there was a famous case when I was in my last year of poly ... some guy got dumped and wanted to toss himself off some building ... so he chose one of the engineering blocks ... went to the SECOND floor ... and climbed over the railing ...Originally posted by elindra:Actually I used to have a classmate who is this dramatic
Everytime the guy wants to break up with her
She will go to his flat and kick up a ruckus and threatened to jump down
That time in poly I see her go thru 3 bfs and she was still alive and kicking
Btw she is super emo and very scary
Everyone stayed out of her wayCos she can just go nuts on you
Originally posted by the Bear:
look what this dog-rapist wrote
[b]Want to increase S'pore population? Here's how
Today –15 Feb 2007, p16
Letter from seah leong khai
I am surprised at the Government's vision of increasing the population to 6.5 million from the current 4.5 million.
As I see it, unless Singapore opens its floodgate to immigrants, it is near impossible to achieve this target. With our low birth rate, Singaporeans are not even reproducing enough to replace ourselves. There are many reasons for this.
Nowadays, Singapore men and women get married in the later years of their lives. There are many who choose to stay single. Other than for medical reasons, there are also many couples who do not want to have children.
How do you arrest this problem? Even though the Government has given these people more carrots such as tax incentives, baby bonus and longer maternity leave, the baby shortage situation remains.
I believe it is time to dish out some sticks such as imposing more income tax on older singles who refuse to marry and able-bodied childless couples.
Another way is to attract more foreign women who are qualified and who share similar cultural and social background to come to Singapore and allow them to marry the locals. Offer them permanent residence status and citizenship if they can produce two or more children.
its true. its not your fault.Originally posted by hisoka:sad.
its not your fualt
Originally posted by the Bear:WTF. Having kids is a choice. We have to pay more coz of our own personal choice?
Today –15 Feb 2007, p16
I am surprised at the Government's vision of increasing the population to 6.5 million from the current 4.5 million.
As I see it, unless Singapore opens its floodgate to immigrants, it is near impossible to achieve this target. With our low birth rate, Singaporeans are not even reproducing enough to replace ourselves. There are many reasons for this.
Nowadays, Singapore men and women get married in the later years of their lives. There are many who choose to stay single. Other than for medical reasons, there are also many couples who do not want to have children.
How do you arrest this problem? Even though the Government has given these people more carrots such as tax incentives, baby bonus and longer maternity leave, the baby shortage situation remains.
I believe it is time to dish out some sticks such as imposing more income tax on older singles who refuse to marry and able-bodied childless couples.
Another way is to attract more foreign women who are qualified and who share similar cultural and social background to come to Singapore and allow them to marry the locals. Offer them permanent residence status and citizenship if they can produce two or more children.
Originally posted by the Bear:actually it is already done via less income tax rebates, ess subsidies and discrimination on things like houses etc
Today –15 Feb 2007, p16
plus those who are single not by choiceOriginally posted by elindra:He should at least be more sensitive to couples who want children but can't have
He will tell you to buy a wifeOriginally posted by av98m:plus those who are single not by choice![]()
how abt national service of another kindOriginally posted by av98m:plus those who are single not by choice![]()
Originally posted by elindra:He will tell you to buy a wife![]()
cannot leh. like tt means buying foreign talent again!Originally posted by elindra:He will tell you to buy a wife![]()
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:how abt national service of another kind
force all single not by choice to go to SDU/SDS community meetings, and give them time limit to be attached by X number of years, or else their personal tax will increase exponentially until they qualify for senior citizen subsidy?!![]()
He already suggested foreign talent as bride liao maOriginally posted by ShrodingersCat:cannot leh. like tt means buying foreign talent again!
hurhurhurhur~
damn. country should just step in and matchmake us moment we born.Originally posted by elindra:
When that happens
They will have no money left to get married when they find the right person![]()
plus divorcees by choice....Originally posted by av98m:plus those who are single not by choice![]()
Problem is. Who's going to be feeding the kids?Originally posted by elindra:He already suggested foreign talent as bride liao ma
Originally posted by Fatum:raising our population to 6 million plus will be the biggest strategic mistake by our pappies ....
it seems to me that we're not exactly importing the creme de la creme of other countries, but importing the next generation of peasants ...
that's the problem ... they want to breed more elites and not peasants ...Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:damn. country should just step in and matchmake us moment we born.
separate the whole procreation and love thing.
as long as every singaporean have 1 kid minimum, dont care who u have it with lah.
-deranged- let the kids be state owned!!!Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Problem is. Who's going to be feeding the kids?
Originally posted by the Bear:I was re-reading this last para and found it particularly reprehensible on the part of the writer that he can even suggest this shit.
Today –15 Feb 2007, p16
Don't matterOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:Problem is. Who's going to be feeding the kids?
how abt making tt a pre-requisite of graduation then?Originally posted by Fatum:that's the problem ... they want to breed more elites and not peasants ...
and in the minds of lau lee and the pappies, that means uni grads and such ...
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:damn. country should just step in and matchmake us moment we born.
separate the whole procreation and love thing.
as long as every singaporean have 1 kid minimum, dont care who u have it with lah.