pans/wok is that you cannot use a metal spatula on them....you might nick off the coatings and swallowed them into your stomach.Originally posted by honeymouse:Any reason why you don't go for non-stick? Nowadays there are many different types of non-stick woks other than Teflon (if you're worried about the cancer issue). Save you a lot of time scrubbing off the food on the wok.
Whether you do a lot of frying or not, I think it's important to have a rangehood in the kitchen.
Originally posted by elindra:SO & I liked our food baked or grilled
so we use our oven lots