Originally posted by elindra:Why not?
I'm KS I use it for stir frying too![]()
Originally posted by hisoka:why?
the microwave is so convenient
Originally posted by Fatum:either you don't believe in nuking your food ....
or you need to step into the kitchen more often ...
*runs away ....![]()
Originally posted by the_don:my other half & dad loves to do the "Heat then add oil" method on the non-stick wok. it is supposed to be "ADD OIL then heat"no matter how much i scream at them it doesn't work. some people have stubborn ears.
i used one of those b4, the rice turns out fine, but i never found a way to stop the water from overflowingOriginally posted by Fatum:I nuke everything from a cup of water to fish fingers and chicken pie .... I even have one of those little plastic microwave rice cookers ...![]()
just add less water ... the instruction says 2 cup water to one cup rice ... do it with 1.5 cups ... cos after you've washed the rice .. there's still a lot of water trapped in the rice ...Originally posted by hisoka:i used one of those b4, the rice turns out fine, but i never found a way to stop the water from overflowing![]()
i tried then the rice undercookedOriginally posted by Fatum:just add less water ... the instruction says 2 cup water to one cup rice ... do it with 1.5 cups ... cos after you've washed the rice .. there's still a lot of water trapped in the rice ...
Guess you need to tell them (calmly and don't screamOriginally posted by the_don:my other half & dad loves to do the "Heat then add oil" method on the non-stick wok. it is supposed to be "ADD OIL then heat"no matter how much i scream at them it doesn't work. some people have stubborn ears.
then just put some tissue underneath lor ...Originally posted by hisoka:i tried then the rice undercooked![]()
yes there is a difference for non-stick woks/pans. if you heat it before adding oil, you gonna spoil the wok (aka the coating comes off and u eat it). so add oil/water before turning on the stove. this would extend the life of your non-stick wok.Originally posted by choco B:-___- Is there a difference?
i'll try v v hard not to scream. i think TX listens more. as for my dad........ =____="Originally posted by honeymouse:Guess you need to tell them (calmly and don't scream) that when there's no oil and food on the non-stick wok, they tend to overheat quicker and can cause cancer.
Yep, I agree with you.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Well oil burns too, like food and can turn cancerous if you dont use it properly.
But if you are concern about the oil. Go for Normal Olive Oil. More expensive but healthier then normal cooking oil. I think NTUC nows has their housebrand 'Harvest' Olive Oils.
But seriously, the oil is wat makes the food taste good. Ask your tastebuds....try steaming something w/o oil and try steaming the same something with some oil drizzle on it.
Do you know that water can get superheated in the microwave? So be careful and don't heat the water in the microwave for too long.Originally posted by Fatum:I nuke everything from a cup of water to fish fingers and chicken pie .... I even have one of those little plastic microwave rice cookers ...![]()
./agreeOriginally posted by honeymouse:Do you know that water can get superheated in the microwave? So be careful and don't heat the water in the microwave for too long.![]()
x2!Originally posted by the_don:i will ban deep frying in my own house. it is sooo troublesome to clean up after that. I love ovens, they can cook cripy fries, fillet o fish, etc just like a deep fryer would but without the oil.![]()

actually i don't know any one(or any one who knows some one) who have seen that phenomenon irl whether they heard of it or not.Originally posted by honeymouse:Do you know that water can get superheated in the microwave? So be careful and don't heat the water in the microwave for too long.![]()
./droolOriginally posted by elindra:x2!
I banned the deep fryer in my house and SO finds that he can live without it anyway
Oh Choco, this is the oven I have
Can't remember the model and price though they should have a newer model now
if you quit your job can afford the dog?Originally posted by the_don:oh good news (for me)
i asked TX this morning if I tender resignation today and stay home, be housewife. he nodded and said "emmmh".
ahhhh the joys of asking important questions when your SO is sleeping
(think the next question will be "i like that doggie in the pet shop.......")![]()
Originally posted by the_don:yes there is a difference for non-stick woks/pans. if you heat it before adding oil, you gonna spoil the wok (aka the coating comes off and u eat it). so add oil/water before turning on the stove. this would extend the life of your non-stick wok.
remember to use utensils meant for non-stick when using non-stick stuff. dun scrub the wok, soak it to remove stubborn stains.
i;ve also tried the salt method on on-stick, it doesn't work for non-stick. it spoilt the wok instead![]()
it's just a dog...... how much can it eat leh. and of cos if i become house wife, i will use part of the time to earn pocket money. no stresss!Originally posted by hisoka:if you quit your job can afford the dog?